Items related to The Utopia of Rules

Graeber, David The Utopia of Rules ISBN 13: 9781612194486

The Utopia of Rules - Softcover

4.01 avg rating
( 5,009 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781612194486: The Utopia of Rules
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives  

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?
 
To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice...though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy.
 
Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.
 
An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:
DAVID GRAEBER teaches anthropology at the London School of Economics. He is the author of Debt: The First 5,000 Years, Towards an Anthropological Theory of Value, Lost People: Magic and the Legacy of Slavery in Madagascar, Fragments of an Anarchist Anthropology, Possibilities: Essays on Hierarchy, Rebellion, and Desire, and Direct Action: An Ethnography. He has written for Harper’s, The Nation, The Baffler, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and The New Left Review.
Review:
“A slim, sprightly, acerbic attack on capitalism's love affair with bureaucracy."
Cory Doctorow, BoingBoing

“[The Utopia of Rules] should offer a challenge to us all. Should we just accept this bureaucracy as inevitable? Or is there a way to get rid of all those hours spent listening to bad call-centre music? Do policemen, academics, teachers and doctors really need to spend half their time filling in forms? Or can we imagine another world?"
Gillian Tett, Financial Times

“Graeber wants us to unshackle ourselves from the limits imposed by bureaucracy, precisely so we can actually get down to openly and creatively arguing about our collective future. In other words, yelling at the book is not just part of the pleasure of reading it. It's part of the point."
NPR

“Graeber’s most interesting claim...is that our expressed hostility toward bureaucracy is at least partly disingenuous: that these thickets of rules and regulations are a source, to quote from his subtitle, of 'secret joys' for most of us."
Oliver Burkeman, The Guardian (UK)

“Something like an intellectual hike led by an eccentric guide: a winding set of anecdotes, schematics, juxtapositions, and assertions... He is a master of opening up thought and stimulating debate."
Slate

“Thought-provoking."
Boston Globe

“What intense pleasure this book gave me, despite the dull topic: bureaucracy.”
Peter Richardson, The National Memo

“[A] fizzing, fabulous firecracker of a book... Our contemporary bureaucrats are revealed, in fact, as none other than you and me, forever administering and marketing ourselves."
The Literary Review

“Anthropologist Graeber is one of our wildest thinkers (see Debt: The First 5,000 Years), and in this book, he takes on the topic of bureaucracy, arguing that what we think of as the root of our civilization — capitalism, technology, rules and regulations — may just be what’s keeping us in chains."
Flavorwire, 10 Must Read Books for February

“Inspiring and full of surprising facts... This is ultimately a book about how the systems we invent come to appear natural. We treat our world as though it is a fact, but actually, we produce it. This is not a new idea, but it’s one of the most hopeful we’ve got. It opens the door to change.”
Maclean's (Canada)

“A throughly argued, funny, and surprising new book."
Jonathon Sturgeon, Flavorwire

“Persuasive... Graeber’s aim was to start a conversation on the boondoggles and benefits of bureaucracy. In that regard, he has ticked all the right boxes."
The Observer (UK)

“Packed with provocative observations and left-field scholarship. Ranging from witty analysis of comic-book narratives to penetrating discussion of world-changing technologies that haven’t actually appeared, it demystifies some of the ruling shibboleths of our time. Modern bureaucracy embodies a view of the world as being essentially rational, but the roots of this vision, Graeber astutely observes, go all the way back to the ancient Pythagoreans."
John Gray, The Guardian (UK)

“Admirable and convincing...In his irrepressible, ruminative way, Graeber stands in the comic tradition of Walt Whitman, archy and mehitabel and James Thurber. This is the chorus with which to laugh the trousers off corporate management."
Times Higher Education (UK)

“Interrogates aspects of bureaucratic modernity that are normally unexamined causes of annoyance... Stylish and witty."
Steven Poole, New Statesman (UK)

“Graeber is an American anthropologist with a winning combination of talents: he’s a startlingly original thinker...able to convey complicated ideas with wit and clarity."
The Telegraph (UK)

“A sharp, oddly sympathetic and highly readable account of how big government works—or doesn’t work, depending on your point of view."
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Debt: The First 5,000 Years:

“Written in a brash, engaging style, the book is also a philosophical inquiry into
the nature of debt—where it came from and how it evolved.”
The New York Times Book Review

“An absolutely indispensable—and enormous—treatise on the history of money and its relationship to inequality in society.”
Cory Doctorow, BoingBoing

“[A]n engaging book. Part anthropological history and part provocative political argument, it’s a useful corrective to what passes for contemporary conversation about debt and the economy.”
Jesse Singal, Boston Globe

“This timely and accessible book would appeal to any reader interested in the past and present culture surrounding debt, as well as broad-minded economists.”
Library Journal

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Very Good
The book has been read, but is... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: US$ 6.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781612195186: The Utopia of Rules: On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781612195186
Publisher: Melville House, 2016
Softcover

9781612193748: The Utopia of Rules: On Technology, Stupidity and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

Melvil..., 2015
Hardcover

9781612195537: The Utopia of Rules [Paperback]

RANDOM..., 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Graeber, David
ISBN 10: 1612194486 ISBN 13: 9781612194486
Used Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR007751984

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

David Graeber
Published by Melville House Publishing (1656)
ISBN 10: 1612194486 ISBN 13: 9781612194486
Used SOFTCOVER Quantity: 1
Seller:
Barclay Books
(York, WA, Australia)

Book Description SOFTCOVER. Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? To answer these questions, anthropologist David Graeber - one of the most prominent and provocative thinkers working today - takes a journey through ancient and modern history to trace the peculiar and fascinating evolution of bureaucracy over the ages. He starts in the ancient world, looking at how early civilizations were organized and what traces early bureaucratic systems have left in the ethnographic literature. He then jets forward to the nineteenth century, where systems we can easily recognize as modern bureaucracies come into being. In some areas of life - like with the modern postal systems of Germany and France - these bureaucracies have brought tremendous efficiencies to modern life. But Graeber argues that there is a much darker side to modern bureaucracy that is rarely ever discussed. Indeed, in our own 'utopia of rules', freedom and technological innovation are often the casualties of systems that we only faintly understand. Provocative and timely, the book is a powerful look at the history of bureaucracy over the ages and its power in shaping the world of ideas. 2015. A trade paperback copy in fine, unmarked and unread condition. Seller Inventory # 22993687

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy Used
US$ 16.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 28.50
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds