The Dark Hills Divide (Land of Elyon Series)

3.72 avg rating
( 20,359 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781597373951: The Dark Hills Divide (Land of Elyon Series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Twelve-year-old Alexa Daley is spending another summer in Bridewell with her father. She looks forward to exploring the old lodge where she stays each year, with its cozy library and maze of passages and rooms. She’s also eager to finally solve the mystery of what lies beyond the immense walls that were built to keep out an unnamed evil that lurks in the forests and The Dark Hills – an evil the townspeople are still afraid of. As Alexa begins to unravel the truth about what lies outside the protective barrier she’s lived behind all her life, she discovers a strange and ancient enchantment. Armed with an unexpected new power, Alexa exposes a danger that could destroy everything she holds dear – and change The Land of Elyon forever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Elyon is a land of dark hills, enchanted forests, and great walls that connect and encircle the cities of Lathbury, Turlock, Lunenburg, and Bridewell like spokes in a wagon wheel. On her annual summer trips to Bridewell with her father, the mayor of Lathbury, Alexa Daley spends much of her time dreaming of escape. Having lived within the walls all of her 12 years, she wants nothing more than to explore the uncharted wilderness beyond. But, the walls are heavily guarded, and frightening legends suggest that forests and hills are no place for a child--especially a young girl. When a mysterious conversation and an unfortunate accident put Alexa within reach of a way outside the wall, she must decide--heed the warnings of her elders, or satisfy her curiosity and unravel the mysteries of Elyon.

Told from the perspective of its smart, brave, and adventurous heroine, The Dark Hills Divide invites readers on a spectacular and mysterious quest that will appeal to boys, girls, and fans of both fiction and fantasy. Patrick Carman is a natural storyteller, and his delightful debut is full of mysterious plots, hidden passageways, and all manner of dastardly, hilarious, and noble characters. Perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling, Philip Pullman, and Cornelia Funke, The Dark Hills Divide is so compulsively readable that kids (and their parents) will be clamoring for the second book in the proposed trilogy, Beyond the Valley of Thorns, due in 2005. --Daphne Durham

Amazon.com Exclusive Content
Welcome to the Land of Elyon: Meet the Characters


Alexa Daley
The daughter of the mayor of Lathbury, Alexa is a curious, strong-willed, courageous twelve-year-old who acquires a stone of great power, and investigates and uncovers a terrible secret.

Yipes
The mysterious little man (not more than 2 feet tall) of the old mountain who befriends Alexa Daley on her journey outside the wall. Yipes introduces her to Darius, setting her on an amazing adventure.
Darius
An enormous wolf with a mysterious past, Darius is tasked with escorting Alexa to a meeting in the forest, and taking her to the dark tunnel where a secret is revealed.

Pervis Kotcher
Pervis, the crafty head of the guards in Bridewell, protects the city from the evil dangers he is convinced lurk outside the walls. He is a man with many secrets, great ambition, and a strong dislike for Alexa.

Sam and Pepper
Sam and Pepper live in the library, and curl up with Alexa while she reads and naps in her favorite chair. Alexa soon learns that these cuddly cats are not what they seem--they hide secrets of their own.


Thomas Warvold
The architect and founder of the walled cities, Warvold was an adventerous wanderer who traveled far and wide in the Land of Elyon.

About the Author:

Patrick Carman usually spends his time in Walla Walla, Washington. But in the spring of 2005 he’s taking his wife and two daughters on the road, traveling across the country on a whirlwind tour in support of his dazzling first novel, The Dark Hills Divide.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 24.95
US$ 84.35

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780439700931: The Dark Hills Divide: The Land of Elyon, Book 1

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0439700930 ISBN 13:  9780439700931
Publisher: Scholastic, 2005
Hardcover

9781541363908: The Land of Elyon #1 The Dark Hills Divide (Volume 1)

Create..., 2017
Softcover

9780439758437: The Dark Hills Divide

Schola..., 2005
Hardcover

9780545248679: The Land of Elyon #1: The Dark Hills Divide

Schola..., 2010
Softcover

9780974228709: The Dark Hills Divide (The Land of Elyon, Book 1)

Amped ..., 2003
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Patrick Carman
Published by Brilliance Audio (2005)
ISBN 10: 1597373958 ISBN 13: 9781597373951
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brilliance Audio, 2005. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1597373958

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 84.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds