Monster: A Novel of Frankenstein

3.3 avg rating
( 232 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781590208601: Monster: A Novel of Frankenstein

Chosen by WBUR (NPR Boston) as one of the ten best books of 2012

The supernatural, unmissable new novel by the ALA Best Horror award nominee. In nineteenth-century Germany, one young man counts down the days until he can marry his beloved . . . until she is found brutally murdered, and the young man is accused of the crime. Broken on the wheel and left for dead, he awakens on a lab table, transformed into an abomination. Friedrich must go far to take his revenge --only to find his tormentor, Victor Frankenstein, in league with the Marquis de Sade, creating something much more sinister deep in the mountains. Paranormal and gripping in the tradition of the best work of Stephen King and Justin Cronin, Monster is a gruesome parable of control and vengeance, and an ingenious tribute to one of literature's greatest

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Dave Zeltserman is the author of ten horror and crime novels, including Monster, a Booklist Top 10 Horror Fiction selection; The Caretaker of Lorne Field, shortlisted by the American Library Association for best horror novel of 2010; and A Killer’s Essence. He lives in the Boston area.

Review:

"Repudiating the 'outrageous fabrication' of Victor Frankenstein's story as told by Mary Shelley is the aim of this imaginative and grotesque novel from the revisionist perspective of the monster . . . Zeltserman's monster is every bit as eloquent as Shelley's, though his rage is more focused.This is juicy material for Franken-fans, and Zeltserman is just faithful enough to the original that his many fresh contributions feel entirely normal. Well, abnormal, to be accurate, but deliciously so." -Daniel Kraus, Booklist (*Starred Review*)

"This reworking of Frankenstein is chilling and captivating! A tale of justice, true love, and ultimate forgiveness, this gruesome novel is perfect for fans of Stephen King and similar horror stories."  -ForeWord Magazine (*Pick of the Week*)

"A graphic, brutal story with heart and soul" - Crimespree Magazine

"A masterpiece of originality, beauty, ugliness, eloquence, wisdom and power" -Ed Gorman, author of Ticket to Ride

"When award season rolls around, this one's going to be a major contender" -Bill Crider, author of the Sheriff Dan Rhodes mystery series

"Brilliant reimagining of Frankenstein: faithful enough to delight lovers of Mary Shelley's masterpiece, but wonderfully inventive as it takes the monster on a bloody quest for vengeance" -Roger Smith, author of Wake Up Dead

"Dave Zeltserman continues to expertly explore the depths of darkness with MONSTER" -Paul Tremblay, author of The Little Sleep

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Zeltserman, Dave
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 17
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY87T003CID

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Zeltserman, Dave (Author)
Published by WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1590208609

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1590208609 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2122239078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Dave Zeltserman
Published by Overlook Press, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Press, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 206 x 145 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Broken on the wheel and left for dead, he awakens on a lab table, transformed into an abomination. Friedrich must go far to take his revenge --only to find his tormentor, Victor Frankenstein, in league with the Marquis de Sade, creating something much more sinister deep in the mountains. Paranormal and gripping in the tradition of the best work of Stephen King and Justin Cronin, Monster is a gruesome parable of control and vengeance, and an ingenious tribute to one of literature s greatest. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9781590208601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 1590208609

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dave Zeltserman
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97815902086011.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press, U.S.A. (2012)
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mad Hatter Bookstore
(Westbank, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press, U.S.A., 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Black mark on lower text block otherwise tight and unread. Overlook Press, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 206 x 145 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Broken on the wheel and left for dead, he awakens on a lab table, transformed into an abomination. Friedrich must go far to take his revenge --only to find his tormentor, Victor Frankenstein, in league with the Marquis de Sade, creating something much more sinister deep in the mountains. Paranormal and gripping in the tradition of the best work of Stephen King and Justin Cronin, Monster is a gruesome parable of control and vengeance, and an ingenious tribute to one of literature s greatest. Bookseller Inventory # 006833

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by Overlook Pr (2012)
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Overlook Pr, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st ed edition. 224 pages. 8.50x5.75x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 1590208609

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Dave Zeltserman
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 142mm x 25mm x 206mm. Hardcover. Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 222 pages. 0.340. Bookseller Inventory # 9781590208601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 28.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Zeltserman, Dave
Published by The Overlook Press
ISBN 10: 1590208609 ISBN 13: 9781590208601
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Overlook Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1590208609 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0789726

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds