Glen Duncan Hope

ISBN 13: 9781573220941

Hope

3.88 avg rating
( 246 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781573220941: Hope

At once powerful, funny, and disturbing, Hope is a first novel about a young man's self-destructive obsession with pornography."A missive from the purgatory...Hope has the confessional, self-lacerating narrative style of Portnoy's Complaint>" -- The Times Literacy Supplement"Infused with a caustic humor and a host of observations on freindship, pornography, and the moral malaise of a generation, Hope is this summer's essential first novel". -- (British) EsquireGabriel Jones could be your boyfriend, your husband, or even yourself -- he's an intelligent, charming, poetry-loving university graduate; he believes in love; he's capable of strong friendships -- and he's been seeing a gorgeous high-priced call girl who picked him up in a London cafe. He's also addicted to pornography. In fact, it's his attraction to pornography that causes the collapse of his relationship with the one woman he has ever loved.Hope is a novel in the tradition of Philip Roth's Portnoy's Complaint, Nabokov's Lolita, and Dostoyevsky's Notes from the Underground -- confessional novels that have at their centers a hyperintelligent protagonist who seductively draws the reader into an illicit world. Why would a young, attractive man, who has found the woman of his dreams, turn to pornography? Why do men in general turn to pornography? Welcome to the world of Hope.By turns disarmingly intelligent, hilariously funny, and deeply disturbing, Hope examines Gabriel Jones's numerous obsessions; love and friendship; behavior he recognizes as both ridiculous and self-destructive; and mortality. It signals the remarkable debut of a highly talented young writer.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Glen Duncan grew up in England, where he worked as a book seller. He now lives in New York City.

From Kirkus Reviews:

A maudlin debut novel by a young Brit about romantic failure, filled with trendy musings on the transgressive (S/M, child abuse, pornography) in contemporary culture. Gabriel Jones, the narrator, offers us a long look back at his impossibly tragic, sordid life. He is currently living in London in a kind of limbo, and he hopes that by mulling over his past failures he can come to grips with the demons that drive him. ``Begin with Hope,'' he tells himself, but he isnt talking about the emotion. Hope turns out to be the expensive prostitute who gets him over his bouts of despair about Alicia, whose love he betrayed because of Katherine. In fervid, gushy prose--some of it quite good, yards of it over the top--Gabriel delivers what feels like the longest college all-night confessional in history. How he fell in love with Alicia: ``Nothing prepared me for soulful sex, sex that didn't retain its lust at the expense of its love, sex . . . with someone I genuinely liked.'' How Alicia, by deciding to do a feminist study of porn, introduced the worm--a centerfold spread that reminds Gabriel of how, when he was eight years old, he was initiated into sex by next-door neighbor Katherine, who he then witnessed being abused by a pig-maskwearing father (as Mummy looked on). How Alicia then finds him diddling an on-stage stripper with a cherry lollipop (can't help himself, it's in his childhood). Six years later, Gabriel is offered a chance reunion with the lovely Alicia. But Hope is retiring that very night, and when Gabriel shows up to pay his respects, he happens to be wearing a pig mask (went to a costume party, you know), which shocks Hope into revealing herself as . . . Katherine. Too traumatized to keep his rendezvous with Alicia, Gabriel sinks into his current state of picturesque decline. Unpleasant and unpersuasive: politically correct prudery mixed with unbridled sex. -- Copyright ©1998, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Duncan, Glen
Published by Riverhead Hardcover (1998)
ISBN 10: 1573220949 ISBN 13: 9781573220941
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Lover's Warehouse
(Watauga, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Riverhead Hardcover, 1998. Unknown Binding. Book Condition: New. FAST SHIPPING & FREE TRACKING! The pages of this book are clean and unmarked. There is very little shelf wear. 100% Money Back Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 149443

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Glen Duncan
Published by Riverhead Hardcover (1998)
ISBN 10: 1573220949 ISBN 13: 9781573220941
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Riverhead Hardcover, 1998. Unknown Binding. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1573220949

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds