Geoff Dyer The Search: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781555976781

The Search: A Novel

3.14 avg rating
( 165 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781555976781: The Search: A Novel

"A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length." ―The Guardian

Walker meets Rachel at a glamorous party by the bay. When she turns up at his apartment two days later, there is a hint of erotic promise in the air. But it isn't Walker she wants―at least not yet. Her husband, Malory, has gone missing, and she wants Walker to find him.
So begins Walker's quest, as well as this beautiful novel that takes our hard-boiled knight across the vast landscape of an imaginary middle America that begins subtly to morph into something stranger. Walker's search intensifies, and soon it seems that somebody else is searching for him. In The Search, his second novel, Geoff Dyer concocts a sophisticated and enthralling narrative puzzle.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Geoff Dyer is the author of Jeff in Venice, Death in Varanasi and three previous novels, as well as nine nonfiction books. He won a National Book Critics Circle Award in 2012 for Otherwise Known as the Human Condition. He lives in London.

Review:

“A take on the detective/noir genre in the vein of Auster, Calvino, and Borges. . . . Dyer creates a series of puzzles, which are sure to send some back for a second read. . . . [Dyer's] considerable talents, including the ability to write in other veins, are on display here.” ―Publishers Weekly

“So it's farewell my lovely and we're off, on a package tour through gumshoe thriller, film noir, road movie . . . and chivalric romance . . . An ambitious, stylish novel.” ―The Independent on Sunday

“If any British writer can try on the mantle of Calvino, Dyer can. He has a poet's gift with metaphor as well as an ability to grasp ideas, hold them, pass them on.” ―New Statesman

“As elegant as a mathematical theorem correctly expressed.” ―The Sunday Times

“Dyer injects an almost magical randomness into what ought to be the most conventional of tales, and gives us Surrealism where we might have expected Dirty Realism . . . Its after-image is hard to erase.” ―The Spectator

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Geoff Dyer
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97815559767810000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dyer Geoff
Published by MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MacMillan Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1555976786

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Dyer, Geoff
Published by Farrar Straus and Giroux (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus and Giroux, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9781555976781

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Geoff Dyer
Published by Graywolf Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length. --The Guardian Walker meets Rachel at a glamorous party by the bay. When she turns up at his apartment two days later, there is a hint of erotic promise in the air. But it isn t Walker she wants--at least not yet. Her husband, Malory, has gone missing, and she wants Walker to find him. So begins Walker s quest, as well as this beautiful novel that takes our hard-boiled knight across the vast landscape of an imaginary middle America that begins subtly to morph into something stranger. Walker s search intensifies, and soon it seems that somebody else is searching for him. In The Search, his second novel, Geoff Dyer concocts a sophisticated and enthralling narrative puzzle. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9781555976781

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Dyer, Geoff
Published by Farrar Straus and Giroux (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus and Giroux, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781555976781

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dyer, Geoff
Published by Graywolf Press
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1555976786 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI723652

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Geoff Dyer
Published by Graywolf Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length. --The Guardian Walker meets Rachel at a glamorous party by the bay. When she turns up at his apartment two days later, there is a hint of erotic promise in the air. But it isn t Walker she wants--at least not yet. Her husband, Malory, has gone missing, and she wants Walker to find him. So begins Walker s quest, as well as this beautiful novel that takes our hard-boiled knight across the vast landscape of an imaginary middle America that begins subtly to morph into something stranger. Walker s search intensifies, and soon it seems that somebody else is searching for him. In The Search, his second novel, Geoff Dyer concocts a sophisticated and enthralling narrative puzzle. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781555976781

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Geoff Dyer
Published by Graywolf Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length. --The Guardian Walker meets Rachel at a glamorous party by the bay. When she turns up at his apartment two days later, there is a hint of erotic promise in the air. But it isn t Walker she wants--at least not yet. Her husband, Malory, has gone missing, and she wants Walker to find him. So begins Walker s quest, as well as this beautiful novel that takes our hard-boiled knight across the vast landscape of an imaginary middle America that begins subtly to morph into something stranger. Walker s search intensifies, and soon it seems that somebody else is searching for him. In The Search, his second novel, Geoff Dyer concocts a sophisticated and enthralling narrative puzzle. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781555976781

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Dyer, Geoff
Published by Graywolf Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 1555976786

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Geoff Dyer
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 163 pages. 0.222. Bookseller Inventory # 9781555976781

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book