Rick Collignon Perdido

ISBN 13: 9781609530280

Perdido

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781609530280: Perdido
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Madewell Brown walked into the village on a hot, dry day in 1946. A solitary black man with one arm longer than the other, he had never found a place for himself. Never, that is, until he had painted his own history on the interior walls of his adobe house in Guadalupe.

Fifty years later, Will Sawyer’s truck runs out of gas, and as he walks that same long road back into town he knows it’s best to keep his eyes on the ground. But he doesn’t understand the town’s long history of displacement or the difficulty of truly fitting in there, until he hears the story of the dead girl found hanging from Las Manos Bridge.

In Perdido, Rick Collignon returns to the same magical village he first introduced in The Journal of Antonio Montoya.

In Perdido, Collignon returns to the same magical town he first introduced in The Journal of Antonio Montoya. Once again mixing present and past, living and dead, he delivers a forthright and unflinching examination of race, belonging, and identity. With this novel, Collignon shows that a powerful new voice in American fiction has arrived.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Driven by Collignon's decisive prose, his strong characters and his deep knowledge of New Mexico folklore, Perdido is a one-sitting read, a novel that captivates and surprises all the way to its chilling end.” -The New York Times Book Review
Mr. Collignon has created a distinct and meaningful world.” -Atlantic Monthly
Collignon writes with a plain yet evocative (and often moving) style that's sure to appeal to fans of Tony Hillerman and Sherman Alexie.” -Publishers Weekly
"Mr. Collignon has taken readers back to the village he wrote of in his first novel, The Journal of Antonio Montoya. It is a happy return." -The Dallas Morning News
"Intriguing. . .Compelling. . .The novel succeeds admirably with its deception of a peaceful way of life abruptly hurled into dangerous havoc by unwanted curiosity. . .Collignon's male characters are masterfully drawn, as is his rendering of the stark New Mexico landscape, with its harsh unforgiving climate." -The San Diego Union-Tribune

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 16.00
US$ 15.48

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rick Collignon
Published by Unbridled Books, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books, United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Madewell Brown walked into the village on a hot, dry day in 1946. A solitary black man with one arm longer than the other, he had never found a place for himself. Never, that is, until he had painted his own history on the interior walls of his adobe house in Guadalupe. Fifty years later, Will Sawyer s truck runs out of gas, and as he walks that same long road back into town he knows it s best to keep his eyes on the ground. But he doesn t understand the town s long history of displacement or the difficulty of truly fitting in there, until he hears the story of the dead girl found hanging from Las Manos Bridge. In Perdido, Rick Collignon returns to the same magical village he first introduced in The Journal of Antonio Montoya. In Perdido, Collignon returns to the same magical town he first introduced in The Journal of Antonio Montoya. Once again mixing present and past, living and dead, he delivers a forthright and unflinching examination of race, belonging, and identity. With this novel, Collignon shows that a powerful new voice in American fiction has arrived. Seller Inventory # AAC9781609530280

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Rick Collignon
Published by Unbridled Books, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books, United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Madewell Brown walked into the village on a hot, dry day in 1946. A solitary black man with one arm longer than the other, he had never found a place for himself. Never, that is, until he had painted his own history on the interior walls of his adobe house in Guadalupe. Fifty years later, Will Sawyer s truck runs out of gas, and as he walks that same long road back into town he knows it s best to keep his eyes on the ground. But he doesn t understand the town s long history of displacement or the difficulty of truly fitting in there, until he hears the story of the dead girl found hanging from Las Manos Bridge. In Perdido, Rick Collignon returns to the same magical village he first introduced in The Journal of Antonio Montoya. In Perdido, Collignon returns to the same magical town he first introduced in The Journal of Antonio Montoya. Once again mixing present and past, living and dead, he delivers a forthright and unflinching examination of race, belonging, and identity. With this novel, Collignon shows that a powerful new voice in American fiction has arrived. Seller Inventory # AAC9781609530280

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Collignon, Rick
Published by Unbridled Books 9/7/2010 (2010)
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books 9/7/2010, 2010. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Perdido. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781609530280

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Rick Collignon
Published by Unbridled Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books, 2010. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781609530280

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Collignon, Rick
Published by Unbridled Books
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1609530284. Seller Inventory # Z1609530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Collignon, Rick
Published by Unbridled Books
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1609530284. Seller Inventory # Z1609530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Collignon, Rick
Published by Unbridled Books
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1609530284. Seller Inventory # Z1609530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Collignon, Rick
Published by Unbridled Books
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1609530284. Seller Inventory # Z1609530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Collignon, Rick
Published by Unbridled Books
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1609530284. Seller Inventory # Z1609530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Collignon, Rick
Published by Unbridled Books
ISBN 10: 1609530284 ISBN 13: 9781609530280
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1609530284. Seller Inventory # Z1609530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book