Where the Light Shines Through: Discerning God in Everyday Life

3 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781587430886: Where the Light Shines Through: Discerning God in Everyday Life
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Wes Avram's charming book, Where the Light Shines Through, insists that "the adventure of knowing God is given its texture by a full, divine sort of sensuality" and that we can experience God in the ordinary as well as the extraordinary. Including stories from his own life and ministry and grounding his reflection in Scripture, Avram canvases a range of human experiences from Christmas pageants to jury duty. He closes with an appeal to the church to stay tuned to the Spirit in its midst, as well as a note on the way preaching unites the realms of Christian experience: soul, world, and church. Winning and wise, Where the Light Shines Through will draw all readers looking for new ways to see and hear God in the everyday.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Wes Avram is Clement-Muehl, Assistant Professor of Communications at Yale Divinity School, where he teaches preaching and communication arts.

From Publishers Weekly:

Ordinary people, says Yale Divinity School homiletics professor Avram, do not walk around town apprehending God in abstract theological categories. Rather, they sense God—in a birthday party, a miscarriage, a computer meltdown. In this felicitous collection of sermons, Avram reflects on God's presence in the world, prodding his readers to "respond to [God] sensually and personally." Avram's fresh take on even the most familiar biblical passages is illustrated by this musing from chapter five: what if, instead of praying "your kingdom come," we prayed "your economics come"? The sermons are full of illuminating personal anecdotes. One Valentine's Day, for example, a friend showed up at the Avram household with a wonderful dinner for the family in her hands. The lobster dinner was a gift, given with no expectations of reciprocity. A little while later, when another friend asked Avram to send her son a birthday card, Avram groused that he doesn't have time. Then it clicked: the Valentine's dinner was related to the birthday card; they were part of one long chain of gifting. Avram doesn't quite achieve that unanimity of theme and tightness of focus that readers might hope for—the book remains a collection of discrete sermons. But they are wonderful sermons that deserve a wide audience. Fans of Barbara Brown Taylor and Fleming Rutledge will welcome this new voice. (Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Avram, Wes
Published by Brazos Press
ISBN 10: 1587430886 ISBN 13: 9781587430886
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Brazos Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1587430886 . Seller Inventory # Z1587430886ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Avram, Wes
Published by Brazos Press (2005)
ISBN 10: 1587430886 ISBN 13: 9781587430886
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:

Book Description Brazos Press, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. New with remainder mark. Seller Inventory # 1410290244

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Wes Avram
Published by Brazos Press (2005)
ISBN 10: 1587430886 ISBN 13: 9781587430886
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Brazos Press, 2005. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1587430886

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Avram, Wes
ISBN 10: 1587430886 ISBN 13: 9781587430886
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-1587430886

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 108.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds