Monster: A Novel of Frankenstein

3.29 avg rating
( 252 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781590208601: Monster: A Novel of Frankenstein
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Chosen by WBUR (NPR Boston) as one of the ten best books of 2012

The supernatural, unmissable new novel by the ALA Best Horror award nominee. In nineteenth-century Germany, one young man counts down the days until he can marry his beloved . . . until she is found brutally murdered, and the young man is accused of the crime. Broken on the wheel and left for dead, he awakens on a lab table, transformed into an abomination. Friedrich must go far to take his revenge --only to find his tormentor, Victor Frankenstein, in league with the Marquis de Sade, creating something much more sinister deep in the mountains. Paranormal and gripping in the tradition of the best work of Stephen King and Justin Cronin, Monster is a gruesome parable of control and vengeance, and an ingenious tribute to one of literature's greatest

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Dave Zeltserman is the author of ten horror and crime novels, including Monster, a Booklist Top 10 Horror Fiction selection; The Caretaker of Lorne Field, shortlisted by the American Library Association for best horror novel of 2010; and A Killer’s Essence. He lives in the Boston area.

Review:

"Repudiating the 'outrageous fabrication' of Victor Frankenstein's story as told by Mary Shelley is the aim of this imaginative and grotesque novel from the revisionist perspective of the monster . . . Zeltserman's monster is every bit as eloquent as Shelley's, though his rage is more focused.This is juicy material for Franken-fans, and Zeltserman is just faithful enough to the original that his many fresh contributions feel entirely normal. Well, abnormal, to be accurate, but deliciously so." -Daniel Kraus, Booklist (*Starred Review*)

"This reworking of Frankenstein is chilling and captivating! A tale of justice, true love, and ultimate forgiveness, this gruesome novel is perfect for fans of Stephen King and similar horror stories."  -ForeWord Magazine (*Pick of the Week*)

"A graphic, brutal story with heart and soul" - Crimespree Magazine

"A masterpiece of originality, beauty, ugliness, eloquence, wisdom and power" -Ed Gorman, author of Ticket to Ride

"When award season rolls around, this one's going to be a major contender" -Bill Crider, author of the Sheriff Dan Rhodes mystery series

"Brilliant reimagining of Frankenstein: faithful enough to delight lovers of Mary Shelley's masterpiece, but wonderfully inventive as it takes the monster on a bloody quest for vengeance" -Roger Smith, author of Wake Up Dead

"Dave Zeltserman continues to expertly explore the depths of darkness with MONSTER" -Paul Tremblay, author of The Little Sleep

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781468308211: Monster: A Novel of Frankenstein

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1468308211 ISBN 13:  9781468308211
Publisher: The Overlook Press, 2013
Softcover

9780715645093: Monster Novel Frankenstein

Gerald..., 2013
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press 2012-08-02 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press 2012-08-02, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st Ed.. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609. Seller Inventory # Z1590208609ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1590208609 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2132376892

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Dave Zeltserman
Published by Overlook Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Press, United States, 2012. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Broken on the wheel and left for dead, he awakens on a lab table, transformed into an abomination. Friedrich must go far to take his revenge --only to find his tormentor, Victor Frankenstein, in league with the Marquis de Sade, creating something much more sinister deep in the mountains. Paranormal and gripping in the tradition of the best work of Stephen King and Justin Cronin, Monster is a gruesome parable of control and vengeance, and an ingenious tribute to one of literature s greatest. Seller Inventory # FLT9781590208601

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book