Looking for the King: An Inklings Novel

3.48 avg rating
( 353 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781586174347: Looking for the King: An Inklings Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

It is 1940, and American Tom McCord, a 23-year-old aspiring doctoral candidate, is in England researching the historical evidence for the legendary King Arthur. There he meets perky and intuitive Laura Hartman, a fellow American staying with her aunt in Oxford, and the two of them team up for an even more ambitious and dangerous quest.

Aided by the Inklings-that illustrious circle of scholars and writers made famous by its two most prolific members, C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien-Tom and Laura begin to suspect that the fabled Spear of Destiny, the lance that pierced the side of Christ on the cross, is hidden somewhere in England.

Tom discovers that Laura has been having mysterious dreams, which seem to be related to the subject of his research, and, though doubtful of her visions, he hires her as an assistant. Heeding the insights and advice of the Inklings, while becoming aware of being shadowed by powerful and secretive foes who would claim the spear as their own, Tom and Laura end up on a thrilling treasure hunt that crisscrosses the English countryside and leads beyond a search for the elusive relics of Camelot into the depths of the human heart and soul.

Weaving his fast-paced narrative with conversation based on the works of the Inklings, author David Downing offers a vivid portrait of Oxford and draws a welcome glimpse into the personalities and ideas of Lewis and Tolkien, while never losing sight of his action-packed adventure story and its two very appealing main characters.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

David C. Downing, PhD, is the R. W. Schlosser Professor of English at Elizabethtown College in Pennsylvania. He is the author of four award-winning books on C.?S. Lewis: Planets in Peril, The Most Reluctant Convert, Into the Region of Awe: Mysticism in C.?S. Lewis and Into the Wardrobe: C.?S. Lewis and the Narnia Chronicles . Downing has also written short fiction for Christianity Today and other periodicals.

Review:

"The subtitle of this book is "An Inklings Novel." That claim might seem presumptuous at first. But lo--it is an Inklings novel. My own guess is that Lewis, Tolkien, and Williams would all be mightily pleased with it. All three of them, as it happens, figure as characters in the story, which is Arthurian, but set in the contemporary world--very much in the vein of That Hideous Strength and War in Heaven. The Inklings themselves are flawlessly depicted, as are the two protagonists, a very appealing young man and woman. All Inklings lovers will be highly delighted." ----- Thomas Howard, Author, Narnia and Beyond

"A highly engaging historical mystery adventure that brings C. S. Lewis and his friends and ideas to life. Fans of Lewis and Tolkien will love it. I couldn't put it down!" ----- Peter J. Schakel Author, The Way into Narnia and Imagination and the Arts in C. S. Lewis

"This superbly gripping novel about dreams coming true is itself a dream come true. Lewis and Tolkien come alive as real-life characters, playing their sagacious parts to realistic perfection as the protagonists follow their Arthurian quest pursued by deadly enemies. For lovers of Arthurian romance and for admirers of Tolkien and Lewis, this is indeed a dream come true!" ----- Joseph Pearce, Author, Tolkien: Man and Myth

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781586175146: Looking for the King: An Inklings Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1586175149 ISBN 13:  9781586175146
Publisher: Ignatius Press, 2010
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Downing, David C.
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 19561792-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Downing, Dr David C.
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KS-9781586174347

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Downing, Dr David C.
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781586174347

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

David C. Downing
Published by Ignatius Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mima Mia Books
(Boston, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ignatius Press, 2013. Soft cover. Condition: New. 14843 Language: eng. Seller Inventory # homo-30

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Dr David C Downing
Published by Ignatius Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ignatius Press, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It is 1940, and American Tom McCord, a 23-year-old aspiring doctoral candidate, is in England researching the historical evidence for the legendary King Arthur. There he meets perky and intuitive Laura Hartman, a fellow American staying with her aunt in Oxford, and the two of them team up for an even more ambitious and dangerous quest.Aided by the Inklings-that illustrious circle of scholars and writers made famous by its two most prolific members, C.?S. Lewis and J.?R.?R. Tolkien-Tom and Laura begin to suspect that the fabled Spear of Destiny, the lance that pierced the side of Christ on the cross, is hidden somewhere in England.Tom discovers that Laura has been having mysterious dreams, which seem to be related to the subject of his research, and, though doubtful of her visions, he hires her as an assistant. Heeding the insights and advice of the Inklings, while becoming aware of being shadowed by powerful and secretive foes who would claim the spear as their own, Tom and Laura end up on a thrilling treasure hunt that crisscrosses the English countryside and leads beyond a search for the elusive relics of Camelot into the depths of the human heart and soul.Weaving his fast-paced narrative with conversation based on the works of the Inklings, author David Downing offers a vivid portrait of Oxford and draws a welcome glimpse into the personalities and ideas of Lewis and Tolkien, while never losing sight of his action-packed adventure story and its two very appealing main characters. Seller Inventory # AAS9781586174347

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dr David C Downing
Published by Ignatius Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ignatius Press, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It is 1940, and American Tom McCord, a 23-year-old aspiring doctoral candidate, is in England researching the historical evidence for the legendary King Arthur. There he meets perky and intuitive Laura Hartman, a fellow American staying with her aunt in Oxford, and the two of them team up for an even more ambitious and dangerous quest.Aided by the Inklings-that illustrious circle of scholars and writers made famous by its two most prolific members, C.?S. Lewis and J.?R.?R. Tolkien-Tom and Laura begin to suspect that the fabled Spear of Destiny, the lance that pierced the side of Christ on the cross, is hidden somewhere in England.Tom discovers that Laura has been having mysterious dreams, which seem to be related to the subject of his research, and, though doubtful of her visions, he hires her as an assistant. Heeding the insights and advice of the Inklings, while becoming aware of being shadowed by powerful and secretive foes who would claim the spear as their own, Tom and Laura end up on a thrilling treasure hunt that crisscrosses the English countryside and leads beyond a search for the elusive relics of Camelot into the depths of the human heart and soul.Weaving his fast-paced narrative with conversation based on the works of the Inklings, author David Downing offers a vivid portrait of Oxford and draws a welcome glimpse into the personalities and ideas of Lewis and Tolkien, while never losing sight of his action-packed adventure story and its two very appealing main characters. Seller Inventory # AAS9781586174347

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Downing, David C.
Published by Ignatius Press
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ignatius Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1586174347. Seller Inventory # Z1586174347ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

David C. Downing
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97815861743470000000

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

David C. Downing
Published by Ignatius Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ignatius Press, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 1586174347

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Dr David C. Downing
Published by Ignatius Pr (2013)
ISBN 10: 1586174347 ISBN 13: 9781586174347
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ignatius Pr, 2013. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TH9781586174347

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book