The Traitor's Mark: A Tudor Mystery (Tudor Mysteries)

 
9781605989259: The Traitor's Mark: A Tudor Mystery (Tudor Mysteries)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Based on the true story of the unsolved disappearance of Hans Holbein―famed portrait-painter of Henry VIII―this atmospheric historical novel plunges into an underworld of Tudor politics and intrigue.

The Real Crime: Hans Holbein, King Henry VIII's portrait painter, died in the autumn of 1543. A century later a chronicler reported that the artist had succumbed to plague, yet there is no contemporary evidence to support this. Suspicions have been raised over the centuries, but the mystery of what actually happened remains unsolved to this day.

Our Story: Young London goldsmith Thomas Treviot is awaiting a design for a very important jewelry commission from Hans Holbein. When the design fails to turn up, Thomas sends a servant to track Holbein down, only to discover that the painter has disappeared. In his hunt for Holbein and the lost design, Thomas is led into a morass of dangerous political intrigue, Spanish spies and courtiers that is more treacherous than he could ever have anticipated . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Derek K. Wilson is one of Britain's leading popular historians and is a highly regarded expert on the Tudor period. His previous history books include Charlemagne (Doubleday), The Uncrowned Kings of England (Basic Books), and Peter the Great (St. Martin's). He lives in England.

Review:

“First-rate historical fiction.”
- Kirkus Reviews

“A richly-atmospheric plot. Skillful plotting and pacing. Wonderfully evok[es] the street-level reality of Tudor-era England in its weathers and sights and smells and even in its unexpected beauties. And because nobody really knows how exactly Hans Holbein met his end, the plot is charged with genuine suspense as it boils along.”
- The Christian Science Monitor

“A gripping Tudor historical. Wilson keeps the twists coming as he brings the past to vivid life. Fans of C.J. Sansom and Rory Clements will be pleased.”
- Publishers Weekly

“Masterful and lively. Wilson writes with great conviction and a breathtaking attention to the kind of personal detail that makes his books such compelling reading.”
- Alison Weir, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A useful and stimulating book about Britain’s most important dynasty.”
- Antonia Fraser, internationally bestselling author of 'Marie Antoinette'

“Wilson interrelates the personal and political with an effectiveness that few other biographers have matched.”
- The Sunday Telegraph

“In this exciting, scholarly book, the reader sees England and its religion being remade as men fight for office and power under an increasingly sour, unbalanced monarch.”
- The Dallas Morning News

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781681773261: The Traitor's Mark: A Tudor Mystery

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1681773260 ISBN 13:  9781681773261
Publisher: Pegasus Books, 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books 2015-12-07 (2015)
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books 2015-12-07, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258. Seller Inventory # Z1605989258ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Wilson, D. K.
Published by Pegasus Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Seller Inventory # 170114224

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Wilson, Derek K.
Published by Pegasus Books 2015-12-07 (2015)
ISBN 10: 1605989258 ISBN 13: 9781605989259
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Richard J. Park, Bookseller
(Leawood, KS, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pegasus Books 2015-12-07, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1605989258 1st Edition, 1st printing. A FINE Hardcover with a FINE dustjacket. AS NEW. All dustjackets wrapped in Archival protection, and delivery confirmation with all our orders!. Seller Inventory # NC4-104

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book