The Island of the Day Before

3.44 avg rating
( 11,585 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781559273602: The Island of the Day Before

A young seventeenth-century aristocrat goes to sea searching both for love and an old Jesuit with a boundless scientific knowledge.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"A profound and ingenious story artfully told . . . Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration." --The New York Times Book Review

Roberto della Griva is an Italian nobleman living in 1643. His mission is to travel the South Pacific and discover the means by which navigators can understand the mystery of longitude. After a violent storm, however, Roberto finds himself shipwrecked--on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, but the crew is missing.
As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father; and the lessons given him on fencing, blasphemy, and the writing of love letters. The Island of the Day Before is a fascinating, lyrical tale about a young dreamer's search for love and meaning.
"A masterpiece . . . intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." --Chicago Tribune
"A story both thought provoking and surprisingly humorous." USA Today
"Umberto Eco . . . is the last of the great 20th century polymathic fabulists in the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov and Borges." The Wall Street Journal
UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the bestselling author of numerous novels and collections of essays. He lives in Milan.
Translated from the Italian by William Weaver
"

About the Author:

Umberto Eco (1932-2016) wrote fiction, literary criticism and philosophy. His first novel, The Name of the Rose, was a major international bestseller. His other works include Foucault's Pendulum, The Island of the Day Before, Baudolino, The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana, The Prague Cemetery and Numero Zero along with many brilliant collections of essays.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eco, Umberto;Weaver, William
Published by macmillan Audio, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A. (1995)
ISBN 10: 1559273607 ISBN 13: 9781559273602
Used Audio Cassette Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Yard Sale Store
(Narrowsburg, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description macmillan Audio, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A., 1995. Audio Cassette. Book Condition: Good. 4 AUDIO CASSETTES tested for your satisfaction for a worthwhile set, in the original printed box. Some shelf wear to the box. The audio cassettes are in individual slots, sturdy and reliable. Enjoy this Audio Cassette performance. Audio Book. Bookseller Inventory # 179017901790132

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Eco, Umberto; Weaver, William
Published by Audio Renaissance, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A. (1995)
ISBN 10: 1559273607 ISBN 13: 9781559273602
Used Audio Book - Cassette Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Lowry's Books
(Three Rivers, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Audio Renaissance, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A., 1995. Audio Book - Cassette. Book Condition: Good. No Jacket. Approximate running time 6 hours, 4 cassettes, abridged. Size: 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 015051

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Eco, Umberto; Weaver, William (translator); Read By Tim Curry
Published by Audio Renaissance, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A. (1995)
ISBN 10: 1559273607 ISBN 13: 9781559273602
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pensees Bookshop
(Charleston, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Audio Renaissance, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A., 1995. Book Condition: Very Good. Lightly rubbed and bumped along the edges of the case. The tapes are in excellent condition having only been played through once. Abridged, 4 cassettes, running time 6 hours. Bookseller Inventory # 016134

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.40
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Umberto Eco
Published by Macmillan Audio (1995)
ISBN 10: 1559273607 ISBN 13: 9781559273602
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Audio, 1995. Audio Cassette. Book Condition: Good. Abridged. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 1559273607

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 88.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds