Douglas Clegg Nightmare House

ISBN 13: 9781587670565

Nightmare House

3.39 avg rating
( 993 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781587670565: Nightmare House

Some houses go bad. Harrow was born that way. Claiming his inheritance, a young man unlocks long-buried secrets within his occultist-grandfather’s house of infinite hauntings, awakening a nest of hungry ghosts. First in series. Get ALL the Harrow novels: Mischief, The Infinite, and The Abandoned now. For fans of Stephen King, Shirley Jackson, H.P. Lovecraft and Guillermo del Toro.

“Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction.” - Peter Straub, NY Times bestselling author of The Talisman (with Stephen King) and Ghost Story.
Don’t Miss A Single Harrow Novel!
The Harrow Series:
Book #1, Nightmare House – set at Harrow in the 1920s, the grandson of its creator has come to claim his deadly inheritance and explore the terrifying mystery within the ancient stones and passages of the house.
#2, Mischief – Boys will be boys — and a dark fraternity of misfits seek out Jim Hook, the new student at Harrow Academy — but something more terrifying is hunting Jim, as well.
#3, The Infinite – A handful of psychic investigators are called in to document the horrors of Harrow — but little do they know that the house is more than simply a haunted place — it may be the soul of evil itself.
#4, The Abandoned — In the village of Watch Point, New York, in the bucolic Hudson Valley, something toxic and horrifying has leaked from the old boarded-up mansion called Harrow. Throughout the town, people who sleep awaken with blood-lust in their hearts — and hatchets in their fists. A rampage of mayhem, murder and madness begins — and only those brave enough to enter Harrow may find a way to stop the terror.
Harrow Prequel Novellas:
The Necromancer – set in the 1800s, this is the story of the young Justin Gravesend and his initiation into a terrifying mystery cult.
Isis – set right at the end of the 1800s, the story of the young Iris Villiers when she discovers the terrible price that must be paid to speak with the dead.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Douglas Clegg is the bestselling and award-winning author of more than 30 books of suspense and horror, including Neverland, You Come When I Call You, and The Hour Before Dark. He lives in New England and is currently at work on more tales of dark fiction.

From Publishers Weekly:

An uncharacteristic period ghost story brings the Harrow haunted house trilogy to an apprehensive conclusion or beginning. In Mischief (2000) and The Infinite (2001), Clegg dropped portentous hints of past misdeeds and occult experiments that amplified the evil influence of Harrow, a sprawling Hudson River estate turned into a boys' prep school. The events of this novel, a prequel to the previous two books, don't so much explain as anticipate Harrow's later ghostly manifestations. In 1926, Ethan Gravesend inherits the estate from his eccentric paternal grandfather, who built the mansion on supposedly cursed land. Almost immediately, he witnesses eerie apparitions that emanate from Harrow's shadowy halls and gloomy grounds. In the company of housekeeper and love interest Maggie Barrow, Ethan stumbles upon a boarded-up room and a proverbial skeleton in the family closet that serves as lodestone for the formidable supernatural forces that pulse through the dwelling. Clegg milks each of the gothic set pieces premature burial, mesmerism, exorcism, as well as the inevitable specters for maximum spooky effect, but ultimately depends on a lengthy digression by the well-informed local constable to put them all together for Ethan's benefit. While he offers no ideas here that haven't already been explored by the weird fiction masters cited in his acknowledgments, Clegg's modern sensibility brings out the luster in some of the genre's well-used furniture and shows that tales in the classic horror tradition can still entertain.
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Clegg, Douglas
Published by Cemetery Dance Publications
ISBN 10: 1587670569 ISBN 13: 9781587670565
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cemetery Dance Publications. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1587670569 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.2137189

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Douglas Clegg
Published by Cemetery Dance Publications (2003)
ISBN 10: 1587670569 ISBN 13: 9781587670565
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cemetery Dance Publications, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1587670569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 100.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Clegg, Douglas
Published by Cemetery Dance Publications (2003)
ISBN 10: 1587670569 ISBN 13: 9781587670565
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cemetery Dance Publications, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111587670569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 110.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds