Quinn Gets His Kicks: (Liam Quinn Mystery #2) (Liam Quinn Mysteries)

4.07 avg rating
( 451 ratings by Goodreads )
9781484972809: Quinn Gets His Kicks: (Liam Quinn Mystery #2) (Liam Quinn Mysteries)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

Quinn is racing the clock as a killer stalks a child prodigy, a hitman closes in, and a mob boss howls for his head...

Liam Quinn is back! When the ex-boxer, ex-forger is called in to identify the body of an old associate, it's clear someone want it to look like an old-fashioned drug deal gone wrong. Enter a high-powered sports agent, a soccer-playing kid with million-dollar feet, and a cast of people who want that million. Quinn's back in trouble with the Philly mob, and he might lose his one shot with the woman he loves. Nobody deserves that kind of week, but it's how Quinn Gets His Kicks.

For lovers of Robert B. Parker, John D. MacDonald and Sue Grafton, this private eye series offers a steady stream of action and adventure, humor and even some romance.

Q - Why do readers relate to Quinn? He's an ex-con.

A - He's a guy who made a mistake, and no one is harder on Liam than Liam, I think -- at least in the first few books. And he's got a big, troublesome extended family. I was trying to capture that feeling we've all had at some point around the dinner table or at a family event, when you know you really love them but boy, what you wouldn't give to say what you're really thinking!

Q - For a guy who fights so much, he's kind of a big softy! Was that deliberate?

A - He developed as a character based on a backstory and a family history that I had pretty firmly in mind; but by having once been a champion boxer, it gave me a chance to let him handle disputes without using a gun, a definite necessity for an ex-con. I like to think he's his parents' son.

Q - Do I need to read them in order?

A -It helps. It's not necessary, as every book is a self-contained mystery (or three); but the backstory of his family and the progression of his life in Philadelphia makes a lot more sense in chronological order:
1. Quinn Checks In
2. Quinn Gets His Kicks
3. Quinn Goes West
4. Quinn and the Vanishing Bride
5. Quinn Gets the Blues
6. Quinn and the Dead Man's Daughter
7. Quinn Slips the noose
8. Quinn Goes to Jail
9. Quinn Gets Hitched
10 Quinn Plays Ball -- COMING SOON!

Q - So why should I try them?

A - Because you're looking for a fun read, with lots of action and a mystery to test your sleuthing. If you like books by Gregory McDonald, Janet Evanovich or Stuart Woods, you'll enjoy Quinn.
Quinn Checks in is the first gripping suspense thriller in the Liam Quinn PI mysteries, a new series of private detective novels from the Canadian master of mystery, thrillers and suspense, LH Thomson. The Quinn books take Liam from Center City, Philadelphia to the west coast, Florida and into the dark heart of urban crime -- but not without Liam keeping his sense of humor intact.

You'll typically find the Quinn books under:
- Hard-boiled mysteries
- Crime Thrillers
- Private Investigator Series
- Private Detective Novels
- Thrillers and Mysteries Best Sellers
- International Mystery & Crime

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

LH Thomson is a former news reporter, is married to Lori, and they have six adopted pets together. They live in Edmonton.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want