Pretty Good Number One: An American Family Eats Tokyo

4.07 avg rating
( 1,072 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781484126981: Pretty Good Number One: An American Family Eats Tokyo
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Everyone knows how to live the good life in Paris, Provence, or Tuscany. Now, Matthew Amster-Burton makes you fall in love with Tokyo. Experience this exciting and misunderstood city through the eyes of three Americans living in a tiny Tokyo apartment. Follow 8-year-old Iris on a solo errand to the world's greatest supermarket, picnic on the bullet train, and eat a staggering array of great, inexpensive foods, from eel to udon. A humorous travel memoir in the tradition of Peter Mayle and Bill Bryson, Pretty Good Number One is the next best thing to a ticket to Tokyo.

"The layers of the city, its extraordinary food pleasures, its quirkinesses, emerge as the author and his family spend an intense month living in Tokyo and exploring widely...Warning: this book will make you hungry. You'll yearn, as I do, to catch the next plane to Tokyo, so you can get eating."
--Naomi Duguid, writer and traveler; her most recent book is BURMA: Rivers of Flavor (Artisan 2012)

"This is the book I've been hoping Matthew would write: smart, opinionated, and wickedly funny, crammed with in-the-know tips and observations about visiting Tokyo. From the intricacies of garbage sorting to the chirpy jingle for the local supermarket, the pleasures of pan-fried soup dumplings to the pain of junsai, I laughed, cringed, and got so hungry that I had to eat three bowls of cereal to make it to the end. I love this book."
--Molly Wizenberg, author of A Homemade Life and creator of Orangette

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Pretty Good Number One will put a smile on your face quicker than you can say 'Arigato!'... Perfectly sums up all of the reasons why I myself fell in love with the country, and why, once you have been, you will want to return again and again."

--Rachael Hutchings, LaFujiMama.com

"A must-read for anyone traveling to Tokyo or dreaming of that future trip."

--Yukari Sakamoto, author of Food Sake Tokyo

About the Author:

Matthew Amster-Burton is a food writer with credits in Best Food Writing, The Seattle Times, Gourmet, Seattle Magazine, and The Wall Street Journal—as well as his food blog, Roots and Grubs. He also co-hosts the hit podcast Spilled Milk. Matthew lives in Seattle with his wife Laurie, a school librarian, and his daughter Iris.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780983162988: Pretty Good Number One: An American Family Eats Tokyo

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0983162980 ISBN 13:  9780983162988
Publisher: Viaduct Music, 2014
Softcover

9781495974885: Pretty Good Number One: An American Family Eats Tokyo

Create..., 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Amster-Burton, Matthew
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publis (2013)
ISBN 10: 148412698X ISBN 13: 9781484126981
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publis, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11148412698X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 44.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Amster-Burton, Matthew
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 148412698X ISBN 13: 9781484126981
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 148412698X New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW99.0978219

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds