Sin-ichi Hiromoto Stone, Vol. 1

ISBN 13: 9781595321510

Stone, Vol. 1

4.1 avg rating
( 10 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781595321510: Stone, Vol. 1

In the not-too-distant future, our planet becomes a wasteland covered by sand--the world is like a dry, lifeless stone. Civilization is without hope. Awesome and terrifying creatures scour the sand, searching for food and facing off against the few human survivors.... Zizi is a mysterious girl with the power to see through the sand sea. Join her in this arid world filled with decay and despair where the faith of the people rests in a thirst for something to believe in....

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

Will appeal to fans of Planetes, Les Bijoux and Priest.
Unique world-setting with strong, sexy leading female character, will attract fans of post-apocalyptic sci-fi settings, similar to the novel Dune or anime Project A-ko vs Battle 2 - Blue Side.
Other works by this creator (such as Hells Angels) were featured in the manga magazine Ultra Jump, which is known for its sci-fi/fantasy series such as Battle Angel Alita and Bastard! Creator also illustrated popular "Star Wars: Jedi Manga" series for Dark Horse.

From Publishers Weekly:

In Hiromoto-Sin-ichi’s new postapocalyptic manga series, the world has turned into a sea of quicksand (known as the "Sand Sea"), occasionally broken up by ruined 20th-century aircraft carriers. Heroine Zizi the Red-Haired Witch belongs to a clan of whalers and wields great influence for her ability to ride the carnivorous whales. But when she helps a group of pirates led by the gruff, cigar-chomping Captain Suv inadvertently kill a pregnant whale, she gets exiled from her home to face hostile seafaring enemies and various sadists employed by the Imperial Army. Hiromoto-Sin-ichi’s story is a crazy pastiche of several decades’ worth of comic books and science fiction, combining visual elements swiped from Moebius, Buffy, the X-Men and Star Wars with a story that reads like someone dropped a copy of Frank Herbert’s Dune into a blender with a DVD of Waterworld. The result is far better than one would expect from simply listing source material. The story has the manic, pulpy feel of a Saturday morning serial. The characters, while clear homages, are sharply drawn and consistently written, and inspire sympathy. Hiromoto-Sin-ichi’s art is clearly influenced as much by European as by other manga artists, and his characters are nuanced and powerful. SF fans who want to dip into manga will find this a good entry point.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sin-ichi Hiromoto
Published by TokyoPop (2004)
ISBN 10: 1595321519 ISBN 13: 9781595321510
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description TokyoPop, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1595321519

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sin-ichi Hiromoto
Published by TokyoPop (2004)
ISBN 10: 1595321519 ISBN 13: 9781595321510
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description TokyoPop, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111595321519

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds