Paper Tiger: An Obsessed Golfer's Quest to Play with the Pros

4.09 avg rating
( 327 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781592402090: Paper Tiger: An Obsessed Golfer's Quest to Play with the Pros
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Traces the author's year-long attempt to earn a competitor's spot at the PGA Tour Qualifying School, an endeavor marked by such challenges as crash diets, sports psychiatrists, and obscure tournaments. 30,000 first printing.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"For anyone who's ever suffered the delusion they have enough game to go up against the professional killers who play golf for a living, here's the cold, hard, hilarious truth."
--Mark Frost, author of The Greatest Game Ever Played and The Grand Slam

"Tom Coyne is a standout among the next generation of talented young golf writers. His personal quest to make it in the brave new world of tournament golf with the help of Dr. Jim Suttie (one of golf's great unheralded teachers) is refreshingly candid and heartbreakingly funny-a brilliant new take on the secret ambition of millions. The unexpected payoff makes the pain of his journey all the more special, this memoir of golf obsession nigh unforgettable."
--James Dodson, author of Final Rounds, The Dewsweepers, and Ben Hogan: An American Life

"Paper Tiger races along with humor, suspense, and behind-the-scenes stories that will grab any golfer's heart."
--Bud Shrake, coauthor of Harvey Penick's Little Red Book

"In the tradition of George Plimpton, Tom Coyne takes us through the tiers and tears of competitive golf, with all the laughs and gaffes that accompany it. But he's no dilettante-Coyne commits, strives, and gets damn good. He emerges from the journey as one of our best golf writers. Astute and funny, Paper Tiger casts a critical eye at the golfer's Grail. This book is a double fist pump."
--Brian Doyle-Murray, co-creator of "Caddyshack"

"Paper Tiger is laugh-out-loud, read-it-out-loud-to-your-friends funny. It's also packed with unique insight and unexpected heart. This guy can really write!"
--Paul Azinger, 12-time Tour winner, including the PGA Championship and Tour Championship

"If you think you've heard every kind of golf story, well, think again. Paper Tiger is a hilarious, heart breaking, dead-honest look at what it means to be in love with this great game, in good times and bad. I have enjoyed Tom Coyne's insights more than you can imagine, and I think you will as well."
--PGA Tour and Ryder Cup Champion Chip Beck

"Commitment and effort-these are the two key qualities that Coyne demonstrates in his quest. It is hard not to be jealous of him, but it is a jealousy hard-earned...This is an experience readers will be able to enjoy vicariously."
--Library Journal

A Golf Book Worth Reading (David Granger, Editor-in-Chief, Esquire )

About the Author:

Tom Coyne is the author of the novel A Gentleman’s Game and cowriter of the screenplay for the novel’s film version, which starred Dylan Baker and Gary Sinise. He is a contributor to Golf Magazine and teaches creative writing at St. Joseph’s University.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 26.00
US$ 13.24

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 14.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781592402991: Paper Tiger: An Obsessed Golfer's Quest to Play with the Pros

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1592402992 ISBN 13:  9781592402991
Publisher: Avery, 2007
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Coyne, Tom
Published by Gotham (2006)
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
London Bridge Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gotham, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1592402097 Dispatched from London. Seller Inventory # Z1592402097ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Tom Coyne
Published by Gotham (2006)
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gotham, 2006. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1592402097

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 31.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Coyne, Tom
Published by Gotham (2006)
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gotham, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111592402097

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 48.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Tom Coyne
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-1592402097

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 89.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Tom Coyne
Published by Gotham (2006)
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gotham, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition - may be Reissue. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1592402097n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 105.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds