Caribbee: A Kydd Sea Adventure (Kydd Sea Adventures)

4.16 avg rating
( 268 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781590136683: Caribbee: A Kydd Sea Adventure (Kydd Sea Adventures)

As the captain of a useful frigate, Kydd is claimed by the Leeward Islands station, exchanging the harsh situation in South America for the warmth and delights of the Caribbean. It’s a sea change for Kydd, who revisits places and people that figured in his time as a young seaman. Some are nostalgic and pleasing, while others bring challenges of a personal nature. In Europe, Napoleon is triumphant on land, but so far away in the Caribbean, Kydd and the others feel secure and make the most of running down prizes and sending off fat convoys of sugar to England. But, in a stroke of genius, Bonaparte finds a way to take revenge for Trafalgar and shocks Kydd out of complacency when an element from his past returns and Kydd is accused of murder. In a stroke of irony, it is that same past that may just provide Kydd the means to clear his name.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Julian Stockwin is a retired teacher and educational psychologist, and a former lieutenant commander of the Royal Navy Reserve. He entered the British Navy at age 15 and was eventually named a Member of the British Empire. He is the author of the Kydd Sea Adventures series.

Review:

"It's impossible not to enjoy the book—even newcomers to the series will be caught up in the spectacle, in Stockwin's colorful characters. Ideal for fans of Dewey Lambdin, Bernard Cornwell, and, of course, Patrick O'Brian."  —David Pitt, Booklist, on Victory

"An exciting and suspenseful historical loaded with action, intrigue, treachery, and the bloody gore of 1805 warfare. . . . [Offers] vivid and lush descriptions of colonial South Africa, professional seamanship, bold leadership, and . . . the perils of life at sea in the Royal Navy."  —Publishers Weekly on Conquest

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 24.00
US$ 51.92

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stockwin, Julian
Published by McBooks Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 1590136683 ISBN 13: 9781590136683
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McBooks Press, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111590136683

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds