Adriana Trigiani Big Stone Gap

ISBN 13: 9781568959191

Big Stone Gap

3.86 avg rating
( 38,697 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781568959191: Big Stone Gap
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 


It's 1978, and Ave Maria Mulligan is the thirty-five-year-old self-proclaimed spinster of Big Stone Gap, a sleepy hamlet in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. She's also the local pharmacist, the co-captain of the Rescue Squad, and the director of The Trail of the Lonesome Pine, the town's long-running Outdoor Drama. Ave Maria is content with her life of doing errands and negotiating small details-until she discovers a skeleton in her family's formerly tidy closet that completely unravels her quiet, conventional life. Suddenly, she finds herself juggling two marriage proposals, conducting a no-holds-barred family feud, planning a life-changing journey to the Old Country, and helping her best friend, the high-school band director, design a halftime show to dazzle Elizabeth Taylor, the violet-eyed Hollywood movie star who's coming through town on a campaign stump with her husband, senatorial candidate John Warner.

Filled with big-time eccentrics and small-town shenanigans, Big Stone Gap is a jewel box of original characters, including sexpot Bookmobile librarian Iva Lou Wade; Fleeta Mullins, the chain-smoking pharmacy cashier with a penchant for professional wrestling; the dashing visionary Theodore Tipton; Elmo Gaspar, the snake-handling preacher; Jack MacChesney, a coal-mining bachelor looking for true love; and Pearl Grimes, a shy mountain girl on the verge of a miraculous transformation.

Comic and compassionate, Big Stone Gap is is the story of a woman who thinks life has passed her by, only to learn that the best is yet to come.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk." Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams

From the Back Cover:


"BIG STONE GAP is a southern novel that has the ring of truth, by which I mean
its characters are bizarre, its story is hilarious, and that it hooked me on
page one."


--John Berendt        

"Have there ever been more engaging late bloomers than Ave Maria Mulligan and her circle of doting, meddlesome friends? Adriana Trigiani writes with wit and grace about misguided romances and family secrets, and so very winningly about generous hearts. This urban Yankee reader found hours of bliss in Big Stone Gap, Virginia."
-- Elinor Lipman
"Funny, charming and original!"
-- Fannie Flagg
"It is one of my all-time favorite novels . . . unforgettable."
-- Whoopi Goldberg
"I have not enjoyed a novel this much since Cold Mountain. The characters are exquisitely and richly drawn. Ave Maria Mulligan is so real, she is almost a miracle. The story is poignant without being sentimental, and funny without being mean, and the story, the people, and the place of Big Stone Gap have stayed with me long after reading the book."
-- Rosanne Cash

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780345438324: Big Stone Gap: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0345438329 ISBN 13:  9780345438324
Publisher: Ballantine Books, 2001
Softcover

9781101967447: Big Stone Gap (Movie Tie-in Edition): A Novel

Ballan..., 2015
Softcover

9780375504037: Big Stone Gap

Random..., 2000
Hardcover

9780345459206: Big Stone Gap

Fawcett, 2003
Softcover

9780743440127: Big Stone Gap

Pocket..., 2002
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Wheeler Pub Inc (2000)
ISBN 10: 1568959192 ISBN 13: 9781568959191
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wheeler Pub Inc, 2000. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111568959192

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 58.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Wheeler Pub Inc
ISBN 10: 1568959192 ISBN 13: 9781568959191
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wheeler Pub Inc. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1568959192 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.1606748

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds