Christopher Mouse: The Tale of a Small Traveler

3.81 avg rating
( 296 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781582348780: Christopher Mouse: The Tale of a Small Traveler
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world.
Though his life begins "in a commonplace way," Christopher Mouse is not the least bit common. From his birth in an ordinary wire cage, to his various young owners who range from bad to worse, his escape from a youthful taxidermist, and finally his close encounter with a large cat in the Egyptian room at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christopher proves an adventurer of the most intrepid sort - and a budding poet as well. With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world.
A classic mouse tale in the tradition of Stuart Little and The Cricket in Times Square.
About the Author
William Wise is the author of many wonderful books for children, including the picture books Ten Sly Piranhas and Dinosaurs Forever, and the novel Nell of Branford Hall. He lives in New York City.
About the Illustrator
Patrick Benson won the Mother Goose Award for his illustration of William Mayne's The Book of Hob Stories. He has illustrated more than twenty books, including Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Mole and the Baby Bird by Marjorie Newman, a Christopher Award winner.
Recognition
Booklist starred review
Reviews
"Christopher Mouse's conversational account of his life will delight young readers. This charming protagonist makes it through everything safely and leaves children wondering where life will lead him next. The occasional pen-and-ink illustrations offer a perfect little glimpse into his world." School Library Journal
A Texas Bluebonnet Reading List title for 2005-2006

A Book Links "Lasting Connection" t

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

William Wise is the author of many books for children, including the picture books Ten Sly Piranhas and Dinosaurs Forever and the novel Nell of Branford Hall. He lives in New York City.

Patrick Benson won the Mother Goose Award for his illustration of William Mayne's Hob Stories. He has illustrated more than twenty books, including Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Mole and the Baby Bird by Marjorie Newman, a Christopher Award winner.

From Booklist:

*Starred Review* Gr. 3-5. Desperaux, the plucky little mouse who won the 2004 Newbery Medal, lived a life of high adventure. Christopher, "the small traveler," lives in neither a castle nor a dungeon, and there are no princesses around. But even without the fairy-tale trappings, his quest is no less full of daring, lessons, and hope. Christopher starts his story in a manner reminiscent of Dickens: "My life began in the most commonplace way. I was born in an ordinary wire cage, on a soft bed of paper shavings." While still in their cage, Christopher's mother teaches her son and his siblings how to find a good owner in the pet shop for which they are destined, how to read, and even how to escape a home if need be. As it turns out, all these skills are necessary. Author Wise moves Christopher from one home to the next with ease and humor, punctuating the many everyday incidents with the actions of a dangerous a cat, a nefarious boy, and a young taxidermist. The writing is nicely mannered but very accessible, making the book not only a winner for reading aloud but also a delightful offering for children moving past beginning readers. The ink illustrations and the enticing cover will help them along. Ilene Cooper
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 15.95
US$ 16.87

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781582347080: Christopher Mouse: The Tale of a Small Traveler

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1582347085 ISBN 13:  9781582347080
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2006
Softcover

9780747570615: Christopher Mouse: The Tale of a Small Traveller

Blooms..., 2004
Hardcover

9780747571452: Christopher Mouse

Blooms..., 2005
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

William Wise
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United States (2004)
ISBN 10: 1582348782 ISBN 13: 9781582348780
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United States, 2004. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world. Though his life begins in a commonplace way, Christopher Mouse is not the least bit common. From his birth in an ordinary wire cage, to his various young owners who range from bad to worse, his escape from a youthful taxidermist, and finally his close encounter with a large cat in the Egyptian room at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christopher proves an adventurer of the most intrepid sort - and a budding poet as well. With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world. A classic mouse tale in the tradition of Stuart Little and The Cricket in Times Square. About the Author William Wise is the author of many wonderful books for children, including the picture books Ten Sly Piranhas and Dinosaurs Forever, and the novel Nell of Branford Hall. He lives in New York City. About the Illustrator Patrick Benson won the Mother Goose Award for his illustration of William Mayne s The Book of Hob Stories. He has illustrated more than twenty books, including Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Mole and the Baby Bird by Marjorie Newman, a Christopher Award winner. Recognition Booklist starred review Reviews Christopher Mouse s conversational account of his life will delight young readers. This charming protagonist makes it through everything safely and leaves children wondering where life will lead him next. The occasional pen-and-ink illustrations offer a perfect little glimpse into his world. School Library Journal A Texas Bluebonnet Reading List title for 2005-2006 A Book Links Lasting Connection t. Seller Inventory # FLT9781582348780

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

William Wise
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United States (2004)
ISBN 10: 1582348782 ISBN 13: 9781582348780
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United States, 2004. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world. Though his life begins in a commonplace way, Christopher Mouse is not the least bit common. From his birth in an ordinary wire cage, to his various young owners who range from bad to worse, his escape from a youthful taxidermist, and finally his close encounter with a large cat in the Egyptian room at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christopher proves an adventurer of the most intrepid sort - and a budding poet as well. With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world. A classic mouse tale in the tradition of Stuart Little and The Cricket in Times Square. About the Author William Wise is the author of many wonderful books for children, including the picture books Ten Sly Piranhas and Dinosaurs Forever, and the novel Nell of Branford Hall. He lives in New York City. About the Illustrator Patrick Benson won the Mother Goose Award for his illustration of William Mayne s The Book of Hob Stories. He has illustrated more than twenty books, including Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Mole and the Baby Bird by Marjorie Newman, a Christopher Award winner. Recognition Booklist starred review Reviews Christopher Mouse s conversational account of his life will delight young readers. This charming protagonist makes it through everything safely and leaves children wondering where life will lead him next. The occasional pen-and-ink illustrations offer a perfect little glimpse into his world. School Library Journal A Texas Bluebonnet Reading List title for 2005-2006 A Book Links Lasting Connection t. Seller Inventory # FLT9781582348780

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Wise, William
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN 10: 1582348782 ISBN 13: 9781582348780
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1582348782 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z1582348782ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

William Wise, Patrick Benson (Illustrator)
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2004)
ISBN 10: 1582348782 ISBN 13: 9781582348780
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st U.S. Edition. Seller Inventory # DADAX1582348782

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

William Wise
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2004)
ISBN 10: 1582348782 ISBN 13: 9781582348780
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2004. Condition: New. Patrick Benson (illustrator). book. Seller Inventory # M1582348782

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

William Wise
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2004)
ISBN 10: 1582348782 ISBN 13: 9781582348780
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st U.S. Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1582348782n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 102.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds