Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, the Man with a Hundred Faces

4.07 avg rating
( 86 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781590202296: Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, the Man with a Hundred Faces
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In May 1919, mere months after the guns of World War I had fallen silent, the Russian Revolution was roaring and the Bolsheviks' Red Army had begun to take the upper hand against the U.S. and British-backed White Army.

Paul Dukes - a 30-year-old concert pianist, master of disguise dubbed 'The Man with a Hundred Faces,' and the only English spy in Russia - was cut off in Petrograd after infiltrating the Bolshevik Government and stealing top-secret information.

With the government in London desperately in need of the documents in Dukes1 possession and the Bolshevik secret police closing in, a seemingly suicidal plan was hatched to rescue Dukes. 29-year-old naval lieutenant Gus Agar and his handpicked team of seven men boarded plywood boats?the fastest naval vessels in existence, most armed with only two machine guns and a single torpedo. They set out for the island fortress of Kronstadt, the most well-defended naval target in Russian, and into the jaws of the Soviet police.

Written by a former MI6 officer in the tradition of Agent Zigzag, Operation Kronstadt is an extraordinarily gripping non- fiction thriller.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Harry Ferguson is a former MI6 officer and an undercover agent for the National Investigation Service (NIS). He has written two books about his experiences with the NIS: Kilo 17 (2003) and Lima 3 (2005).

Review:

A tale of adventure, honor, and raw courage quite as exciting as anything found in fiction.¦ ïThe Daily Mail

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781590203378: Operation Kronstadt: The Greatest True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescueof Britain'sGreatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1590203372 ISBN 13:  9781590203378
Publisher: The Overlook Press, 2010
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ferguson, Harry (Author)
Published by WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1590202295

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Harry Ferguson
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
LIMEROCK BOOKS INC.
(SARASOTA, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. This Book is in Good Condition; Customer Satisfaction Comes First.Delivery Time 4-12 days. 100% Money back Guaranteed!!!. Seller Inventory # 1590202295

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Harry Ferguson
Published by Overlook Hardcover (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Hardcover, 2009. Hardcover. Condition: New. First American Edition. Seller Inventory # DADAX1590202295

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Harry Ferguson
Published by The Overlook Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2009. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1590202295

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Ferguson, Harry
Published by Overlook Pr (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Pr, 2009. Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. first american edition edition. 368 pages. 6.25x9.25x1.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 1590202295

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.56
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Ferguson, Harry
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590202295 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0706465

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, the Man with a Hundred Faces [Hardcover]
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
SPHINX BOOKSTORE
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. NEW. Seller Inventory # BEAR 10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 76.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Harry Ferguson
Published by The Overlook Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590202295 ISBN 13: 9781590202296
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2009. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1590202295n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 102.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds