Wayward Winds (Secrets of Heathersleigh Hall #2)

4.23 avg rating
( 223 ratings by Goodreads )
9781589260191: Wayward Winds (Secrets of Heathersleigh Hall #2)


Uncover THE SECRETS OF HEATHERSLEIGH HALL with Wayward Winds, the newest book from Michael Phillips and join the drama, the conflict, and the attempt of one woman to free herself from the clutches of a man yearning for power.

In Wayward Winds, Amanda Rutherford has left the family mansion on the shires of Devon and joined the suffragette movement in London. While in the bustling metropolis, she becomes romantically involved with Ramsay Halifax, a charming young man who has European roots. As World War I approaches, the suffragette movement wanes, leaving Amanda without much purpose.

In a hasty decision, she agrees to marry Halifax, and soon she is on her way to Eastern Europe. Little does she know the danger she is in, that all along she has been merely a pawn in an ideological scheme to gain influence and control in England. When she finally realizes that Halifax and his mother are not the people she thought they were, she finds herself far from home and a warring continent lays between her and the only place of safety she knows.

PRAISE for Wild Grows the Heather in Devon

"Entertaining and filled with spiritual insight. I'm looking forward to reading the other titles in this series." K.D., Minnesota Christian Chronicle

"Dramatic and insightful. Highly recommended." Library Journal.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michael Phillips is an author, editor, publisher, and bookseller. He's written nearly 50 books, including many best sellers, and his current total book sales have capped five million.

He's also the editor of 25 books by 19th-century author George MacDonald (Bethany House). Sales now top l.5 million copies. Plus, he's the founder of Sunrise Books, which issues leather-bound editions of MacDonald's original works. At age 45, Phillips is responsible for nearly 100 titles that today circulate in the Christian marketplace.

This output stems from the printed page's greatest influence on Phillips' life. Besides the extensive library in his office, seven volumes perch in a place of honor on top of his desk. Each book represents a significant growth period in Schaeffer, C.S. Lewis, MacDonald, and Richard Foster. A key element in his work has been editing MacDonald's writings. "MacDonald has been a spiritual mentor for me," Phillips says, "exactly as he was for C.S. Lewis.

A Testament of Devotion by Thomas Kelley, launched Phillips' career in bookselling. While in college preparing for what he thought would be a physics career, possibly with NASA, he read Kelley's book. "It had such a profound impact on my whole spiritual being, I began giving copies away," he says.

While searching for inexpensive ways to purchase this book, Phillips created a small bookstore in one corner of his student apartment. This small venture grew, but after a few years in bookselling, Phillips found his interest in books leading him to write.

Phillips has also co-written five best-selling Bethany House fiction series with fellow Eureka, CA resident Judith Pella: the HIGHLAND and two STONEWYCKE series set in Scotland, THE JOURNALS OF CORRIE BELL HOLLISTER, and THE RUSSIANS. The Phillips/Pella titles are now approaching 2 million in sales.

His most recent books, Wayward Winds, Book 2 in the SECRETS OF HEATHERSLEIGH HALL series, and Legend of the Celtic Stone, Book 1 in his monumental new CALEDONIA series, continue his fine tradition of bringing history to life with compelling plots and intriguing characters.

A versatile author, he's had 14 books named finalists in the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association's Gold Medallion award competition., and in 1993 he had the distinction of being the author of two of the top five fiction books- The Crown and the Crucible (Bethany) and Pinnacles of Power (Moody).

Phillips' life is a constant juggling of multiple objectives&operating a bookstore, a publishing company, and a home-school; writing some of the best-selling books in the industry; and maintaining a high level of confidence and enthusiasm for all God has given him to do&with family priorities on top of everything.

Phillips identifies his secret as focus: the capacity to keep his vision clear on a particular project in the midst of many vying for his attention.

Michael and Judy Phillips live in California. They have three grown sons.

size : 5.4 x 8.3

From Library Journal:

In this follow-up to the first book in this new series (The Garden at the Edge of Beyond, LJ 9/1/98), Phillips continues the story of the devout Rutherford family. Dismayed by her parents' newfound religious beliefs, 20-year-old Amanda Rutherford seeks her own purpose in life, one that does not involve her parents or organized religion. She joins the suffragist movement and finds romance in the person of Ramsay Halifax. Realizing that her parents would not easily accept Ramsay makes him especially intriguing. Unfortunately, after the two marry, Amanda realizes Ramsay has a hidden agenda and a life she knew nothing about. Amanda's search, coupled with her questions about religion, makes this a touching and dramatic book with some intriguing historical details. Readers of historical fiction should find much to enjoy here.
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 22.99
US$ 25.81

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Michael Phillips
Published by Oasis Audio (2002)
ISBN 10: 1589260198 ISBN 13: 9781589260191
New Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Oasis Audio, 2002. Audio Cassette. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1589260198

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds