William Lashner The Accounting

ISBN 13: 9781611099355

The Accounting

3.9 avg rating
( 1,309 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781611099355: The Accounting
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Jon Willing was just a teenager when he and his pals Augie and Ben stole a fortune in drug money. Brazen with youth and stoned out of their gourds, they thought they had the perfect plan for getting away with it.

They were wrong.

Twenty-five years later, Jon’s marriage is on the rocks, his kids are virtual strangers, and the recession has taken his job and decimated his finances. Worst of all, when he finds Augie murdered in Vegas, he knows the past has risen from its grave to grab him by the throat.

The battle that ensues will send Jon skittering across a landscape wracked by the Great Recession to confront the demons of his past: the grade-school bully who has terrorized him for decades, the grandfather that betrayed him, the girl that got away. And in the middle of a fight to death, with his daughter’s life hanging in the balance, Jon Willing learns the most brutal of truths:

The piper always gets paid, and sometimes he gets paid in blood.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

William Lashner is the New York Times–bestselling creator of Victor Carl, who has been praised by Booklist as one of mystery’s “most compelling, most morally ambiguous characters.” His crime novels include Blood and Bone, Killer’s Kiss, Marked Man, Fatal Flaw, and Hostile Witness. His novel Kockroach, published under the name Tyler Knox, was a New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice for fiction. A former prosecutor with the Department of Justice and a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, his work has sold worldwide and been translated into more than a dozen languages.

From Booklist:

Mortgage broker Jon Willing rode the real-estate wave to the height of suburban envy, obsessively burying any links to his past. For the past 20-plus years, his life has been consumed with concealing the fact that he and his friends Augie and Ben stole more than a million dollars of a biker gang’s drug money. Sealed together by the theft, they vowed to check in weekly to report any sign of exposure. When Augie doesn’t call in, Jon’s investigation reveals his friend’s tortured body and freshly ransacked home. Just seconds ahead of the hitmen, Jon warns Ben and starts running. Minutes from faking his death, Jon realizes he can’t abandon his family, even though it’s disintegrating under the weight of his dishonesty. His only option is to discover who ordered the hit and broker a deal. Jon’s belated coming-of-age and sardonic voice are engaging aspects of the everyman hero, and this thriller is the more suspenseful for Jon’s early realization he’ll have to swap guns for duplicity, his best weapon. For fans of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay. --Christine Tran

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

William Lashner
Published by 5/14/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 5/14/2013, 2013. Condition: New. Accounting, The. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781611099355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

William Lashner
Published by Brilliance Audio
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brilliance Audio. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1611099358

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

William Lashner
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Seller Inventory # 36SFFI0003RD

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

William Lashner
Published by Amazon Publishing, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amazon Publishing, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Jon Willing was just a teenager when he and his buddies Augie and Ben stole a fortune in drug money. Brazen with youth and stoned out of their gourds, they thought they had the perfect plan for getting away with it. They were wrong. Twenty-five years later, Jon s marriage is in ruins, his kids are virtual strangers, and the recession has decimated his finances. When he finds Augie murdered in Vegas, Jon knows his past has risen from the grave to grab him by the throat. Now Jon Willing faces a choice: run to a paradise of wine and women and endless sunshine or confront the demons from his past and fight for what s left of his imperfect suburban life. But is it a life worth fighting for? Hurry and decide, Jon, because the piper is coming, and he always gets paid. Seller Inventory # BRI9781611099355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lashner, William
Published by Thomas & Mercer
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer. Condition: New. Paperback. Worldwide shipping. FREE fast shipping inside USA (express 2-3 day delivery also available). Tracking service included. Ships from United States of America. Seller Inventory # 1611099358

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

William Lashner
Published by Amazon Publishing, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amazon Publishing, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Jon Willing was just a teenager when he and his buddies Augie and Ben stole a fortune in drug money. Brazen with youth and stoned out of their gourds, they thought they had the perfect plan for getting away with it. They were wrong. Twenty-five years later, Jon s marriage is in ruins, his kids are virtual strangers, and the recession has decimated his finances. When he finds Augie murdered in Vegas, Jon knows his past has risen from the grave to grab him by the throat. Now Jon Willing faces a choice: run to a paradise of wine and women and endless sunshine or confront the demons from his past and fight for what s left of his imperfect suburban life. But is it a life worth fighting for? Hurry and decide, Jon, because the piper is coming, and he always gets paid. Seller Inventory # BRI9781611099355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

William Lashner
Published by Amazon Publishing, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amazon Publishing, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Jon Willing was just a teenager when he and his buddies Augie and Ben stole a fortune in drug money. Brazen with youth and stoned out of their gourds, they thought they had the perfect plan for getting away with it. They were wrong. Twenty-five years later, Jon s marriage is in ruins, his kids are virtual strangers, and the recession has decimated his finances. When he finds Augie murdered in Vegas, Jon knows his past has risen from the grave to grab him by the throat. Now Jon Willing faces a choice: run to a paradise of wine and women and endless sunshine or confront the demons from his past and fight for what s left of his imperfect suburban life. But is it a life worth fighting for? Hurry and decide, Jon, because the piper is coming, and he always gets paid. Seller Inventory # BTE9781611099355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lashner, William
Published by Thomas & Mercer (2013)
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1611099358

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lashner, William
Published by Thomas & Mercer (2013)
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 415 pages. 8.50x6.00x1.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk1611099358

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lashner, William
Published by Thomas & Mercer
ISBN 10: 1611099358 ISBN 13: 9781611099355
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas & Mercer. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1611099358 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-1611099358

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book