My Share of the Task: A Memoir

4.1 avg rating
( 1,314 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781591846826: My Share of the Task: A Memoir
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

General Stanley McChrystal is widely admired for his hunger to know the truth his courage to find it and his humility to listen to those around him Even as the commanding officer of all U S and coalition forces in Afghanistan he stationed himself forward and frequently went on patrols with his troops to experience their challenges firsthand In this illuminating New York Times bestseller McChrystal frankly explores the major episodes and controversies of his career He describes the many outstanding leaders he served with and the handful of bad leaders he learned not to emulate And he paints a vivid portrait of how the military establishment turned itself in one generation into the adaptive resilient force that would soon be tested in Iraq Afghanistan and the wider War on Terror General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership courage and consequence -Tom Brokaw A compelling account of his impressive career -The Wall Street Journal This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narrative -Walter Isaacson author of Steve Jobs Engaging and humble throughout McChrystal raises the bar for his peers -Publishers Weekly starred review

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Stanley McChrystal retired in July 2010 as a four-star general in the U.S. Army. His last assignment was as the commander of the International Security Assistance Force and as the commander of U.S. forces in Afghanistan. He is currently a senior fellow at Yale University's Jackson Institute for Global Affairs and cofounder of the McChrystal Group, a leadership consulting firm. He and his wife, Annie, live in Virginia.

Review:

“General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership, courage, and consequence. He took me inside the command bunker, on nighttime raids, and through the fog of war, political and military. My Share of the Task is an important, riveting, and instructive account of the triumphs and trials of America’s two longest wars.”

—TOM BROKAW, author of The Greatest Generation

“Written in the tradition of Ulysses S. Grant, My Share of the Task is a clear, compelling, self-critical, and utterly unpretentious memoir. I know of no better book on the nature of modern military command.”

—JOHN LEWIS GADDIS, author of George F. Kennan: An American Life

“This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narra­tive. By describing his own life, and especially his command in Afghanistan, General McChrystal helps us understand the modern missions of the military. More than that, he provides lessons about leadership and values that are indispensable in our daily lives. It’s a deeply inspiring tale.”

—WALTER ISAACSON, author of Steve Jobs and Benjamin Franklin

“Stanley McChrystal has written the finest military memoir of his generation. Lucid, thoughtful, and steeped in military and strategic history, My Share of the Task is not just the story of one man’s service; it is the story of the development of a new way of war. This book is not just for aficionados of military history or for students of American foreign policy; it’s for anyone who wants to understand the challenges of leadership in America today.”

—WALTER RUSSELL MEAD, author of Special Providence and God and Gold

“A remarkable memoir by one of the most exceptional and thoughtful leaders of his generation.”

—RORY STEWART, author of The Places in Between

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781591844754: My Share of the Task: A Memoir

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1591844754 ISBN 13:  9781591844754
Publisher: Portfolio, 2013
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio 2014-01-28 (2014)
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio 2014-01-28, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. 159184682X. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

McChrystal, Stanley
Published by Penguin Group 2014-01-28 (2014)
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New Paperback Quantity Available: 13
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group 2014-01-28, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9781591846826B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

McChrystal, General Stanley
Published by Portfolio
ISBN 10: 159184682X ISBN 13: 9781591846826
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portfolio. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 159184682X New. Seller Inventory # Z159184682XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.48
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book