Dickson, Linda R Spit of a Minute

ISBN 13: 9781484991435

Spit of a Minute

4.4 avg rating
( 5 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9781484991435: Spit of a Minute

“A relentless Southern classic In the tradition of John Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath, Linda Dickson has written a sweeping epic about the hopelessness of the Southern poor. For her first novel, the ambitious scope of Spit of A Minute is truly breathtaking. Not to mention that the dialect is spot on throughout. (Yes, that is how us Southerners talk). Starting in 1928, Spit of a Minute follows Queenie and her family from the barnyard floor of a dirt farm in Tennessee to Hell’s Kitchen in New York City. From gypsies to Jezebels, mules to monkeys and everything in between, Ms. Dickson crafts a rich slate of Flannery O’Connor-esque characters. You cannot help but find yourself pulling for them all, even the mean, low-down drunks and the whores. Make no mistake however, Queenie’s is not a sappy coming of age story. Ms. Dickson fearlessly pulls no punches. I cannot wait to see what this original voice comes up with next. “

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

All this in less than the spit of a minute, whether their union was an accident of bad timing or the process of natural selection, they seemed an unlikely match … incomprehensible and doomed from the start.

About the Author:

Linda Dickson aka Dixie Burns was born in Nashville, Tennessee, a fifth generation native Tennessean, grew up in Nashville and retired to Florida in 2010. Began a career in Children's Protective Services eventually pursuing a Nursing Certificate, became a pharmaceutical rep for twenty seven years. Her first book, Spit of a Minute, an excerpt of which placed in Writer's Digest Short Fiction contest in 2011, is a fictional account of a grandmother she never really knew.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 7.00
US$ 12.95

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 7.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Linda R Dickson
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2013)
ISBN 10: 1484991435 ISBN 13: 9781484991435
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 254 pages. 9.00x6.00x0.58 inches. This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # zk1484991435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds