The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret: Using Theatre, Music and Comedy for Radical Social Change

3.92 avg rating
( 13 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781551642048: The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret: Using Theatre, Music and Comedy for Radical Social Change
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When the internationally acclaimed rock‘n’roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe in order to promote their newest CD, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled—a Europe marked by political and racial tension. Being equally at home in hard core clubs, poetry festivals, soup kitchens, the netherworld of squats, or urine drenched dives and youthfully, defiant haunts where cultural resistance rules, they drew immediate followers. The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret is an amazing portrayal of that tour, told with a sense of humor, a down-to-earth perception, and in the tradition of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road or Henry Rollins’ Get In the Van.

Inspired by encounters with Europe's new multi-racial underclass—the working poor, street people, immigrants, refugees, marginalized youth, the aged—this book is not merely an insider's look into the state of rock'n’roll, it is, as well, a commentary on the state of Europe in the late 20th century. In a wonderful reversal of tradition, every so often Nawrocki slips from his chronicles of life into short fiction pieces. These stories, real and exaggerated, are filled with a cast of friends, lovers, and fellow travelers—panhandlers and anarchists, the unemployed and underemployed dreaming of better times, neo-Nazis and skinheads trapped in hateful lives, prostitutes risking everything, gypsy ghetto boys fighting racism, and even the sometimes riotous band members themselves.

Norman Nawrocki is a Montreal-based author, actor, musician, and activist who has toured the world since 1986 with his music, his poetry, and his solo, educational, anti-sexist, 'sex' comedy cabarets. He is the author of four books of poetry, has over 45 releases with his bands, and has produced two documentary videos. He gives workshops about 'creative resistance' and how to use theater, music and comedy for radical social change.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Norman Nawrocki is a writer, actor, musician, and activist who has toured the world since 1986 with his music, his poetry, and his solo, educational, anti-sexist, 'sex' comedy cabarets. He is the author of four books of poetry, has over 45 releases with his bands, and has produced two documentary videos. He gives workshops about 'creative resistance' and how to use theatre, music and comedy for radical social change.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nawrocki, Norman
Published by Black Rose Books
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1551642042. Seller Inventory # Z1551642042ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nawrocki, Norman
Published by Black Rose Books 2002-04-01 (2002)
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books 2002-04-01, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. 1St Edition. 1551642042. Seller Inventory # Z1551642042ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Nawrocki, Norman
Published by Black Rose Books
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1551642042. Seller Inventory # Z1551642042ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Nawrocki, Norman
Published by Black Rose Books
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1551642042. Seller Inventory # Z1551642042ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Nawrocki, Norman
Published by Black Rose Books
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1551642042. Seller Inventory # Z1551642042ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Nawrocki, Norman
Published by Black Rose Books
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1551642042. Seller Inventory # Z1551642042ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Norman Nawrocki
Published by BLACK ROSE BOOKS, Canada (2003)
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description BLACK ROSE BOOKS, Canada, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. When the internationally acclaimed rock n roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe in order to promote their newest CD, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled--a Europe marked by political and racial tension. Being equally at home in hard core clubs, poetry festivals, soup kitchens, the netherworld of squats, or urine drenched dives and youthfully, defiant haunts where cultural resistance rules, they drew immediate followers. The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret is an amazing portrayal of that tour, told with a sense of humor, a down-to-earth perception, and in the tradition of Jack Kerouac s On the Road or Henry Rollins Get In the Van. Inspired by encounters with Europe s new multi-racial underclass--the working poor, street people, immigrants, refugees, marginalized youth, the aged--this book is not merely an insider s look into the state of rock n roll, it is, as well, a commentary on the state of Europe in the late 20th century. In a wonderful reversal of tradition, every so often Nawrocki slips from his chronicles of life into short fiction pieces. These stories, real and exaggerated, are filled with a cast of friends, lovers, and fellow travelers--panhandlers and anarchists, the unemployed and underemployed dreaming of better times, neo-Nazis and skinheads trapped in hateful lives, prostitutes risking everything, gypsy ghetto boys fighting racism, and even the sometimes riotous band members themselves. Norman Nawrocki is a Montreal-based author, actor, musician, and activist who has toured the world since 1986 with his music, his poetry, and his solo, educational, anti-sexist, sex comedy cabarets. He is the author of four books of poetry, has over 45 releases with his bands, and has produced two documentary videos. He gives workshops about creative resistance and how to use theater, music and comedy for radical social change. Seller Inventory # AAO9781551642048

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Norman Nawrocki
Published by BLACK ROSE BOOKS, Canada (2003)
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description BLACK ROSE BOOKS, Canada, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. When the internationally acclaimed rock n roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe in order to promote their newest CD, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled--a Europe marked by political and racial tension. Being equally at home in hard core clubs, poetry festivals, soup kitchens, the netherworld of squats, or urine drenched dives and youthfully, defiant haunts where cultural resistance rules, they drew immediate followers. The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret is an amazing portrayal of that tour, told with a sense of humor, a down-to-earth perception, and in the tradition of Jack Kerouac s On the Road or Henry Rollins Get In the Van. Inspired by encounters with Europe s new multi-racial underclass--the working poor, street people, immigrants, refugees, marginalized youth, the aged--this book is not merely an insider s look into the state of rock n roll, it is, as well, a commentary on the state of Europe in the late 20th century. In a wonderful reversal of tradition, every so often Nawrocki slips from his chronicles of life into short fiction pieces. These stories, real and exaggerated, are filled with a cast of friends, lovers, and fellow travelers--panhandlers and anarchists, the unemployed and underemployed dreaming of better times, neo-Nazis and skinheads trapped in hateful lives, prostitutes risking everything, gypsy ghetto boys fighting racism, and even the sometimes riotous band members themselves. Norman Nawrocki is a Montreal-based author, actor, musician, and activist who has toured the world since 1986 with his music, his poetry, and his solo, educational, anti-sexist, sex comedy cabarets. He is the author of four books of poetry, has over 45 releases with his bands, and has produced two documentary videos. He gives workshops about creative resistance and how to use theater, music and comedy for radical social change. Seller Inventory # AAO9781551642048

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Norman Nawrocki
Published by Black Rose Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1551642042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Norman Nawrocki
Published by Black Rose Books Ltd (2003)
ISBN 10: 1551642042 ISBN 13: 9781551642048
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Black Rose Books Ltd, 2003. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 192 pages. 9.00x6.00x0.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1551642042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book