Victory: A Kydd Sea Adventure (Kydd Sea Adventures)

4.18 avg rating
( 413 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781590136249: Victory: A Kydd Sea Adventure (Kydd Sea Adventures)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the 11th book of this popular series, Napoleon Bonaparte continues planning for the invasion of England as Admiral Horatio Nelson and the Royal Navy patrol the seas, seeking out their elusive enemy. When convoluted political machinations in England lead to the impeachment of the head of the Navy, Commander Thomas Kydd is forced to choose sides. Eager to take on the real enemy, Kydd decides to join Nelson’s squadron just before the Battle of Trafalgar, the greatest sea encounter of all time. Amidst the chaos and bloodshed, Kydd and his shipmates must prove once and for all that the Royal Navy truly rules the seas.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Julian Stockwin is a retired lieutenant commander of the Royal Navy Reserve. He entered the British Navy at age 15 and was eventually named a Member of the British Empire. He is the author of the Kydd Sea Adventures series.

Review:

""Stockwin's richly detailed . . . portrait of life on ship and shore in Britain's oceanic empire is engrossing. He writes evocatively of shipboard routine, the panic and confusion of combat, and the terrifying approach of a storm at sea, and he knows how to stage enthralling action scenes."" --Publisher's Weekly

""Some novels have a built-in audience. Fans of the Thomas Kydd series, which has seen its hero go from a young wig maker to commander of a British naval vessel squaring off against Napoleon's invading forces, will flock to this eleventh installment and with good reason: the books, which incorporate actual historical events, are well-written mixtures of high-seas adventure and character-based drama. In this novel, which retells the Battle of Trafalgar from a new perspective, Kydd is instrumental in Horatio Nelson's victory in one of history's most famous sea battles. It's impossible not to enjoy the book--even newcomers to the series will be caught up in the spectacle, in Stockwin's colorful characters. Ideal for fans of Dewey Lambdin, Bernard Cornwell, and, of course, Patrick O'Brian."" --Booklist

"Stockwin's richly detailed . . . portrait of life on ship and shore in Britain's oceanic empire is engrossing. He writes evocatively of shipboard routine, the panic and confusion of combat, and the terrifying approach of a storm at sea, and he knows how to stage enthralling action scenes." --"Publisher's Weekly"

"Some novels have a built-in audience. Fans of the Thomas Kydd series, which has seen its hero go from a young wig maker to commander of a British naval vessel squaring off against Napoleon's invading forces, will flock to this eleventh installment and with good reason: the books, which incorporate actual historical events, are well-written mixtures of high-seas adventure and character-based drama. In this novel, which retells the Battle of Trafalgar from a new perspective, Kydd is instrumental in Horatio Nelson's victory in one of history's most famous sea battles. It's impossible not to enjoy the book--even newcomers to the series will be caught up in the spectacle, in Stockwin's colorful characters. Ideal for fans of Dewey Lambdin, Bernard Cornwell, and, of course, Patrick O'Brian." --"Booklist"

"Stockwin continues to display his talents in transporting his audience from the 21st century to the chaotic worlds of Kydd, Renzi, and their imperiled homeland . . . . He captures Georgian society and the closed world of a Royal Navy warship . . . [and] goes into action with swords drawn and cannons and carronades blasting." --"Historical Novels Review"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stockwin, Julian
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 14049926-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stockwin, Julian
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # TI-9781590136249

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stockwin, Julian
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1590136241

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stockwin, Julian
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781590136249

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stockwin, Julian
Published by McBooks Press
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McBooks Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1590136241 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI897329

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Julian Stockwin
Published by McBooks Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McBooks Press, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the 11th book of this popular series, Napoleon Bonaparte continues planning for the invasion of England as Admiral Horatio Nelson and the Royal Navy patrol the seas, seeking out their elusive enemy. When convoluted political machinations in England lead to the impeachment of the head of the Navy, Commander Thomas Kydd is forced to choose sides. Eager to take on the real enemy, Kydd decides to join Nelson s squadron just before the Battle of Trafalgar, the greatest sea encounter of all time. Amidst the chaos and bloodshed, Kydd and his shipmates must prove once and for all that the Royal Navy truly rules the seas. Seller Inventory # AAS9781590136249

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Julian Stockwin
Published by McBooks Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McBooks Press, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the 11th book of this popular series, Napoleon Bonaparte continues planning for the invasion of England as Admiral Horatio Nelson and the Royal Navy patrol the seas, seeking out their elusive enemy. When convoluted political machinations in England lead to the impeachment of the head of the Navy, Commander Thomas Kydd is forced to choose sides. Eager to take on the real enemy, Kydd decides to join Nelson s squadron just before the Battle of Trafalgar, the greatest sea encounter of all time. Amidst the chaos and bloodshed, Kydd and his shipmates must prove once and for all that the Royal Navy truly rules the seas. Seller Inventory # AAS9781590136249

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Julian Stockwin
Published by McBooks Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McBooks Press, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In the 11th book of this popular series, Napoleon Bonaparte continues planning for the invasion of England as Admiral Horatio Nelson and the Royal Navy patrol the seas, seeking out their elusive enemy. When convoluted political machinations in England lead to the impeachment of the head of the Navy, Commander Thomas Kydd is forced to choose sides. Eager to take on the real enemy, Kydd decides to join Nelson s squadron just before the Battle of Trafalgar, the greatest sea encounter of all time. Amidst the chaos and bloodshed, Kydd and his shipmates must prove once and for all that the Royal Navy truly rules the seas. Seller Inventory # BTE9781590136249

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stockwin, Julian
Published by McBooks Press
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McBooks Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1590136241. Seller Inventory # Z1590136241ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stockwin, Julian
Published by McBooks Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 1590136241 ISBN 13: 9781590136249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McBooks Press, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 1590136241

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book