A.F. Harrold The Song From Somewhere Else

ISBN 13: 9781681194011

The Song From Somewhere Else

3.9 avg rating
( 250 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781681194011: The Song From Somewhere Else

Frank thought her summer couldn't get any worse--until big, weird, smelly Nick Underbridge rescues her from a bully, and she winds up at his house.

Frank quickly realizes there's more to Nick than meets the eye. When she's at his house, she hears the strangest, most beautiful music, music which leads her to a mysterious, hidden door. Beyond the door are amazing creatures that she never even dreamed could be real. For the first time in forever, Frank feels happy . . . and she and Nick start to become friends.

But Nick's incredible secrets are also accompanied by great danger. Frank must figure out how to help her new friend, the same way that he has helped her.

Paired with gorgeous black-and-white illustrations from Levi Pinfold, acclaimed author A. F. Harrold weaves a powerful story about unlikely friendship, strange magic, and keeping the shadows at bay.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

A.F. Harrold is an English poet and author who writes and performs for both children and adults. His novel The Imaginary was a Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book. He is the owner of many books, a handful of hats, and one beard. He spends his spare time showing off onstage, in schools, and at home, and his non-spare time sitting around, stroking his beard and writing things down. He lives in Reading, England, with a stand-up comedian and two cats.

www.afharroldkids.com

Levi Pinfold has been drawing from imagination for as long as he can remember. He is the author and illustrator of The Django,The Greenling, and Black Dog, which won the prestigious CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal. Born in the Forest of Dean, he has somehow found himself living in northern Australia. He likes paintings, books, music, and some cats.

www.levipinfold.com

Review:

"A.F. Harrold's work is masterfully paced and stunningly crafted; the story unwinds at a deliberate clip, the characters moving through a world that is at first dark, then mesmerizing, then cooly terrifying . . . Simply beautiful . . . [A] glorious and spine-chilling tale for middle grade readers." - Shelf Awareness

"Strong characterizations and a good dose of spookiness are standouts in this illustrated novel . . . Hand to fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, Holly Black’s Doll Bones, and other books that balance scariness and substance." - starred review, School Library Journal

"Pinfold's atmospheric illustrations, darkly menacing and mysterious by turns, add to the contemporary folk-tale atmosphere . . . Captivating." - starred review, Kirkus Reviews

"Fairy tale, fable, and dream . . . Harrold’s incisive, poetic way with words . . . intensifies the vague darkness of his otherworldly imagery. Pinfold’s shadowy art deepens the story’s air of mystery and threat." - starred review, The Horn Book Magazine

"Friendship, acceptance, trust, and decency weave their magic throughout Harrold’s tale . . . Lush black-and-white illustrations by Pinfold enhance the secrecy, wonder, and mood of the story." - Booklist

"British poet Harrold writes with an engaging voice rich with character . . . Spot illustrations and immersive double-page black and white drawings are captivating in their intricacy and melancholy, blending perfectly with the poignant tone that resonates through the whole novel." - BCCB

"Harrold offers an appealingly childcentric world with hefty doses of scare and malevolence . . . Wonderfully entertaining." - starred review, Kirkus Reviews on THE IMAGINARY

"[An] inventive mix of humor and suspense . . . A great choice for readers who like fantastic tales with a dose of true scariness." - starred review, School Library Journal on THE IMAGINARY

"Most affecting and lovely when describing powerful relationships." - The New York Times Book Review on THE IMAGINARY

"Pinfold’s story has a timeless quality . . . A great pick for storytime, bedtime, anytime." - starred review, Kirkus Reviews on BLACK DOG

"Fear, fun, and just dripping with beauty." - starred review, School Library Journal on BLACK DOG

"Quirky, funny, and often heart-stopping." - starred review, Booklist on BLACK DOG

"Pinfold’s interiors are crammed with quirky detail." - starred review, Publishers Weekly on BLACK DOG

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harrold, A. F.
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2017. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9781681194011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Harrold A.F.
Published by MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MacMillan Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1681194015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Harrold, A. F.
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Quantity Available: 19
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2017. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781681194011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Harrold, A. F.
Published by Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books 7/3/2017 (2017)
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books 7/3/2017, 2017. Hardback or Cased Book. Book Condition: New. The Song from Somewhere Else. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9781681194011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Harrold, A.F.
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2017)
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2017. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 1681194015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Harrold, A. F./ Pinfold, Levi (ILT)
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. From the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary comes a powerful story about friendship in the vein of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman, with illustrations by award-winning Levi Pinfold. Bookseller Inventory # 5650153

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Harrold, A.F.
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2017)
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2017. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # 1681194015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Harrold, A.F.
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1681194015 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI1036872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

A F Harrold
Published by Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children s Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children s Books, 2017. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Frank thought her summer couldn t get any worse--until big, weird, smelly Nick Underbridge rescues her from a bully, and she winds up at his house. Frank quickly realizes there s more to Nick than meets the eye. When she s at his house, she hears the strangest, most beautiful music, music which leads her to a mysterious, hidden door. Beyond the door are amazing creatures that she never even dreamed could be real. For the first time in forever, Frank feels happy . . . and she and Nick start to become friends. But Nick s incredible secrets are also accompanied by great danger. Frank must figure out how to help her new friend, the same way that he has helped her. Paired with gorgeous black-and-white illustrations from Levi Pinfold, acclaimed author A. F. Harrold weaves a powerful story about unlikely friendship, strange magic, and keeping the shadows at bay. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781681194011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Harrold, A.F.
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN 10: 1681194015 ISBN 13: 9781681194011
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1681194015 BRAND NEW! NOT DIRTY OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS!. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-S-9781681194011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book