Tommy Wallach Thanks for the Trouble

ISBN 13: 9781481475457

Thanks for the Trouble

3.91 avg rating
( 3,216 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781481475457: Thanks for the Trouble
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Tommy Wallach, the "New York Times" bestselling author of the "stunning debut" ("Kirkus Reviews," starred review) "We All Looked Up," delivers a brilliant new novel about a young man who overcomes a crippling loss and finds the courage to live after meeting an enigmatic girl. ""Was this story written about me?"" "I shrugged." ""Yes or no?"" "I shrugged again, finally earning a little scowl, which somehow made the girl even "more" pretty." ""It's very rude not to answer simple questions," she said." "I gestured for my journal, but she still wouldn't give it to me. So I took out my pen and wrote on my palm." I can't," I wrote. Then, in tiny letters below it: "Now don't you feel like a jerk? Parker Sante hasn't spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he'll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for. From the celebrated author of "We All Looked Up" comes a unique story of first and last loves.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"An absorbing coming-of-age narrative about the power of connection."--Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

"Jaded young readers and romantics alike will fall hard for Tommy Wallach's (author of We All Looked Up) underachieving writer of fairy tales and out-of-time wise woman as they tumble through a delirious three days of skinny dipping, drinking Champagne in a limo and rampant philosophizing. Cleverly but unobtrusively framed as a college application essay, Thanks for the Trouble plays with love, hubris and the youthful belief that more is always better."--Shelf Awareness

"Wallach (author of We All Looked Up) delivers well-rounded, witty characters--all contemplating whether living a full life is better than living a long one. Bittersweet moments intersect with the intricate fairy tales Parker writes, compelling readers to judge what is real and what is make-believe."--Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"A unique and compelling tale. The narrator's hilariously crass but poignant voice is sure to intrigue even the most reluctant of readers."--School Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

"This novel is a good read-alike for John Green fans."--VOYA

"Organic and well earned."--The Horn Book

"Readers looking for a beautifully written philosophical romance will enjoy losing themselves in this one."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author:

Tommy Wallach is a Brooklyn-based musician and novelist. He is the author of "Thanks for the Trouble "and "We All Looked Up", which has been translated into more than a dozen languages and was optioned for film by Paramount. His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in "McSweeney s", "Tin House", "Wired", "Salon", and other magazines. As a musician, he has put out an EP with Decca Records, as well as two independent releases, including "We All Looked Up: The Album", a companion record to his first novel. He is a recent MacDowell Fellow. Grok more at TommyWallach.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tommy Wallach
Published by Simon Schuster Export, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1481475452 ISBN 13: 9781481475457
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon Schuster Export, United States, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: N/A. Brand New Book. Seller Inventory # AAC9781481475457

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 29.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tommy Wallach
Published by Simon Schuster Export, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1481475452 ISBN 13: 9781481475457
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon Schuster Export, United States, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: N/A. Brand New Book. Seller Inventory # AAC9781481475457

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Tommy Wallach
Published by Simon & Schuster Export (2016)
ISBN 10: 1481475452 ISBN 13: 9781481475457
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
California Spanish Books
(MIAMI, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Export, 2016. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781481475457

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 62.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds