Black Cross: First book from the tales of the Black Powder Wars (Volume 1)

4.15 avg rating
( 85 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781517510114: Black Cross: First book from the tales of the Black Powder Wars (Volume 1)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Arcane magic can be a ruinous power, despite admirable intentions.

A mysterious scroll finds its way into Lord Severun's hands, enabling him to release a dangerous experiment upon Wesson. With Sergeant Falchion unable to forgive himself for aiding the wizard, and desperate factions taking advantage of the devastating aftermath, Falchion embarks on an arduous quest alongside friends and strangers alike. However, even if their attempt to seek aid is successful and the city is saved, they risk revealing a secret that threatens much more than Wesson alone.

From a fantasy world not too dissimilar to our own dark and bloody histories, the beginning of an epic tale is told. Incredible magic is unleashed, allies become enemies; unlikely friendships are forged, and a foul plot is discovered that will shatter the long lasting peace of Altoln and her allies, plunging them into a gritty, brutal conflict that falls far from the fluffy fairytales of old.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born Lancashire, England, J. P. Ashman is a Northern lad through and through. His parents love wildlife, history, fantasy and science fiction, and passed their passion on to him. They read to him from an early age and encouraged his imagination at every turn. His career may be in optics, as a manager/technician, but he loves to make time for writing and reading every day. Now living rurally in the Cotswolds with Wifey and their little Norse Goddess Freya, he's inspired daily by the views they have and the things they see, from the deer in the fields to the buzzards circling overhead. Writing is a huge part of his life and the medieval re-enactment background and tabletop gaming lend to it; when he's not writing the genre, he's either reading or playing it. He plans to keep writing, both within his current series, and those to come, whether short stories or epic tomes.

Review:

"The magic system is fascinating and very well crafted. This is quite an epic saga, and surprisingly political. There are factions, and back biting, plenty of twists and turns, violence and bloodshed - everything epic fantasy fans enjoy."
bookwormblues.net

"The Black Powder Wars will be a series that's tailor-made for fans of fantasy in the vein of Bernard Cornwell, Paul Kearney & J. V. Jones." 
Fantasybookcritic.blogspot.co.uk 

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780993515408: Black Cross: First book from the tales of the Black Powder Wars

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0993515401 ISBN 13:  9780993515408
Publisher: J P Ashman, 2016
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

J P Ashman
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2015)
ISBN 10: 1517510112 ISBN 13: 9781517510114
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1517510112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

J P Ashman
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1517510112 ISBN 13: 9781517510114
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # zk1517510112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds