Items related to Middle Passage

Johnson, Charles Middle Passage

ISBN 13: 9781501110528

Middle Passage

3.85 avg rating
( 4,493 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781501110528: Middle Passage
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A Scribner Classics edition of Charles Johnson’s masterpiece, winner of the National Book Award—“a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick...heroic in proportion...fiction that hooks the mind” (The New York Times Book Review).

It is 1830. Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is desperate to escape unscrupulous bill collectors and an impending marriage to a priggish schoolteacher. He jumps aboard the first boat leaving New Orleans, the Republic, a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a daring voyage of horror and self-discovery.

Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative, and philosophical novel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In this savage parable of the African American experience, Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave eking out a living in New Orleans in 1830, hops aboard a square rigger to evade the prim Boston schoolteacher who wants to marry him. But the Republic turns out to be a slave clipper bound for Africa. Calhoun, whose master educated him as a humanist, becomes the captain's cabin boy, and though he hates himself for acting as a lackey, he's able to help the African slaves recently taken aboard to stage a revolt before the rowdy, drunken crew can spring a mutiny. Middle Passage won the 1990 National Book Award.

About the Author:

Charles Johnson is a novelist, essayist, literary scholar, philosopher, cartoonist, screenwriter, and professor emeritus at the University of Washington in Seattle. A MacArthur fellow, his fiction includes Night HawksDr. King’s RefrigeratorDreamerFaith and the Good Thing, and Middle Passage, for which he won the National Book Award. In 2002 he received the Arts and Letters Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He lives in Seattle.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780684855882: Middle Passage

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0684855887 ISBN 13: 9780684855882
Publisher: Scribner, 1998
Softcover

9780689119682: Middle Passage

Atheneum, 1990
Hardcover

9780452266384: Middle Passage

Plume, 1991
Softcover

9780862419073: Middle Passage

Paybac..., 1999
Softcover

9780330317788: Middle Passage

Black ..., 1991
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (2015)
ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
New Hardcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781501110528

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Simon and Schuster (2015)
ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1501110527

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Charles Johnson
Published by Scribner Book Company, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
New Hardcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A Scribner Classics edition of Charles Johnson's masterpiece, winner of the National Book Award--"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick.heroic in proportion.fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review). It is 1830. Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is desperate to escape unscrupulous bill collectors and an impending marriage to a priggish schoolteacher. He jumps aboard the first boat leaving New Orleans, the Republic, a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a daring voyage of horror and self-discovery. Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative, and philosophical novel. Seller Inventory # BZV9781501110528

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Charles Johnson
Published by Scribner Book Company, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
New Hardcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A Scribner Classics edition of Charles Johnson's masterpiece, winner of the National Book Award--"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick.heroic in proportion.fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review). It is 1830. Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is desperate to escape unscrupulous bill collectors and an impending marriage to a priggish schoolteacher. He jumps aboard the first boat leaving New Orleans, the Republic, a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a daring voyage of horror and self-discovery. Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative, and philosophical novel. Seller Inventory # BZV9781501110528

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (2015)
ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
New Hardcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
V-King
(Slough, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781501110528

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (2015)
ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1501110527-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 31.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Johnson, Charles
Published by Scribner (2015)
ISBN 10: 1501110527 ISBN 13: 9781501110528
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1501110527

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds