Buster: The Military Dog Who Saved a Thousand Lives

4.14 avg rating
( 140 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781504639040: Buster: The Military Dog Who Saved a Thousand Lives

[Read by James Langton]

The #1 international bestseller -- a heroic and heartwarming story of an RAF bomb-sniffing dog from his best friend and handler, perfect for fans of Dogs of War and Trident K9 Warriors

''With some dogs you share a boil in the bag breakfast and maybe a blanket on a cold desert floor. Some you wouldn't leave in charge of your Grandma unless you wanted to find out just how fast the old girl could run. But, if you're very, very lucky there will be the one dog you would lay down your life for -- and for me that dog is Buster.''

Buster, an English springer spaniel who has served his comrades and his country with unstinting devotion, has saved thousands of lives. This is the story of his partnership with RAF Police Sergeant Will Barrow, told by Will himself, describing how each came to save the other's life. It is a relationship that produced some heroic feats -- including sniffing out explosive vests that led to the arrests of two suicide bombers -- in the dust and desert heat of Afghanistan and beyond.

Buster, uniquely, has served five tours of duty in three theaters of war (Bosnia, Iraq, and Afghanistan) -- more than any other military dog. He also won the prestigious Crufts Friends for Life Award in 2012 and has gone on to become the official lifetime mascot of the RAF Police, the only dog in history to have been honored in that manner. A best friend in dog's clothing, an RAF dog with his mossy feet firmly on the ground, Buster is truly a dog in a million.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michael ''Will'' Barrow joined the RAF at the age of eighteen. He then specialized as a drugs detection dog handler and an arms and explosives search dog handler. He has served in the Falkland Islands, Northern Ireland, Bosnia, Afghanistan, and Iraq.

Isabel George is an international bestselling author who writes with a passion and respect for animals in war.

Review:

''A moving, inspirational tale of a very special military dog and his devoted RAF handler who help each other -- and so many others -- through the brutality of war. You'll want to pack along a fistful of tissues for their journey.'' --Maria Goodavage New York Times bestselling author

''Take one irresistible Springer spaniel with a nose for explosives and put him in the midst of British soldiers living in the extreme conditions of desert war. Mix well. Result, a tender memoir of the extraordinary way a dog can make even the most horrific of conditions bearable.'' --Susan Wilson New York Times bestselling author of One Good Dog

''A moving love letter and proud salute from a brave serviceman to his courageous dog - his buddy, his savior, and his best friend.'' --Wendy Holden international bestselling author of Haatchi & Little B

''A warmly written account of the impact of one hardworking dog on a man who has worked diligently to maintain a professional remove with his companion, knowing full well the dog's got his heart from the start.'' --Kirkus Reviews

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 29.95
US$ 32.33

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Raf Police Flight Sergeant Will Barrow
Published by Blackstone Audiobooks (2015)
ISBN 10: 1504639049 ISBN 13: 9781504639040
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Audiobooks, 2015. CD-Audio. Book Condition: New. Unabridged. Language: English . Brand New. The #1 international bestseller--a heroic and heartwarming story of an RAF bomb-sniffing dog from his best friend and handler, perfect for fans of Dogs of War and Trident K9 Warriors With some dogs you share a boil in the bag breakfast and maybe a blanket on a cold desert floor. Some you wouldn t leave in charge of your Grandma unless you wanted to find out just how fast the old girl could run. But, if you re very, very lucky there will be the one dog you would lay down your life for--and for me that dog is Buster. Buster, an English springer spaniel who has served his comrades and his country with unstinting devotion, has saved thousands of lives. This is the story of his partnership with RAF Police Sergeant Will Barrow, told by Will himself, describing how each came to save the other s life. It is a relationship that produced some heroic feats--including sniffing out explosive vests that led to the arrests of two suicide bombers--in the dust and desert heat of Afghanistan and beyond.Buster, uniquely, has served five tours of duty in three theaters of war (Bosnia, Iraq, and Afghanistan)--more than any other military dog. He also won the prestigious Crufts Friends for Life Award in 2012 and has gone on to become the official lifetime mascot of the RAF Police, the only dog in history to have been honored in that manner. A best friend in dog s clothing, an RAF dog with his mossy feet firmly on the ground, Buster is truly a dog in a million. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781504639040

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Will Barrow
ISBN 10: 1504639049 ISBN 13: 9781504639040
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Compact Disc. Book Condition: New. Compact Disc. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 0.150. Bookseller Inventory # 9781504639040

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Will Barrow
Published by Blackstone Audio
ISBN 10: 1504639049 ISBN 13: 9781504639040
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Audio. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Audiobook on CD Rom - Unabridged A Brand New Quality Audiobook from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Bookseller Inventory # 2245938

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Raf Police Flight Sergeant Will Barrow, Isabel George
Published by Blackstone Audiobooks, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1504639049 ISBN 13: 9781504639040
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Audiobooks, United States, 2015. CD-Audio. Book Condition: New. Unabridged. Language: English . Brand New. The #1 international bestseller--a heroic and heartwarming story of an RAF bomb-sniffing dog from his best friend and handler, perfect for fans of Dogs of War and Trident K9 Warriors With some dogs you share a boil in the bag breakfast and maybe a blanket on a cold desert floor. Some you wouldn t leave in charge of your Grandma unless you wanted to find out just how fast the old girl could run. But, if you re very, very lucky there will be the one dog you would lay down your life for--and for me that dog is Buster. Buster, an English springer spaniel who has served his comrades and his country with unstinting devotion, has saved thousands of lives. This is the story of his partnership with RAF Police Sergeant Will Barrow, told by Will himself, describing how each came to save the other s life. It is a relationship that produced some heroic feats--including sniffing out explosive vests that led to the arrests of two suicide bombers--in the dust and desert heat of Afghanistan and beyond.Buster, uniquely, has served five tours of duty in three theaters of war (Bosnia, Iraq, and Afghanistan)--more than any other military dog. He also won the prestigious Crufts Friends for Life Award in 2012 and has gone on to become the official lifetime mascot of the RAF Police, the only dog in history to have been honored in that manner. A best friend in dog s clothing, an RAF dog with his mossy feet firmly on the ground, Buster is truly a dog in a million. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781504639040

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Barrow, Will
Published by Blackstone Audio Inc (2015)
ISBN 10: 1504639049 ISBN 13: 9781504639040
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blackstone Audio Inc, 2015. Audio CD. Book Condition: Brand New. unabridged edition. 1 pages. 5.80x5.20x0.80 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # x-1504639049

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 41.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.01
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Will Barrow
ISBN 10: 1504639049 ISBN 13: 9781504639040
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Compact Disc. Book Condition: New. Compact Disc. Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 0.150. Bookseller Inventory # 9781504639040

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds