To the House of Collateral Damage: Centuries of the Civilian Dead

4 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781583228593: To the House of Collateral Damage: Centuries of the Civilian Dead

This incredibly ambitious, book-length poem takes on the modern problem of war. The poem's great achievement is that it situates our own age, not as a golden age, but as one notable for its harshness and brutality, especially towards noncombatants, as well as for the beauty of the language that can be found to describe and understand that brutality, and perhaps to change it. Homer’s Iliad and Virgil’s Aeneid allow us, two and a half millennia later, to experience the complexity and contradictions of the ancient world. La Riche proposes, boldly, to observe and judge our own world through the contradictions of our relationship to war.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

WILLIAM LA RICHE was a Fulbright Scholar and has lectured at New York University and Princeton University in art and architecture over the years. His previous book Alexandria: The Sunken City is about the largest underwater excavation of all time. He lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

La Riche, William
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VR-9781583228593

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

William La Riche
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1583228594

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

William La Riche
Published by Seven Stories Press,U.S., United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seven Stories Press,U.S., United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Beauty will save the world, said Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, quoting Dostoyevsky. William La Riche s poem is a fragment of just such life-giving beauty: timely, timeless, formidable, tender. Soaring and descending. Unlike any other work I know; and, once known, unforgettable. --Shirley HazzardThis incredibly ambitious, book-length poem takes on the modern problem of war. The poem s great achievement is that it situates our own age, not as a golden age, but as one notable for its harshness and brutality, especially toward noncombatants, as well as for the beauty of the language that can be found to describe and understand that brutality and perhaps to change it.Homer s Iliad and Virgil s Aeneid allow us, two and a half millennia later, to experience the complexity and contradictions of the ancient world. William La Riche proposes, boldly, to observe and judge our own world through the contradictions of our relationship to war.William La Riche was a Fulbright Scholar and has lectured at New York University and Princeton University in art and architecture over the years. His previous book, Alexandria: The Sunken City, is about the largest underwater excavation of all time. He lives in New York City. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9781583228593

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

William La Riche
Published by Seven Stories Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seven Stories Press, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1583228594

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

William La Riche
Published by Seven Stories Press,U.S., United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seven Stories Press,U.S., United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Beauty will save the world, said Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, quoting Dostoyevsky. William La Riche s poem is a fragment of just such life-giving beauty: timely, timeless, formidable, tender. Soaring and descending. Unlike any other work I know; and, once known, unforgettable. --Shirley HazzardThis incredibly ambitious, book-length poem takes on the modern problem of war. The poem s great achievement is that it situates our own age, not as a golden age, but as one notable for its harshness and brutality, especially toward noncombatants, as well as for the beauty of the language that can be found to describe and understand that brutality and perhaps to change it.Homer s Iliad and Virgil s Aeneid allow us, two and a half millennia later, to experience the complexity and contradictions of the ancient world. William La Riche proposes, boldly, to observe and judge our own world through the contradictions of our relationship to war.William La Riche was a Fulbright Scholar and has lectured at New York University and Princeton University in art and architecture over the years. His previous book, Alexandria: The Sunken City, is about the largest underwater excavation of all time. He lives in New York City. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9781583228593

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

William La Riche
Published by Seven Stories Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seven Stories Press, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1583228594

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

LA Riche, William
Published by Seven Stories Pr (2008)
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seven Stories Pr, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. a seven stories press 1st ed edition. 128 pages. 7.80x5.40x0.80 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 1583228594

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.92
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

La Riche, William
Published by Seven Stories Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seven Stories Press, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111583228594

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

William La Riche
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. An epic war poem in the vein of The Iliad and The Aeneid. "Beauty will save the world, ' said Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, quoting Dostoyevsky. William La Riche's po.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 192 pages. 0.227. Bookseller Inventory # 9781583228593

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

La Riche, William
Published by Seven Stories Press
ISBN 10: 1583228594 ISBN 13: 9781583228593
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seven Stories Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1583228594 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.2135175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds