Children's Picture Books Wednesday

ISBN 13: 9781592701520

Wednesday

3.78 avg rating
( 256 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781592701520: Wednesday

Wednesday is a sweet story about two best friends, Little Round and Big Square. But it's also about what it is to really play imaginatively with another. Every Wednesday, our two friends get together to play. Sometimes they have some tough moments, like all true friends, but they mostly have the best time that two friends can ever have together! Illustrated in a strong, two-color graphic style, Wednesday has strong appeal for the youngest readers as well as for parents and teachers.

Anne Bertier has been writing and illustrating children's books since 1995. She studied literature while attending mime courses at the Sylvia Monfort School. Her particular interests in creating art are composition and balance.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Anne Bertier: Anne Bertier has been writing and illustrating children’s books since 1995. She studied literature while attending mime courses at the Sylvia Monfort School. Her particular interests in creating art are
composition and balance.

Review:

"In the tradition of Leo Lionni’s Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict . . . Emotionally, the ups and downs of a day with a friend will ring true for young children. Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives." -- STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews

"...French artist's Bertier's meditation on geometrical shapes has a timeless feel. The books design and printing, in pure hues on creamy matte pages, make it a pleasing object in and of itself...Cheery, upbeat writing and pared down subject matter make it a fine choice for a younger audience, who will enjoy picking out the forms in each spread--and then, perhaps, experimenting on their own with paper and scissors."-- Publisher's Weekly

Thanks to splendiferously discerning indie publisher Enchanted Lion Books (whose inspiring founder Claudia Z. Bedrick is also an accomplished translator), this is something completely original so much so that maybe I can be allowed at least a single O-M-G.” -- Book Dragon

Children will immediately relate to both the square and the circle. They may not have faces, but they convey emotions clearly on the page from anger to exuberance to friendship. Strong and vibrant, this picture book translated from the French, is a great pick for units on friendship or shapes. Appropriate for ages 3-5.” -- Waking Brain Cells

"friendships aren't always easy. Often it is in compromise that a new reality is found. Anne Bernier uses two vibrant colors , strong graphic detail, and understated emotion to help young listeners open a discussion about conflict and cooperation. imaginative and entertaining, you won't want to miss it. Now get out the paper and scissors and let their imaginations soar!" -- Sal's Fiction Addiction

The story is at once simple in its playfulness and a beautiful allegory for the combinatorial nature of creativity and thought itself, for the way we transform the building blocks we assemble by way of being alive and awake to the world impressions, experiences, memories, influences into new combinations that we call our own ideas.” -- Brain Pickings


"In the tradition of Leo Lionni’s Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict . . . Emotionally, the ups and downs of a day with a friend will ring true for young children. Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives." -- STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews

"...French artist's Bertier's meditation on geometrical shapes has a timeless feel. The books design and printing, in pure hues on creamy matte pages, make it a pleasing object in and of itself...Cheery, upbeat writing and pared down subject matter make it a fine choice for a younger audience, who will enjoy picking out the forms in each spread--and then, perhaps, experimenting on their own with paper and scissors."-- Publisher's Weekly

“Thanks to splendiferously discerning indie publisher Enchanted Lion Books (whose inspiring founder Claudia Z. Bedrick is also an accomplished translator), this is something completely original ... so much so that maybe I can be allowed at least a single O-M-G.” -- Book Dragon

“Children will immediately relate to both the square and the circle. They may not have faces, but they convey emotions clearly on the page from anger to exuberance to friendship. Strong and vibrant, this picture book translated from the French, is a great pick for units on friendship or shapes. Appropriate for ages 3-5.” -- Waking Brain Cells

"friendships aren't always easy. Often it is in compromise that a new reality is found. Anne Bernier uses two vibrant colors , strong graphic detail, and understated emotion to help young listeners open a discussion about conflict and cooperation. imaginative and entertaining, you won't want to miss it. Now get out the paper and scissors and let their imaginations soar!" -- Sal's Fiction Addiction

“The story is at once simple in its playfulness and a beautiful allegory for the combinatorial nature of creativity and thought itself, for the way we transform the building blocks we assemble by way of being alive and awake to the world ― impressions, experiences, memories, influences ― into new combinations that we call our own ideas.” -- Brain Pickings

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Published by Enchanted Lion Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1592701523 ISBN 13: 9781592701520
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Enchanted Lion Books, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1592701523

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Anne Bertier
ISBN 10: 1592701523 ISBN 13: 9781592701520
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Age range 3 to 7Every Wednesday, Little Round and Big Square get together to play, and all they need is each other! Wednesday is a sweet story about two best friends, Little Round and Big .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 48 pages. 0.385. Bookseller Inventory # 9781592701520

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Published by Enchanted Lion Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1592701523 ISBN 13: 9781592701520
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Enchanted Lion Books, 2014. Book Condition: new. Shiny and new! Expect delivery in 20 days. Bookseller Inventory # 9781592701520-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bertier, Anne (Creator)
Published by Enchanted Lion Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1592701523 ISBN 13: 9781592701520
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Enchanted Lion Books, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 48 pages. 9.00x9.00x0.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 1592701523

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Published by Enchanted Lion Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1592701523 ISBN 13: 9781592701520
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Enchanted Lion Books, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111592701523

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Published by Enchanted Lion Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1592701523 ISBN 13: 9781592701520
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Enchanted Lion Books, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # VIB1592701523

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Anne Bertier
ISBN 10: 1592701523 ISBN 13: 9781592701520
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Age range 3 to 7Every Wednesday, Little Round and Big Square get together to play, and all they need is each other! Wednesday is a sweet story about two best friends, Little R.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 48 pages. 0.385. Bookseller Inventory # 9781592701520

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds