Mike Waters The Republic of Vengeance

ISBN 13: 9781590201428

The Republic of Vengeance

3.53 avg rating
( 182 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781590201428: The Republic of Vengeance
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

An exceptional debut in the tradition of Mary Renault and Steven Pressfield.

A consuming story of love, loss, and redemption set in the classical world of Rome and Greece, The Republic of Vengeance is the story of a young man's pursuit of his father's murderer and of the values and qualities he develops that will make him a man-a man capable of a deep, noble, and enduring love.

At the end of the third century B.C., as Republican Rome's long war with Carthage was at last drawing to a close, it was already threatened by a new enemy, Philip, the tyrant king of Macedon in the east. Into this turbulent world emerges our Roman hero, Marcus, whose father is brutally murdered by pirates on a journey from Italy to Corfu on a visit to his uncle. Fate takes him to some of the great cities of the Greco-Roman world at a time of major turbulence, where he learns much and finds love unexpectedly.

This debut novel explores political and philosophical questions that are as timeless as democracy and tyranny, war and self-defense, right and duty, as well as questions of love, loyalty, and betrayal. In the tradition of Mary Renault, Steven Pressfield, and Robert Graves, The Republic of Vengeance is a remarkable, beautifully written work of love, loss, and redemption.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

Praise for The Republic of Vengeance:

"With its restrained, elegant and poetic tone, The Republic of Vengeance brings to mind Mary Renault. The ancient world has a new and insightful spokesman in Paul Waters."--Margaret George, bestselling author of The Memoirs of Cleopatra and The Autobiography of Henry VIII

"Naomi Mitchison, Mary Renault, Rosemary Sutclif, William Golding, and classicist Paul Waters deserve to be mentioned in the same breath. Altogether a most powerful and promising debut."--Paul Cartledge, author of Thermopylae

"I've waited ages for something this good to come along, and this debut instantly brings to mind one name---Mary Renault." --Sue Baker, Publishing News

"A masterpiece that deserves to become one of the classics of historical fiction."--Manda Scott, bestselling author of the Boudica series

From the Back Cover:

‘When I was fourteen I put aside my boy’s tunic, and assumed the plain mantle of adulthood. We held a ceremony at home on the farm, at the shrine of the Lares beside the olive grove. The slaves and farm hands stood by while my father sacrificed a goat-kid, and afterwards poured wine and incense for the god.

I had supposed, without knowing how, that from that day everything would be different. But next morning, when the feast was over, and my new white toga had been folded and packed away in the old bronze-bound clothes-chest in my room, I felt just as much a boy as before. It was only later that year that I learnt what it was to leave childish things behind, when I killed a man.’

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781590204740: The Republic of Vengeance

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1590204743 ISBN 13:  9781590204740
Publisher: The Overlook Press, 2011
Softcover

9780330452670: Of Merchants & Heroes

Pan Bo..., 2008
Softcover

9780330456401: Of Merchants Heroes

Macmil..., 2008
Softcover

9780230530317: Of Merchants & Heroes

Macmillan, 2008
Hardcover

9780230703988: Of Merchants & Heroes

Macmillan, 2008
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press 2009-02-05 (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press 2009-02-05, 2009. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590201426. Seller Inventory # Z1590201426ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Waters, Mike
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Condition: New. 2009. Hardcover. New. Seller Inventory # ZZ0008643

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Paul Waters
Published by Overlook Hardcover (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590201426 ISBN 13: 9781590201428
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Hardcover, 2009. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1590201426

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book