Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot

4.19 avg rating
( 16 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781551522487: Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot

Spanning three decades, Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot is an alternately offbeat, literate, and highly personal novel that delves into the politics of family, religion, and friendship, as seen through the eyes of a young woman who becomes Mormon.

As the child of European immigrants, she grows up feeling misunderstood and left out. Her anxiety leads her to want to become Mormon in order to fit in with her best friend and her family. This is a novel of the new world; in particular, the experience of children of immigrants, and how they cling to vestiges of a past that never seems real enough.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nicole Markotic is a fiction writer and poet; she has published a previous novel and two poetry collections. A former resident of Calgary, she now teaches creative writing at the University of Windsor in Canada.

Review:

Nicole Markoti?'s new novel is a dizzying, brazen, innovative, radical take on young women's lives in the middle of new urban conundrums. After the questioning of our cosmic systems of belief, she gives us a scrapbook of revelations, of memories, of confessions. She dares us to re-imagine our very identities. Readers, rejoice.
--Robert Kroetsch--Robert Kroetsch "Robert Kroetsch "

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Markotic, Nicole
Published by Arsenal Pulp Press
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nye Discount Books, Inc.
(Venice, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arsenal Pulp Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1551522489 Brand new, Unopened, may have small crease in cover. Excellent Customer Service. Ships Quickly. Bookseller Inventory # GR-06WO-2C5Q

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nicole Markotic
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97815515224870000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Nicole Markotic
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1551522489

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Markotic, Nicole
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # V7-9781551522487

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Markotic, Nicole
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781551522487

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Nicole Markotic
Published by Arsenal Pulp Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arsenal Pulp Press, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SONG1551522489

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Nicole Markotic
Published by ARSENAL PULP PRESS, Canada (2009)
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ARSENAL PULP PRESS, Canada, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 203 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In boomtown Western Canada, a quirky young woman grows up amid a family dynamic that leaves her feeling misunderstood and left out. She s a child of immigrants from war-torn Germany and Croatia, parents who cling to vestiges of a traumatic past that never seem real enough for their daughter. To leave her stifling family behind and to forge a new normal, she earnestly tries to fit in with her best friend Vera and family, and subsequently?crazily?an even more rigid life of Mormonism. Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot is a narrative of longing for self-creation, but also for self-destruction, restlessly twisting and turning through triangular friendships, teenage delinquents, Nazi killing hospitals for the disabled, the inane ex-boyfriend, a dying father s sudden conversion to parenting, and fantastic tales of the Mormon Angel Moroni on estrogen. One s own story, so she discovers as she invents it, is both an escape from, and a coming to terms with, the scrapbook that is life. The language in this novel is sensuous, inventive, down-to-earth, poetic. Here, the Canadian novel?in the tradition of Robert Kroetsch, Joan Barfoot, Lisa Moore, and now Nicole Markoti??continues to develop personal histories that plummet readers into the world of storytelling. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781551522487

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Nicole Markotic
Published by ARSENAL PULP PRESS, Canada (2009)
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ARSENAL PULP PRESS, Canada, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 203 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In boomtown Western Canada, a quirky young woman grows up amid a family dynamic that leaves her feeling misunderstood and left out. She s a child of immigrants from war-torn Germany and Croatia, parents who cling to vestiges of a traumatic past that never seem real enough for their daughter. To leave her stifling family behind and to forge a new normal, she earnestly tries to fit in with her best friend Vera and family, and subsequently?crazily?an even more rigid life of Mormonism. Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot is a narrative of longing for self-creation, but also for self-destruction, restlessly twisting and turning through triangular friendships, teenage delinquents, Nazi killing hospitals for the disabled, the inane ex-boyfriend, a dying father s sudden conversion to parenting, and fantastic tales of the Mormon Angel Moroni on estrogen. One s own story, so she discovers as she invents it, is both an escape from, and a coming to terms with, the scrapbook that is life. The language in this novel is sensuous, inventive, down-to-earth, poetic. Here, the Canadian novel?in the tradition of Robert Kroetsch, Joan Barfoot, Lisa Moore, and now Nicole Markoti??continues to develop personal histories that plummet readers into the world of storytelling. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781551522487

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Nicole Markotic
Published by ARSENAL PULP PRESS, Canada (2009)
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ARSENAL PULP PRESS, Canada, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 203 x 140 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In boomtown Western Canada, a quirky young woman grows up amid a family dynamic that leaves her feeling misunderstood and left out. She s a child of immigrants from war-torn Germany and Croatia, parents who cling to vestiges of a traumatic past that never seem real enough for their daughter. To leave her stifling family behind and to forge a new normal, she earnestly tries to fit in with her best friend Vera and family, and subsequently?crazily?an even more rigid life of Mormonism. Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot is a narrative of longing for self-creation, but also for self-destruction, restlessly twisting and turning through triangular friendships, teenage delinquents, Nazi killing hospitals for the disabled, the inane ex-boyfriend, a dying father s sudden conversion to parenting, and fantastic tales of the Mormon Angel Moroni on estrogen. One s own story, so she discovers as she invents it, is both an escape from, and a coming to terms with, the scrapbook that is life. The language in this novel is sensuous, inventive, down-to-earth, poetic. Here, the Canadian novel?in the tradition of Robert Kroetsch, Joan Barfoot, Lisa Moore, and now Nicole Markoti??continues to develop personal histories that plummet readers into the world of storytelling. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9781551522487

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Nicole MarkotiAÝ
ISBN 10: 1551522489 ISBN 13: 9781551522487
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97815515224871.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book