Gods and Heroes: Baltimore Stories

3.67 avg rating
( 3 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781614347125: Gods and Heroes: Baltimore Stories
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

This novel of linked stories follows two unforgettable characters from childhood through adolescence into adulthood with a provocative look at love, sex, and religion. Set in a blue collar neighborhood of Baltimore during the 1960's and 70's, it unfolds cinematically with short chapters told from several points of view. Both tender and humorous, blasphemous and profound, it shows how two young people attempt to wrench meaning from adversity and find happiness together despite their differences.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

Among the gods and heroes who inspired this book are Philip and Daniel Berrigan, priests and brothers whose courageous actions spared some Baltimoreans from being drafted during the Vietnam War; also numerous authors of fiction who have written about life in Baltimore over the years, from Edgar Allan Poe and F. Scott Fitzgerald to Anne Tyler and Laura Lippman; and Paul Simon, whose music captured not only the sensibility of an era but expressed the aspirations of an entire generation. In the tradition of Barry Levinson and John Waters I have tried to capture what is unique about growing up in Baltimore. Consequently the novel is filled with quirky characters and places of local interest, but the appeal of the story is truly universal: how ordinary people deal with love, loss, family, and friends, told in the context of the time period that some of us remember as the sixties and seventies.

About the Author:

Gerard Marconi was born and raised in Baltimore, where he earned a master's degree at Johns Hopkins University. After spending more than thirty years as a teacher and administrator in arts education, he studied fiction writing in seminars and workshops with such well known authors as Lee K. Abbott, Roxana Robinson, Jennifer Haigh, and T. Greenwood. His short stories have appeared in The Chattahoochee Review, The Tuscarora Review, and The Summerset Review, an online literary journal. "Gods and Heroes: Baltimore Stories" draws heavily on his knowledge of the city as well as his background in the arts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marconi, Gerard
Published by Booklocker.com, Inc.
ISBN 10: 1614347123 ISBN 13: 9781614347125
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Maryland Book Bank
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Booklocker.com, Inc. Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # 2-R-3-0141

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 1.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Gerard Marconi
Published by Booklocker.com, Inc. (2011)
ISBN 10: 1614347123 ISBN 13: 9781614347125
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Booklocker.com, Inc., 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1614347123

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Gerard Marconi
Published by Booklocker.com, Inc. (2011)
ISBN 10: 1614347123 ISBN 13: 9781614347125
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Booklocker.com, Inc., 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1614347123n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 85.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds