Yeah, I Made It Myself: DIY Fashion for the Not-Very Domestic Goddess

2.33 avg rating
( 3 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9781780226255: Yeah, I Made It Myself: DIY Fashion for the Not-Very Domestic Goddess

A go-to guide for DIY fashion, aimed at women who are passionate about clothes, and would love to create something of their own, but who are unsure of how to get started

Farry isn't a fashion designer, or professional seamstress, but she can cobble together a DIY summer wardrobe faster than you can say pearl-two. She's made most of her own clothes for years. When people learn that she makes her own clothes they say, "I wish I could do that." And her immediate response is, "You easily could—I could teach you in a few hours." For a few months, when she was a contributing editor at Elle, she ran a featurette that showed how to make key catwalk accessories using stuff bought from the local fabric store. The feature was very popular—the basic premise being "If I can do it, anyone can." The ideas are accessible and adaptable—it's all about creating an individual look, experimenting with ideas, and laughing if it all goes a bit lopsided. Innovative young designers provide insider tips. There are also crafty inspirational tales from friends who've come up with their own easy-to-make designs, despite not having a fashion degree. This guide is practical, with pom-poms.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

YEAH, I MADE IT MYSELF is all about DIY fashion, aimed at women who are passionate about clothes, and would love to create something of their own, but who are unsure of how to get started. Farry isn't a fashion designer, or professional seamstress, but she can cobble together a DIY summer wardrobe faster than you can say pearl-two. She's made most of her own clothes for years, to much acclaim. When people learn that she makes her own clothes they say, 'I wish I could do that.' And her immediate response is, 'You easily could, I could teach you in a few hours.' For a few months, when she was a contributing editor at ELLE, she ran a featurette that showed how to make key catwalk accessories using stuff bought from the local haberdashery. The feature was very popular - the basic premise being 'If I can do it, anyone can.' The ideas are accessible and adaptable - it's all about creating an individual look, experimenting with ideas and laughing if it all goes a bit lopsided. Innovative, young designers provide insider tips. There are also inspirational, crafty tales from friends who've come up with their own easy-to-make designs, despite not having a fashion degree. YEAH, I MADE IT MYSELF is practical, with pom-poms.

About the Author:

Eithne Farry has had a patchwork-quilt career. A former backing-singer (and tambourinist) with indie band Talulah Gosh, she is now a freelance reviewer, writer, literary editor and radio personality, who makes most of her own clothes (or at the very least, customises those she buys ready-made in shops).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Farry, Eithne
Published by W&N
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N. Book Condition: New. A beautifully designed, fun, unintimidating and inspirational tour around the world of home-sewing, and generally messing around with bits of material. Perfect for fans of THE GREAT BRITISH SEWING BEE. Num Pages: 224 pages, illustrations. BIC Classification: WJF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 191 x 190 x 16. Weight in Grams: 548. 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # 9781780226255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Farry, Eithne
Published by W&N (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 6
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N, 2014. Book Condition: New. A beautifully designed, fun, unintimidating and inspirational tour around the world of home-sewing, and generally messing around with bits of material. Perfect for fans of THE GREAT BRITISH SEWING BEE. Num Pages: 224 pages, illustrations. BIC Classification: WJF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 191 x 190 x 16. Weight in Grams: 548. 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # 9781780226255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Farry, Eithne
Published by W&N (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
cbs distribution ltd
(Brecon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000039037

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.41
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eithne Farry
Published by Phoenix, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, United Kingdom, 2014. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: New. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. History and Social Science>Economics>General. Book: NEW, New. Bookseller Inventory # 01978178022625500. Bookseller Inventory # 01978178022625500

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Farry, Eithne
Published by Phoenix (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Dim and Distant
(Littlehampton, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new book. DAILY dispatch from our warehouse in Sussex, all international orders sent Airmail. We're happy to offer significant POSTAGE DISCOUNTS for MULTIPLE ITEM orders. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000241078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Farry, Eithne
Published by Phoenix (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 178022625X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Farry, Eithne
Published by Phoenix (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11178022625X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 48.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds