Sugar Pop Moon: A Jersey Leo Novel

3.62 avg rating
( 125 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781616147952: Sugar Pop Moon: A Jersey Leo Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Jersey Leo is the quintessential outsider--an albino of mixed race. Known as "Snowball" on the street, he makes a living as the bartender at a mob-run speakeasy in Prohibition-era Hell's Kitchen. Being neither black nor white, he has no group to call his own. His own mother abandoned him as a baby. And his father-a former boxing champ with his own secrets-disapproves of Jersey's work at a dive owned by one of New York's most notorious gangsters.

So when he inadvertently purchases counterfeit moonshine ("sugar pop moon") with his boss's money-a potentially fatal mistake-he must go undercover to track down the bootlegger who took him in. The clues lead to Philadelphia, where he runs into a cleaver-swinging madman out for his femurs and a cold-blooded gangster holed up on a Christmas-tree farm. Now with a price on his head in two cities, Jersey seeks help from the only man he can trust, his father. As the two delve into the origins of the mysterious sugar pop moon, stunning secrets about Jersey's past come to light. To ensure his future, Jersey must face his past, even if it means that life will never return to normal.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Florio (Brooklyn, NY) is a freelance writer and creative consultant in the advertising, television, and music industries. With his wife, Ouisie Shapiro, he is the author of One Punch from the Promised Land: Leon Spinks, Michael Spinks, and the Myth of the Heavyweight Title. Visit him at www.johnfloriowriter.com.

Review:

"Don’t miss this absolutely riveting, gritty debut coming-of-age tale. Absorbing and briskly paced, the story toggles deftly between 1906 and 1930. Despite abundant gunfire and bloodshed, the novel manages to successfully incorporate an idealistic tone. For readers who follow Kelli Stanley’s “Miranda Corbie” series or Reed Farrel Coleman’s “Moe Prager” books."
Library Journal

“A delicious journey through the underworld of Prohibition and Depression America, by turns funny, poignant, and thrilling. A terrific read!”
Kevin Baker, bestselling author of Dreamland, Paradise Alley, and Strivers Row

“John Florio’s powerful use of historical detail slams you into the gritty world of 1930s bootleggers, where his hero, albino Jersey Leo, holds you down for the count. Harsh as a slug of 190-proof moonshine.” 
Rebecca CantrellNew York Times–bestselling author of A City of Broken Glass

“Authentic period, savvy style, and memorable characters—particularly the albino protagonist, Jersey Leo—combined with a suspense tale well told adds up to a winning combination. Don’t miss it.”
Kelli Stanley, award-winning author of City of Dragons and City of Secrets

“This is a hard-boiled, Prohibition-era novel and Jersey Leo is a well-developed, engaging character. The story moves fast, the violence is appropriate to the times, and there are laugh-out-loud moments amid the mayhem. Sure to appeal to fans of Mickey Spillane, Raymond Chandler, and, more currently, Robert Fate’s edgy Baby Shark series.” 
Booklist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John Florio
Published by Seventh Street Books., Amherst, NY. (2013)
ISBN 10: 1616147954 ISBN 13: 9781616147952
New Soft cover (trade paper). First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Star Canyon Books
(Woodland, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seventh Street Books., Amherst, NY., 2013. Soft cover (trade paper). Condition: New. 1st Edition. Advanced Reading Copy. 214 pages. Seller Inventory # 005094

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Florio, John
Published by Seventh Street Books
ISBN 10: 1616147954 ISBN 13: 9781616147952
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seventh Street Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1616147954 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2132179567

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Florio, John
Published by Seventh Street Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1616147954 ISBN 13: 9781616147952
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seventh Street Books, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111616147954

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Florio, John
Published by Seventh Street Books
ISBN 10: 1616147954 ISBN 13: 9781616147952
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seventh Street Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1616147954 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.1674908

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 69.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

John Florio
Published by Seventh Street Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1616147954 ISBN 13: 9781616147952
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Seventh Street Books, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1616147954

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 188.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds