The Greenwash Effect: Corporate Deception, Celebrity Environmentalists, and What Big Business Isn’t Telling You about Their Green Products and Brands

3.12 avg rating
( 8 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781628737264: The Greenwash Effect: Corporate Deception, Celebrity Environmentalists, and What Big Business Isn’t Telling You about Their Green Products and Brands
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Going green is the new black for big business. But how real is the climate-friendly revolution that’s being advertised? Toyota would like us to think that Mother Nature drives a Prius, Ford wants us to Join the Green Revolution,” and McDonald’s has painted its golden arches green. Facebook has even friended” Greenpeace. All across the globe big corporations are spending big bucks trying to convince us that their policies, actions, and products are earth friendly. But are big brands and the celebrities endorsing them really as green as they claim?

In The Greenwash Effect, Guy Pearse looks behind the corporate façade in the tradition of Fast Food Nation and No Logo and what he finds will startle you. Nothing is sacred and no one is safe from scrutiny: not the World Wildlife Fund or Earth Hour, not Apple or Google, not Oprah or Leonardo DiCaprio. The Greenwash Effect is an entertaining and practical book that helps consumers to pick the truly green businesses from the greenwashers and to demand a higher environmental standard from all.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Guy Pearse is a former political adviser, lobbyist, and speechwriter. His work as an author and columnist focuses heavily on how politicians and corporations mislead the public about their response to major environmental concerns. His previous books include Big Coal: Australia’s Dirtiest Habit, Quarry Vision: Coal, Climate Change and the End of the Resources Boom, and High & Dry: John Howard, Climate Change and the Selling of Australia’s Future.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing 2014-08-05 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing 2014-08-05, 2014. Hardcover. Condition: New. Reprint. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1628737263. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Pearse, Guy
Published by Skyhorse Publishing 2014-08-05 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Book Outpost
(Blawnox, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skyhorse Publishing 2014-08-05, 2014. Hardcover. Condition: New. Reprint. 1628737263 New unread publisher overstock copy. Seller Inventory # Z1628737263ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Pearse, Guy
ISBN 10: 1628737263 ISBN 13: 9781628737264
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. HRD. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781628737264

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book