Julie Drew Daughter of Providence: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781590204627

Daughter of Providence: A Novel

3.58 avg rating
( 105 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781590204627: Daughter of Providence: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The "sympathetic and compelling" (Cleveland Plain Dealer) novel about a young woman untangling family secrets and claiming her independence.


Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about the family.

Within a context of jazz, the end of Prohibition, and stifling gender expectations, Daughter of Providence is a gripping and seductive summer read. this story of loss and rediscovery will resonate with readers long after the final page.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Julie Drew is associate Professor of English at the University of Akron, where she teaches writing, film, and cultural studies.

Review:

Praise for "Daughter of Providence"
"Promising debut . . . Strong atmosphere" --"Publishers Weekly"
"Set in a decaying industrial town during the Great Depression, "Daughter of Providence" is an engrossing story of discovery, tragedy and redemption. Julie Drew is not just a skilled storyteller. She's an historian who creates a rich background of a city in the throes of unionism, class breakdown, and social and sexual upheaval. This is a book that stays with you." --Sandra Dallas, "New York Times" best-selling author of "The Bride's House"
"In real life, binding societal expectations take over the show. 'Success' is first class, and the heart is second class. In this moving tale, "Daughter of Providence," we get to see the first class price tag is paid with those hearts." --Carolyn Chute, author of "The Beans of Egypt, Maine"
"First novelist Drew draws a careful portrait of both social and family problems." --"Kirkus"
"With a dead body in theM

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781590208151: Daughter of Providence

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1590208153 ISBN 13:  9781590208151
Publisher: The Overlook Press, 2012
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Drew, Julie
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Condition: New. 2011. Hardcover. New. Seller Inventory # ZZ0008777

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Drew, Julie
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 159020462X *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2132382918

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Julie Drew
Published by The Overlook Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M159020462X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Julie Drew
Published by Overlook Hardcover (2011)
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Hardcover, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX159020462X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Drew, Julie
Published by The Overlook Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11159020462X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Drew, Julie
Published by Overlook Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Pr, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. 320 pages. 9.00x6.00x1.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 159020462X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Drew, Julie
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 159020462X New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW99.1984173

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 69.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Julie Drew
Published by The Overlook Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 159020462X ISBN 13: 9781590204627
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 159020462Xn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 89.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds