C.H. Spurgeon John Ploughman's Talks

ISBN 13: 9781603746335

John Ploughman's Talks

4.24 avg rating
( 62 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781603746335: John Ploughman's Talks

Everyday advice based on biblical faith


Charles Spurgeon's success as a legendary preacher and author was generated from his intense love and concern for "working people." In John Ploughman's Talks, Spurgeon assumes the persona of a simple ploughman to dispense advice and address serious moral issues in the language of the common man. Spurgeon's homespun humor and rustic illustrations reflect on a variety of issues, such as idleness, grumbling, appearance, patience, gossiping, debt, spending, family, hope, and much more.


In Spurgeon's words, "That I have written in a semi–humorous vein needs no apology, since thereby sound moral teaching has gained a hearing....There is no particular virtue in being seriously unreadable."


In the tradition of John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, Spurgeon's tale is destined to be enjoyed for generations by people of all ages and backgrounds.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Charles Haddon Spurgeon (1834–1892), the "Prince of Preachers," preached his first sermon at age sixteen and became a pastor at age eighteen. Spurgeon drew large crowds and built the Metropolitan Tabernacle in London in 1861 to accommodate them. He published over two thousand sermons; his inspiring and challenging messages comprise the largest collection of work by a single author. Spurgeon preached to an estimated ten million people during his lifetime, including notables such as the prime minister of England, members of the royal family, and Florence Nightingale. He appealed constantly to his hearers to move on in the Christian faith, to allow the Lord to minister to them individually, and to be used of God to win the lost to Christ. In addition to his powerful preaching, Spurgeon founded and supported charitable outreaches, including educational institutions. His pastors' college, which is still in existence today, taught nearly nine hundred students in Spurgeon's time. He also founded the famous Stockwell Orphanage.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Charles Spurgeon
Published by Whitaker Distribution, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Whitaker Distribution, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Charles Spurgeon s success as a legendary preacher and author was generated from his intense love and concern for working people. In John Ploughman s Talks, Spurgeon assumes the persona of a simple ploughman to dispense advice and address serious moral issues in the language of the common man. Spurgeon s homespun humor and rustic illustrations reflect on a variety of issues, such as idleness, grumbling, appearance, patience, gossiping, debt, spending, family, hope, and much more. In Spurgeon s words, That I have written in a semi-humorous vein needs no apology, since thereby sound moral teaching has gained a hearing .There is no particular virtue in being seriously unreadable. Spurgeon s work sparkles with humor and is destined to be enjoyed for generations by people of all ages and backgrounds. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781603746335

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Charles Spurgeon
Published by Whitaker Distribution, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Whitaker Distribution, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Charles Spurgeon s success as a legendary preacher and author was generated from his intense love and concern for working people. In John Ploughman s Talks, Spurgeon assumes the persona of a simple ploughman to dispense advice and address serious moral issues in the language of the common man. Spurgeon s homespun humor and rustic illustrations reflect on a variety of issues, such as idleness, grumbling, appearance, patience, gossiping, debt, spending, family, hope, and much more. In Spurgeon s words, That I have written in a semi-humorous vein needs no apology, since thereby sound moral teaching has gained a hearing .There is no particular virtue in being seriously unreadable. Spurgeon s work sparkles with humor and is destined to be enjoyed for generations by people of all ages and backgrounds. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781603746335

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Spurgeon, Charles Haddon
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 19062905-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Spurgeon, Charles
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9781603746335

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Charles Spurgeon
Published by Whitaker Distribution
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Whitaker Distribution. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, John Ploughman's Talks, Charles Spurgeon. Bookseller Inventory # B9781603746335

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Spurgeon, C. H.
Published by Whitaker House (2012)
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Whitaker House, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 132 pages. 8.40x0.40x5.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-1603746331

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

C.H. Spurgeon
Published by Whitaker House (2012)
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Whitaker House, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111603746331

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Charles Spurgeon
ISBN 10: 1603746331 ISBN 13: 9781603746335
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 132 pages. 0.159. Bookseller Inventory # 9781603746335

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds