Jo Chumas The Hidden

ISBN 13: 9781480558632

The Hidden

3.3 avg rating
( 328 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781480558632: The Hidden
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

2013 Winner Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Mystery & Thriller A university professor is brutally murdered in Egypt’s Sinai desert in 1940, leaving behind his new bride, the beautiful young Aimee Ibrahim. As Aimee tries to unravel the web of lies and secrets surrounding her husband’s death, she unwittingly becomes a pawn in a revolutionary plot against Egypt’s king. As Aimee gets ever closer to the truth, she discovers startling parallels between her own life and that of the mother she never knew. Unfolding in the city’s brothels, hashish cafes, and jasmine-scented colonial mansions, The Hidden is a gritty, sensual tale of revolution, betrayal, and the lengths we will go to for love ― and truth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jo Chumas is a British writer living in Barcelona, Spain. She grew up in Belgium and England, and spent her childhood holidays exploring Europe and North Africa with her parents. She worked for many years as a journalist in Australia, the United Arab Emirates, and the UK while also writing fiction. A profound fascination with early twentieth-century Egyptian political and cultural history led her to write The Hidden.

From Booklist:

Egyptian-history buffs will love this complex story, set in 1940 Cairo, of love, betrayal, and political machinations. A young professor is murdered, and his wife, Aimee, is determined to find out why. Upon cleaning out her husband’s desk at the university, she finds her mother’s diary. Aimee never knew her mother and can’t understand why her husband had the diary. Aimee’s mother, we learn, as the story moves back and forth between the 1940 murder and 1919, the period covered in the diary, was the daughter of Egyptian royalty, forced into an arranged marriage when she was 11 years old. Meanwhile, in the present, there is a political uprising planned to overthrow King Faruk, and spies are everywhere. Both mother and daughter experience violence and political unrest in their lives, as well as love, and their intertwining stories make fascinating reading. Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Wilbur Smith will find much to enjoy here. This novel won the 2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award in the Mystery/Thriller category.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781477848197: The Hidden

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1477848193 ISBN 13:  9781477848197
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer, 2013
Softcover