Paper Tiger: An Obsessed Golfer's Quest to Play with the Pros

4.04 avg rating
( 247 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781592402090: Paper Tiger: An Obsessed Golfer's Quest to Play with the Pros

The riotously funny story of one weekend golfer who lived the dream—devoting a full year to nothing but the quixotic quest to qualify at the PGA Q-School

A lifelong golfer and former caddy, Tom Coyne could drive the ball 300 yards but always struggled against stiff competition; he had often wondered whether the pros won because they were more innately talented or just because they were more obsessed. On the cusp of turning thirty, overweight, and saddled with a 14 handicap, Coyne embarked on a yearlong quest to do everything he could to lift his game—and find out if he could make it through the PGA Tour Qualifying School.

Paper Tiger takes you on a rollicking ride into the beer-gutted underbelly of semipro golf, into a world of crash diets, punishing workout regimens, high-flying sports shrinks, cutting-edge club technology, and obscure tournaments. With his girlfriend as caddy, Coyne traverses from Miami to Chicago to Toronto to see how he stacks up against the competition. Ultimately he takes his game to a new level—or at least a new continent—on the links of Australian Q-School, where amidst forty-mile-an-hour winds he must choose between the love of a fickle game and the love of the long-suffering woman who has stood by him throughout all the shanks, hooks, yips, and chili dips.

Brimming with humor and insight about the world’s most beautiful and maddening game, Paper Tiger will delight golfers and the sane people who love them.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"For anyone who's ever suffered the delusion they have enough game to go up against the professional killers who play golf for a living, here's the cold, hard, hilarious truth."
--Mark Frost, author of The Greatest Game Ever Played and The Grand Slam

"Tom Coyne is a standout among the next generation of talented young golf writers. His personal quest to make it in the brave new world of tournament golf with the help of Dr. Jim Suttie (one of golf's great unheralded teachers) is refreshingly candid and heartbreakingly funny-a brilliant new take on the secret ambition of millions. The unexpected payoff makes the pain of his journey all the more special, this memoir of golf obsession nigh unforgettable."
--James Dodson, author of Final Rounds, The Dewsweepers, and Ben Hogan: An American Life

"Paper Tiger races along with humor, suspense, and behind-the-scenes stories that will grab any golfer's heart."
--Bud Shrake, coauthor of Harvey Penick's Little Red Book

"In the tradition of George Plimpton, Tom Coyne takes us through the tiers and tears of competitive golf, with all the laughs and gaffes that accompany it. But he's no dilettante-Coyne commits, strives, and gets damn good. He emerges from the journey as one of our best golf writers. Astute and funny, Paper Tiger casts a critical eye at the golfer's Grail. This book is a double fist pump."
--Brian Doyle-Murray, co-creator of "Caddyshack"

"Paper Tiger is laugh-out-loud, read-it-out-loud-to-your-friends funny. It's also packed with unique insight and unexpected heart. This guy can really write!"
--Paul Azinger, 12-time Tour winner, including the PGA Championship and Tour Championship

"If you think you've heard every kind of golf story, well, think again. Paper Tiger is a hilarious, heart breaking, dead-honest look at what it means to be in love with this great game, in good times and bad. I have enjoyed Tom Coyne's insights more than you can imagine, and I think you will as well."
--PGA Tour and Ryder Cup Champion Chip Beck

"Commitment and effort-these are the two key qualities that Coyne demonstrates in his quest. It is hard not to be jealous of him, but it is a jealousy hard-earned...This is an experience readers will be able to enjoy vicariously."
--Library Journal

A Golf Book Worth Reading (David Granger, Editor-in-Chief, Esquire )

About the Author:

Tom Coyne is the author of the novel A Gentleman’s Game and cowriter of the screenplay for the novel’s film version, which starred Dylan Baker and Gary Sinise. He is a contributor to Golf Magazine and teaches creative writing at St. Joseph’s University.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tom Coyne
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97815924020901.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Coyne, Tom
Published by Gotham (2006)
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gotham, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111592402097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Coyne, Tom
Published by Gotham
ISBN 10: 1592402097 ISBN 13: 9781592402090
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gotham. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1592402097 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1632986

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds