Untimely Death: A Shakespeare in the Catskills Mystery

3.45 avg rating
( 414 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781629538266: Untimely Death: A Shakespeare in the Catskills Mystery
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A Catskills resort’s production of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet takes a wickedly ironic turn when the leading lady, Lauren Richmond, is first poisoned and then stabbed. Who would extinguish the life of such a beautiful young thespian? Who wouldn’t? Seems like just about everyone had a motive to pull the ropes on her final curtain call.

At the center of this Shakespearian tragedy is Charlotte Fairfax, formerly the costume mistress of the Royal Shakespeare Company. Upstate New York is a long way from the royal stage, but Charlotte is always the queen of her domain. As this small production’s costume designer, she has stitched her way into everyone’s lives, learning more than anyone could possibly imagine about the rise and fall of Lauren Richmond. But curiosity killed the cat. And it might well kill the costume designer.

Witty and wise, Untimely Death, the first in Elizabeth J. Duncan’s charming cozy series, is sure to delight.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

Praise for Untimely Death:

"What could have more charm than a cozy set in the Catskills?...Duncan drops just enough clues and red herrings to keep the reader guessing whodunit to the end."
--Publisher's Weekly

"Duncan introduces a charming new sleuth and plenty of quirky characters sure to appeal to her base and to cozy fans in general."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Sympathetic, well-drawn characters and fascinating details on Shakespeare's plays and costume design add to what is a satisfying mystery."
--Booklist

"An impressively crafted mystery that is a fully absorbing and inherently fascinating read from beginning to end...very highly recommended."
--Midwest Book Review

"Readers of the cozy mystery genre should definitely check out UNTIMELY DEATH."
--Noir Journal

Praise for Elizabeth J. Duncan:

Winner of the Minotaur/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition

"Fans of Louise Penny will love this book."
--RT Reviews on A Brush with Death

"Sure to appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Agatha Christie."
--Library Journal on A Brush with Death

"Right up there with the best."
--Kirkus Reviews on A Brush with Death

"A really good British cozy... With lots of action and local color, Duncan's book is a perfect spring getaway."
--The Globe and Mail on Slated for Death
|A Catskills resort’s production of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet takes a wickedly ironic turn when the leading lady, Lauren Richmond, is first poisoned and then stabbed. Who would extinguish the life of such a beautiful young thespian? Who wouldn’t? Seems like just about everyone had a motive to pull the ropes on her final curtain call.

At the center of this Shakespearian tragedy is Charlotte Fairfax, formerly the costume mistress of the Royal Shakespeare Company. Upstate New York is a long way from the royal stage, but Charlotte is always the queen of her domain. As this small production’s costume designer, she has stitched her way into everyone’s lives, learning more than anyone could possibly imagine about the rise and fall of Lauren Richmond. But curiosity killed the cat. And it might well kill the costume designer.

Witty and wise, Untimely Death, the first in Elizabeth J. Duncan’s charming cozy series, is sure to delight.

About the Author:

Elizabeth J. Duncan is the author of the beloved Penny Brannigan mystery series set in North Wales. A former editor and broadcaster in England, Elizabeth is currently an instructor at the Humber School for Writers in Ontario, Canada.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781629531915: Untimely Death: A Shakespeare in the Catskills Mystery

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  162953191X ISBN 13:  9781629531915
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books, 2015
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Elizabeth J. Duncan
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1629538264

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Published by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 11
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1629538264 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.8. Seller Inventory # OTF-Y-9781629538266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Published by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1629538264. Seller Inventory # Z1629538264ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Published by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1629538264. Seller Inventory # Z1629538264ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Published by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1629538264. Seller Inventory # Z1629538264ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Published by Crooked Lane Books 11/1/2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books 11/1/2016, 2016. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Untimely Death: A Shakespeare in the Catskills Mystery. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781629538266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 12
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 1629538264

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Published by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1629538264 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI1325151

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Elizabeth J. Duncan
Published by Bookspan, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookspan, United States, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. A Catskills resort s production of Shakespeare s Romeo and Juliet takes a wickedly ironic turn when the leading lady, Lauren Richmond, is first poisoned and then stabbed. Who would extinguish the life of such a beautiful young thespian? Who wouldn t? Seems like just about everyone had a motive to pull the ropes on her final curtain call. At the center of this Shakespearian tragedy is Charlotte Fairfax, formerly the costume mistress of the Royal Shakespeare Company. Upstate New York is a long way from the royal stage, but Charlotte is always the queen of her domain. As this small production s costume designer, she has stitched her way into everyone s lives, learning more than anyone could possibly imagine about the rise and fall of Lauren Richmond. But curiosity killed the cat. And it might well kill the costume designer. Witty and wise, Untimely Death, the first in Elizabeth J. Duncan s charming cozy series, is sure to delight. Seller Inventory # AAC9781629538266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Duncan, Elizabeth J.
ISBN 10: 1629538264 ISBN 13: 9781629538266
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KB-9781629538266

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book