Pack of Lies: A Trilogy (American Literature (Dalkey Archive))

3.78 avg rating
( 18 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781564781543: Pack of Lies: A Trilogy (American Literature (Dalkey Archive))

Gilbert Sorrentino is one of the most accomplished innovators in twentieth-century fiction, a position that is everywhere confirmed in this trilogy of novels, Odd Number, Rose Theatre, and Misterioso. Beginning with a series of interrogations (we never do find out why they are being conducted) about characters drawn from other Sorrentino novels and concluding with the reappearance of the same characters, Pack of Lies is Gilbert Sorrentino's testament to the supremacy of the imagination, a critique of the state of art and society, and a vicious comedy portraying a world of fraud and mayhem.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

In addition to his books of poetry and criticism, Gilbert Sorrentino is the author of fourteen novels, including Imaginative Qualities of Actual Things, The Sky Changes, and Mulligan Stew. He has received numerous grants and awards throughout his career, including the John Dos Passos Prize for Literature, two Guggenheim Fellowships, two NEA Fellowships and a Lannan Literary Award.

Review:

"As any reader of not only the trilogy, but also novels such as the earlier Mulligan Stew, can testify, Sorrentino is uproariously funny, and the enormous humor of his outrageous stylistic tours de force is what propels the reader on.... The endless varieties of parody, pastiche, quotation, and plagarism in postmodern fiction give ample occasion for laughter, and yet Sorrentino's brand of humor is so distinctive that a discussion of comedy in general does not quite do justice to his specific achievement." -- American Book Review



"Sorrentino has established an artistic beachhead over the past twenty years; one could think of him... as a sort of American literary conscience." -- Washington Post



"Sorrentino's work demands rereading, indeed, demands revisions of the reading process, and in so doing is rewarding for several reasons." -- Rain Taxi

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sorrentino, Gilbert.
Published by Dalkey Archive. 1 Paperback(s) (1997)
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New soft Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Daedalus Books
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive. 1 Paperback(s), 1997. soft. Book Condition: New. Beginning with a series of interrogations about characters drawn from Gilbert Sorrentino's other novels and concluding with the reappearance of the same characters, this magnum opus includes the novels Odd Number (1985), Rose Theatre (1987), and Misterioso (1989). Erudite, creative, and funny, Sorrentino is a literary wizard in the tradition of James Joyce and Thomas Pynchon. "Sorrentino's books break free of the routine that inevitably accompanies traditional narrative and through a passionate renunciation shine with an unforgiving, yet cleansing, light."óJeffrey Eugenides 564. Bookseller Inventory # 34022

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sorrentino, Gilbert
Published by Dalkey Archive Press 6/1/1997 (1997)
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press 6/1/1997, 1997. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Pack of Lies: A Trilogy. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sorrentino, Gilbert
Published by Dalkey Archive Press
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564781542 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI1117654

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gilbert Sorrentino
Published by Dalkey Archive Press, United States (1997)
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, United States, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Gilbert Sorrentino is one of the most accomplished innovators in twentieth-century fiction, a position that is everywhere confirmed in this trilogy of novels, Odd Number, Rose Theatre, and Misterioso. Beginning with a series of interrogations (we never do find out why they are being conducted) about characters drawn from other Sorrentino novels and concluding with the reappearance of the same characters, Pack of Lies is Gilbert Sorrentino s testament to the supremacy of the imagination, a critique of the state of art and society, and a vicious comedy portraying a world of fraud and mayhem. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gilbert Sorrentino
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Gilbert Sorrentino is one of the most accomplished innovators in twentieth-century fiction, a position that is everywhere confirmed in this trilogy of novels, Odd Number, Rose Theatre, an.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 564 pages. 0.726. Bookseller Inventory # 9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gilbert Sorrentino
Published by Dalkey Archive Press, United States (1997)
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, United States, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Gilbert Sorrentino is one of the most accomplished innovators in twentieth-century fiction, a position that is everywhere confirmed in this trilogy of novels, Odd Number, Rose Theatre, and Misterioso. Beginning with a series of interrogations (we never do find out why they are being conducted) about characters drawn from other Sorrentino novels and concluding with the reappearance of the same characters, Pack of Lies is Gilbert Sorrentino s testament to the supremacy of the imagination, a critique of the state of art and society, and a vicious comedy portraying a world of fraud and mayhem. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gilbert Sorrentino
Published by Dalkey Archive Press, United States (1997)
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, United States, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Gilbert Sorrentino is one of the most accomplished innovators in twentieth-century fiction, a position that is everywhere confirmed in this trilogy of novels, Odd Number, Rose Theatre, and Misterioso. Beginning with a series of interrogations (we never do find out why they are being conducted) about characters drawn from other Sorrentino novels and concluding with the reappearance of the same characters, Pack of Lies is Gilbert Sorrentino s testament to the supremacy of the imagination, a critique of the state of art and society, and a vicious comedy portraying a world of fraud and mayhem. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sorrentino, Gilbert
Published by Dalkey Archive Press
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564781542 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Gilbert Sorrentino
Published by Dalkey Archive Press
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 564 pages. Dimensions: 8.8in. x 6.1in. x 1.3in.Gilbert Sorrentino is one of the most accomplished innovators in twentieth-century fiction, a position that is everywhere confirmed in this trilogy of novels, Odd Number, Rose Theatre, and Misterioso. Beginning with a series of interrogations (we never do find out why they are being conducted) about characters drawn from other Sorrentino novels and concluding with the reappearance of the same characters, Pack of Liesis Gilbert Sorrentinos testament to the supremacy of art and society, and a vicious comedy portraying a world of fraud and mayhem. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gilbert Sorrentino
Published by Dalkey Archive Press 1997-08-01, Normal, IL (1997)
ISBN 10: 1564781542 ISBN 13: 9781564781543
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press 1997-08-01, Normal, IL, 1997. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9781564781543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book