One Good Egg: An Illustrated Memoir

3.62 avg rating
( 141 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781608193264: One Good Egg: An Illustrated Memoir

For the first twenty-three years of her life, Suzy Becker was sure she would have at least two babies. Then it took another fifteen years to decide to go ahead and have just one. One Good Egg is the funny, warmhearted story of her journey to fertility and becoming a mom, illustrated throughout with hundreds of her clever and charming cartoons.

Suzy Becker found professional success in her twenties, and by her thirties, she decided she had everything she needed-the home, the savings, the friends, the family, and the gumption-to have a baby alone. At age thirty-nine, she joined the ranks of the six million women who need medical help to conceive. In One Good Egg, she chronicles her travels through the maze of fertility treatments, constantly considering and reconsidering how far she was willing to go, inwardly convinced none of it would ever work. She learned she was pregnant on her way to tape an essay for NPR, and five months later married her true love.

You cannot adequately prepare for certain realities, like giving birth or parenthood, but with One Good Egg, Suzy Becker provides the perfect companion for her readers' own journeys to motherhood and beyond.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Author, artist, educator, and entrepreneur Suzy Becker began her career as an award-winning advertising copywriter, and then founded the Widget Factory, a greeting card company. She entered the world of books with what would become the internationally bestselling All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat, and has since written and illustrated several award winning books for both children and adults including My Dog's the World's Best Dog; I Had Brain Surgery, What's Your Excuse?, Manny's Cows; Books Are for Reading; and Kids Make It Better. Her books, greeting cards, and works in print and TV advertising have earned her numerous design and writing awards. She lives with her family, a dog, and a formerly feral cat in central Massachusetts. Visit her Web site at www.suzybecker.com.

Review:

“Suzy Becker is a wonderful writer, hilarious, touching, and sweet.” ―Anne Lamott, author of Help, Thanks, Wow and Operating Instructions

“Talking ovaries, cranky uteruses, and Blinky the embryo--Suzy Becker brings mirth to birth.” ―Hilary Price, author of Rhymes with Orange

“Suzy Becker is a comic genius.” ―Alison Bechdel, author of Fun Home and Are You My Mother?

“Following in the tradition of James Thurber and Jules Feiffer, best-selling author/illustrator Becker combines droll illustrations with a lively narrative style in this chronicle of the high expectations and shattering disappointments on her journey to motherhood... Her laugh-out-loud humor permeates this account of her experiences...Tender and funny, this appealing modern love story is greatly enhanced by the author's drawings.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“[A] funny, happily-ever-after story...This smile-inducing first-person journey is a worthwhile investment for anyone going through infertility treatment and anyone else who just wants a good chuckle.” ―Booklist

“The delightful images and unswerving humor of this lighthearted tale of the making of a modern family will provide a much-needed repose for readers on their own journey to parenthood.” ―Library Journal

“Touching and very funny . . . This book is bordering on essential for both moms-to-be with flagging fertility and for lesbian couples hoping to become parents, but is an absolutely beautiful book about love and determination that will be enjoyed by a wide variety of readers. Becker's fantastic, on-point cartoon illustrations cover all manner of observations and worries, and every woman who has ever been pregnant will relate.” ―Publisher's Weekly (starred review)

“A humorous memoir that chronicles [Becker's] sometimes difficult journey through fertility treatments and childbirth.” ―Worcester Telegram Gazette

“A heart-warming and side-splitting memoir about trying to get pregnant...[One Good Egg] is one of the best new books out now. Incidentally, it might also be one of our favorite Mothers Day gift ideas...While we all know there are a myriad of ways to have a baby in an unconventional way (from sperm donors to egg freezing to in vitro fertilization to adoption), it's great to see an utterly personal, informative (but not scientific), and above all humorous tale about one woman figuring out her own road to becoming a mother. Becker's book is an exciting read, and her cartoons kill it. We're so glad the story has such a happy ending.” ―Elizabeth Street blog

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 18.00
US$ 1.01

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 9.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Becker, Suzy
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2014)
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Y-Not-Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch. International delivery available. 1000's of satisfied customers! Please contact us with any enquiries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000158156

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Becker, Suzy
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2014)
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orbiting Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch from the UK (Mon-Fri). Please contact us with any queries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000402594

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Becker, Suzy
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2014)
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â" all orders are dispatched next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000345698

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Becker, Suzy
Published by Bloomsbury Pub Plc USA (2014)
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Pub Plc USA, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 213 pages. 8.25x5.50x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk1608193268

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Becker, Suzy
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. Book Condition: New. Worldwide shipping. FREE fast shipping inside USA (express 2-day delivery also available). Tracking service included. Ships from United States of America. Bookseller Inventory # 1608193268

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Suzy Becker
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2014)
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1608193268

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Becker, Suzy
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2014)
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111608193268

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Becker, Suzy
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1608193268 ISBN 13: 9781608193264
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1608193268 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0747175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds