Stalking Ground: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery

4.28 avg rating
( 803 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781629538341: Stalking Ground: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery

When Deputy Ken Brody's sweetheart goes missing in the mountains outside Timber Creek, Mattie Cobb and her K-9 partner Robo are called to search. But it's mid-October and a dark snow storm is brewing over the high country. And they're already too late. By the time they find her body, the storm has broken and the snow is coming down hard.

While Brody hikes down to bring back the forensics team and veterinarian Cole Walker gathers supplies to protect them from the storm, Mattie and Robo find themselves alone, guarding the gravesite overnight in the dead of the early winter. And that's only the first long, dark night in a series of them, because as their investigation develops, Mattie, Robo, Brody, and Cole find themselves in the middle of the killer's stalking ground--where the hunters have just become the hunted.

An effortlessly engrossing read filled with tension, excitement, and heart, Stalking Ground, the second in Margaret Mizushima's lauded debut series, will send a chill down every reader's spine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

Praise for Stalking Ground:
2017 COLORADO BOOK AWARD FINALIST
2017 INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST


Realistic characters and believable plot twists distinguish Mizushima’s brisk sequel to 2015’s Killing Trail... Robo proves his mettle as a well-trained detective and a brave hero in this incisive look at small-town police work.”
--Publishers Weekly

"The second adventure in Mizushima's fine series...[is] a taut page-turner on multiple levels. A perfect read-alike for Robert Crais' series starring LAPD officer Scott James and his K-9 partner, Maggie."
--Booklist

"Mizushima's sophomore outing proves that her acclaimed series debut, Killing Trail, was no fluke...dog loves will want to read this thriller."
--Library Journal

"The family complications of Adrienne Howard, Mattie, and Cole are as different as they could be, yet the novel succeeds in threading together the relationships into one cohesive theme... Mattie and Robo’s teamwork ensure a satisfying read, while Robo’s intimidating work ethic delivers a suspenseful and thrilling conclusion."
--King's River Life

"Mizushima's tale is woven well with believable characters and a compelling plotline."
--Noir Journal

"In her second absorbing K-9 mystery, Margaret Mizushima delivers tight storytelling and gripping suspense in a fully realized rural Colorado world populated by emotionally burdened sheriff's detective Mattie Cobb and her indomitable working canine, Robo."
--Scott Graham, National Outdoor Book Award-winning author of Yellowstone Standoff

Praise for Killing Trail:
Nominated for RT Book Review's Reviewer's Choice Award for Best First Mystery

"Debut author Mizushima’s classic police procedural adds a fresh angle involving the work of K 9s. The appealing Robo knows what he’s doing, he just needs to train Mattie to trust him. Sue Henry fans will love."
--Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month

"The interactions between Mattie and Robo will tug the heartstrings of every dog lover... Mizushima’s debut reflects both her skill as a suspense writer and her respect for animals. The shocking conclusion will stay with readers while they wait for the next story in the series. Pair this with Robert Crais' Suspect (2013)"
--Booklist starred review

"Winning heroine...strong debut...a realistic view of how a K-9 team works, treating Robo as an important character, but never stooping to anthropomorphism. And it's impossible not to fall in love with Robo."
--Publishers Weekly starred review

"Mizushima does an excellent job of developing [Mattie and Robo] as characters, allowing readers to feel a personal connection to them both. Overall a great debut for an up-and-coming mystery writer."
--RT Book Reviews, Top Pick

A terrific debut with a refreshing detective duo--Deputy Mattie Lu Cobb and Robo, her K-9 partner! Margaret Mizushima has crafted a compelling and savvy mystery that explores the big secrets in a small western town. I was cheering on Mattie and Robo every step of the way.”
--Margaret Coel, author of The Man Who Fell from the Sky|When Deputy Ken Brody's sweetheart goes missing in the mountains outside Timber Creek, Mattie Cobb and Robo are called to search. But it's mid-October and a dark snow storm is brewing over the high country--and they're already too late. By the time they find her body, the storm has broken and the snow is coming down hard.

While Brody hikes down to bring back the forensics team and veterinarian Cole Walker gathers supplies to protect them from the storm, Mattie and Robo find themselves alone, guarding the gravesite overnight in the dead of the early winter. And that's only the first long, dark night in a series of them, because as their investigation develops, Mattie, Robo, Brody, and Cole find themselves in the middle of the killer's stalking ground--with no way out unless they can catch a predator more deadly than any natural threat.

An effortlessly engrossing read filled with tension, excitement, and heart, Stalking Ground, the second in Margaret Mizushima's lauded debut series, will send a chill down every reader's spine.

From the Back Cover:

Praise for the Timber Creek K-9 Mystery Series:

Nominated for RT Book Review's Reviewer's Choice Award for Best First Mystery

"Debut author Mizushima’s classic police procedural adds a fresh angle involving the work of K9s. The appealing Robo knows what he’s doing, he just needs to train Mattie to trust him. Sue Henry fans will love."
--Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month

"The interactions between Mattie and Robo will tug the heartstrings of every dog lover...Mizushima’s debut reflects both her skill as a suspense writer and her respect for animals. The shocking conclusion will stay with readers while they wait for the next story in the series. Pair this with Robert Crais' Suspect (2013)"
--Booklist starred review

"Winning heroine strong debut a realistic view of how a K-9 team works, treating Robo as an important character, but never stooping to anthropomorphism. And it's impossible not to fall in love with Robo."
--Publisher's Weekly starred review

"Mizushima does an excellent job of developing [Mattie and Robo] as characters, allowing readers to feel a personal connection to them both. Overall a great debut for an up-and-coming mystery writer."
--RT Book Reviews, Top Pick

A terrific debut with a refreshing detective duo--Deputy Mattie Lu Cobb and Robo, her K-9 partner! Margaret Mizushima has crafted a compelling and savvy mystery that explores the big secrets in a small western town. I was cheering on Mattie and Robo every step of the way.”
--Margaret Coel, author of The Man Who Fell from the Sky

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Margaret Mizushima
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1629538345

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mizushima, Margaret
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books, 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # V7-9781629538341

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mizushima, Margaret
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books, 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781629538341

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mizushima, Margaret
Published by Crooked Lane Books 9/13/2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books 9/13/2016, 2016. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Stalking Ground. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9781629538341

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mizushima, Margaret
Published by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1629538345. Bookseller Inventory # Z1629538345ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mizushima, Margaret
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 1629538345

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mizushima, Margaret
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. When Deputy Ken Brody's sweetheart goes missing in the mountains outside Timber Creek, Mattie Cobb and her K-9 partner Robo are called to search. But it's mid-October and a dark snow storm is brewing over the high country. And they're already too late. By the time they find her body, the storm has broken and the snow is coming down hard.While Brody hikes down to bring back the forensics team and veterinarian Cole Walker gathers supplies to protect them from the storm, Mattie and Robo find themselves alone, guarding the gravesite overnight in the dead of the early winter. And that's only the first long, dark night in a series of them, because as their investigation develops, Mattie, Robo, Brody, and Cole find themselves in the middle of the killer's stalking ground--where the hunters have just become the hunted.An effortlessly engrossing read filled with tension, excitement, and heart, Stalking Ground, the second in Margaret Mizushima's lauded debut series, will send a chill down every reader's spine. Bookseller Inventory # 5309133

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Mizushima, Margaret
Published by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1629538345 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|1. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-S-9781629538341

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Mizushima, Margaret
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Lover's Warehouse
(Watauga, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. FAST SHIPPING & FREE TRACKING! The pages of this book are clean and unmarked. There is very little shelf wear. The spine remains free of creasing.100% Money Back Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 152620

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Margaret Mizushima
Published by Crooked Lane Books, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538345 ISBN 13: 9781629538341
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Crooked Lane Books, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. When Deputy Ken Brody s sweetheart goes missing in the mountains outside Timber Creek, Mattie Cobb and her K-9 partner Robo are called to search. But it s mid-October and a dark snow storm is brewing over the high country. And they re already too late. By the time they find her body, the storm has broken and the snow is coming down hard. While Brody hikes down to bring back the forensics team and veterinarian Cole Walker gathers supplies to protect them from the storm, Mattie and Robo find themselves alone, guarding the gravesite overnight in the dead of the early winter. And that s only the first long, dark night in a series of them, because as their investigation develops, Mattie, Robo, Brody, and Cole find themselves in the middle of the killer s stalking ground--where the hunters have just become the hunted. An effortlessly engrossing read filled with tension, excitement, and heart, Stalking Ground, the second in Margaret Mizushima s lauded debut series, will send a chill down every reader s spine. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781629538341

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book