Geoff Dyer The Search: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781555976781

The Search: A Novel

3.13 avg rating
( 187 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781555976781: The Search: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length." ―The Guardian

Walker meets Rachel at a glamorous party by the bay. When she turns up at his apartment two days later, there is a hint of erotic promise in the air. But it isn't Walker she wants―at least not yet. Her husband, Malory, has gone missing, and she wants Walker to find him.
So begins Walker's quest, as well as this beautiful novel that takes our hard-boiled knight across the vast landscape of an imaginary middle America that begins subtly to morph into something stranger. Walker's search intensifies, and soon it seems that somebody else is searching for him. In The Search, his second novel, Geoff Dyer concocts a sophisticated and enthralling narrative puzzle.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Geoff Dyer is the author of Jeff in Venice, Death in Varanasi and three previous novels, as well as nine nonfiction books. He won a National Book Critics Circle Award in 2012 for Otherwise Known as the Human Condition. He lives in London.

Review:

“A take on the detective/noir genre in the vein of Auster, Calvino, and Borges. . . . Dyer creates a series of puzzles, which are sure to send some back for a second read. . . . [Dyer's] considerable talents, including the ability to write in other veins, are on display here.” ―Publishers Weekly

“So it's farewell my lovely and we're off, on a package tour through gumshoe thriller, film noir, road movie . . . and chivalric romance . . . An ambitious, stylish novel.” ―The Independent on Sunday

“If any British writer can try on the mantle of Calvino, Dyer can. He has a poet's gift with metaphor as well as an ability to grasp ideas, hold them, pass them on.” ―New Statesman

“As elegant as a mathematical theorem correctly expressed.” ―The Sunday Times

“Dyer injects an almost magical randomness into what ought to be the most conventional of tales, and gives us Surrealism where we might have expected Dirty Realism . . . Its after-image is hard to erase.” ―The Spectator

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781938073540: The Search

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1938073541 ISBN 13:  9781938073540
Publisher: Mcsweeneys Books, 2013
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Dyer, Geoff
Published by Farrar Straus and Giroux (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus and Giroux, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VV-9781555976781

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dyer, Geoff
Published by Graywolf Press
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1555976786 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI1281782

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Geoff Dyer
Published by Graywolf Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length. --The Guardian Walker meets Rachel at a glamorous party by the bay. When she turns up at his apartment two days later, there is a hint of erotic promise in the air. But it isn t Walker she wants--at least not yet. Her husband, Malory, has gone missing, and she wants Walker to find him. So begins Walker s quest, as well as this beautiful novel that takes our hard-boiled knight across the vast landscape of an imaginary middle America that begins subtly to morph into something stranger. Walker s search intensifies, and soon it seems that somebody else is searching for him. In The Search, his second novel, Geoff Dyer concocts a sophisticated and enthralling narrative puzzle. Seller Inventory # BTE9781555976781

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Geoff Dyer
Published by Graywolf Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1555976786

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Dyer, Geoff
Published by Graywolf Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111555976786

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Geoff Dyer
Published by Graywolf Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 1555976786 ISBN 13: 9781555976781
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Graywolf Press, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. First Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1555976786n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 99.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds