Eikhah-Lamentations: Eikhah (Lamentations) Symphonic Poem in Five Movements for Grand Orchestra

9781537122458: Eikhah-Lamentations: Eikhah (Lamentations) Symphonic Poem in Five Movements for Grand Orchestra

The composition is not descriptive, however the general "tone" of the poems which constitute "Eikhah" reflect on every movement. It is not a Symphony in the traditional meaning because it does not fit in the sonata form: two opposing and complementary themes or ideas. Rather it is a Symphonic Poem without "programme", where each movement is inspired from the poems of the book "Lamentations" (Eikhah). The composition employs a large orchestra, with a full set of percussion instruments. One main tone-series is used as a "leitmotiv", this series is used as is in the first and last movements and its variations are employed in others. The pitch material on which all movements are based is in the form of one main and some derivative tone-rows which emphasize the intervals of minor and major thirds. The result of this selection of pitches creates an overall sound-color which stands apart from the usual distinction of consonant versus dissonant. The music can be at times almost "post-Romantic", Bruckner-like, but also "pointillistic" at others.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

David Ezra Okonsar, pianist, composer, conductor and musicologist is the First Prize Winner at the International Young Virtuosos Competition, Antwerp, Belgium, 1982 and laureate of other prestigious international piano competitions such as the Gina Bachauer, Sixth Prize, Salt Lake City-UT, 1991 and J. S. Bach, Second Prize, Paris, France 1989. He is graduated from the Brussels Royal Conservatory of Music on piano, composition and orchestration. He studied with Jean-Claude Vanden Eynden and Madame Jacqueline Fontyn. He has been a pupil of Alexis Weissenberg. David Ezra Okonsar performed in major concert halls in Europe, North America and Japan both solo and orchestral. He was special guest judge for the National Piano Competition of Japan (1999) P.T.N.A. (To-On). His researches in music related technologies were broadcast in a series of documentaries presented by the artist on the National Broadcast of Turkey (TRT). Mr. Okonsar is a prolific composer of orchestral, chamber, choral and piano music. His composing line is highly avant-garde and complex. Also a musicologist, writer and lecturer, Mr. Okonsar's writings are published in English and French and he is lecturing on music, composing and related technology. His recital programs are usually highly eclectic and often thematic mixing works by A. Webern, A. Berg, I. Stravinsky, K. Stockhausen, P. Boulez and L. Berio with the more traditional piano repertoire.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want