Some Kind of Good: The Picker Series (Volume 2)

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781494817381: Some Kind of Good: The Picker Series (Volume 2)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Ventures in the Trade, Travel, & Hunting Design Merit. A grumpy Virginia gentleman and a fiery Peruvian lady have fun leading a group of avid antiques collectors on a tour to London and Paris.Some Kind of Good is an occupational novel that reads like PBS's Doc Martin series or All Creatures Great and Small. It is based on real-world, down in the trenches experiences common to antiques dealers, collectors, and very eccentric connoisseurs. Some Kind of Good is the second title in The Madison Picker series. Once again Charles and Emma venture from Barboursville, Virginia in pursuit of design merit. They travel to London and Paris. As always, their mission is to travel comfortably, eat well, pick low, and sell high. Be advised, the Picker Series reads more like a travelogue than a novel. Day-to-day adventures replace plot peaks and every discovery they make is a climax, and there are many. If you like to watch public television's Antiques Roadshow, you'll probably find the Picker SeriesSome Kind of Good.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:


If you are a collector or are contemplating becoming an antiques dealer, bookseller, picker, curator, or merely a tropical vagabond, try reading my Picker Series. Because of its antiques theme it is interesting in a similar way to how John Dunning and/or Jonathan Gash write, and its also quirky like Doc Martin.

From the Back Cover:

Comments about the first title in the series, The Madison Picker....
 
"This book is the first lesson in a richly rewarding education..." -Bernard Ewellauthor of Artful Dodgers: Fraud and Foolishness in the Art MarketSanta Fe, NM. 
 
"A fast, captivating read for anyone... I enjoyed it very much; in fact I would have loved another 50 pages." -Kent D. Anderson, founder of the database Prices for Antiques. Dayton, OH.
 
"Fans of The Antiques Roadshow and Jonathan Gash's Lovejoy series will appreciate this book." -Jack Magnus, 5-Star Review for Reader's Favorite. San Francisco, CA.
 
"I really enjoyed this story. By far the strongest point is the memorable characters...." -David Malbuff, previous proprietor of The Strasburg Emporium, Strasburg, VA.
 
"Can't wait for the next adventure!" -Barbara Kesser, proprietor Spring Hollow Antiques, Woodstock, VA.
 
"Delightful & Educational...I promise you will have to remind yourself that this is a novel and not an autobiography!" -Linda Smock, 5-Star Review Goodreads. Waddell, AZ.
 
"It's like a how-to-be-an-antiques-dealer book...only better." -Mike Peloza, LTC U.S. Army(ret.), Proprietor, Black Cat Antiques, Enon Valley, PA.
 
"I thoroughly enjoyed The Madison Picker..." -Jeff Bradfield, proprietor Rolling Hills Antiques Mall, Harrisonburg, VA.
 
"What fun...I thoroughly enjoyed The Madison Picker." -Nina Woolford, ASA, Master Gemologist, proprietor C.M. Woolford and Associates, LLC, Richmond, VA.
 
"Mark does a delightful job uncovering the good, the bad, and the ugly." -Richard Bushong & Rick Booze, proprietors Richard's Antiques, Edinburg, VA.
 
"A great read! Not only entertaining, but informative, and makes me want to go "picking." -Cecily Reynolds, proprietor Bremo Auctions, Charlottesville, VA.
 
"A must read for all antiques lovers." -Dick Barnes, proprietor Old South Antiques, Brownsburg, VA.
 
"Anyone interested in the world of antiques should read this compelling book!" -Colin Clarke, VP Freeman's Auctions, Charlottesville, VA.
 
"The Madison Picker is a delightful read! Looking forward to the next installment." -Amory LeCuyer, proprietor Hampton House Auctions, Hampton, VA. 

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 18.95
US$ 20.55

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mark Clay Grove
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1494817381 ISBN 13: 9781494817381
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Some Kind of Good is an occupational novel that reads like PBS s Doc Martin series or All Creatures Great and Small. It is based on real-world in the trenches experiences common to antiques dealers, collectors, and very eccentric connoisseurs. Some Kind of Good is the second title in The Madison Picker series. Once again Charles and Emma venture from Barboursville, Virginia in pursuit of design merit. They travel to London and Paris. As always, their mission is to travel comfortably, eat well, pick low, and sell high. Be advised though, the Picker Series reads more like a travelogue than a novel. Day-to-day adventures replace plot peaks and every discovery they make is a climax, and there are many. If you like to watch public television s Antiques Roadshow, you ll probably find the Picker Series, Some Kind of Good. Seller Inventory # APC9781494817381

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Grove, Mark Clay
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publis (2018)
ISBN 10: 1494817381 ISBN 13: 9781494817381
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publis, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 1494817381

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mark Clay Grove
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1494817381 ISBN 13: 9781494817381
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Some Kind of Good is an occupational novel that reads like PBS s Doc Martin series or All Creatures Great and Small. It is based on real-world in the trenches experiences common to antiques dealers, collectors, and very eccentric connoisseurs. Some Kind of Good is the second title in The Madison Picker series. Once again Charles and Emma venture from Barboursville, Virginia in pursuit of design merit. They travel to London and Paris. As always, their mission is to travel comfortably, eat well, pick low, and sell high. Be advised though, the Picker Series reads more like a travelogue than a novel. Day-to-day adventures replace plot peaks and every discovery they make is a climax, and there are many. If you like to watch public television s Antiques Roadshow, you ll probably find the Picker Series, Some Kind of Good. Seller Inventory # APC9781494817381

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Grove, Mark Clay
Published by ST PAUL PR (2015)
ISBN 10: 1494817381 ISBN 13: 9781494817381
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ST PAUL PR, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781494817381

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Grove, Mark Clay
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1494817381 ISBN 13: 9781494817381
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1494817381 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9781494817381

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Grove, Mark Clay
Published by ST PAUL PR (2015)
ISBN 10: 1494817381 ISBN 13: 9781494817381
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ST PAUL PR, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781494817381

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mark Clay Grove
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2015)
ISBN 10: 1494817381 ISBN 13: 9781494817381
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1494817381

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 37.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds