NA The Grisha: Shadow and Bone: Book 1

ISBN 13: 9781780622262

The Grisha: Shadow and Bone: Book 1

4.05 avg rating
( 191,051 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781780622262: The Grisha: Shadow and Bone: Book 1
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Shadow and Bone

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best Books of the Month, June 2012: Alina Starkov has never been anything more than yet another orphan of her country’s on-going wars...until she channels magic not seen in centuries to protect her best friend, Mal. Her new-found powers attract the attention of the Darkling, the most powerful of the country’s magic-wielders. He tells Alina that her magic could heal the Shadow Fold, if she can only learn to control it--and if she agrees to trust the Darkling despite the mystery that surrounds his very existence. Leigh Bardugo brings a cast of well-defined characters and a unique magic system to her lavishly imagined world, where light doesn’t always conquer dark and deception runs so deep that it becomes truth. And yet, against all expectations, the bonds of sacrifice and friendship remain too strong to be severed in this thrilling debut. --Malissa Kent

Amazon Exclusive: Editor Noa Wheeler Interviews Leigh Bardugo, author of Shadow and Bone

Nora Wheeler: I was really struck when I was reading Shadow and Bone by the beautiful setting. It's not our world exactly but it feels very Russian. Can you tell me a little bit more about the setting and how it played into your writing?

Leigh Bardugo: I think a lot of people have come to expect the medieval European setting from fantasy, and I wanted to use a different cultural touchstone for my world. There's also this terrible tension between the beauty of Russian culture and the brutality of its history that just lends itself to high-drama narrative. The more I researched the more inspired I got.

NW: I truly believe that Shadow and Bone is a book for everyone. It's fantasy but there's plenty here for someone who's not a regular fantasy reader to fall in love with. That makes it feel different to me from a lot of what's out there. Do you agree? And if so, what do you think makes this book different?

LB: I hope you're right! I tried really hard to make the book accessible to people who might not ordinarily pick up high fantasy. I'm a fantasy writer, so I love world building. I love maps. I love all that good stuff. But the story really began for me with the relationships between Alina and Mal and the Darkling. And I hope that comes through. Some people are put off by fantasy because they pick up a book and there are 10 terms and each one has 20 consonants and three apostrophes and you have no idea how to pronounce things and it kind of makes the book feel like work. So I tried to ease people into the world a bit more gently. That's also why I chose to tell the story from Alina's point of view. She's very down to earth, very pragmatic, has a modern sensibility. I hope her perspective will make it easier for readers to enter Ravka.

NW: Another thing I think makes this book so different is that the magic is very accessible. For instance, I love the idea of the Small Science, of something that looks like magic being an enhancement of what's actually around us all the time. Can you elaborate on that aspect of the story a little bit?

LB: I've just always been interested in the functionality of magic. I love Harry Potter and I always wondered what actually happens physically and structurally when you mutter a curse or wave a wand. I wanted to get into the nitty-gritty of how the magic worked. So the Small Science is really about manipulating matter at its most fundamental levels. It's basically magical molecular chemistry.

NW: This is a little bit of a fangirl question, but if you could meet one of your characters who would it be and why?

LB: Well, my fangirl answer would be The Darkling. Because he's gorgeous and mysterious and dangerous and all those fun things. But I would also love to meet Genya. She kind of serves as Alina's guide into this magical world of the Grisha and the political maneuvering of the royal court. She's a combination of a make-up artist, a plastic surgeon, and a sorceress--and on the surface she's the classic fairy godmother, sassy best friend character, but there's a lot more to her than that. She's been kicked around and looked down on a lot throughout her life, yet she's always managed to keep her chin up and stay fabulous. I like that, and I think she'd be really fun to hang out with.

NW: What do you want readers to take away from this book?

LB: The message at the heart of the story is basically that the things that you fear most in yourself, the things that make you different, are also the things that give you power. And that embracing them can make you beautiful. So I would love it if people took that away from the book. I would also love it if people came away from it wanting to know what happens next for Alina and Mal! Things get really intense in the sequel, Siege and Storm. There are some new characters and what I hope will be some big surprises.

NW: Thanks so much for talking about Shadow and Bone with me today.

LB: My pleasure. Thank you!

See a map of the world of Shadow and Bone

Click to enlarge

About the Author:

Leigh Bardugo is the #1 New York Times- and USA Today-bestselling author of Crooked Kingdom, Six of Crows and the Grisha Trilogy: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising. She was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Los Angeles, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and most recently, makeup and special effects. These days, she lives and writes in Hollywood, where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band. Find her website at www.leighbardugo.com and follow her on Twitter @lbardugo.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780805094596: Shadow and Bone (Grisha Trilogy)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0805094598 ISBN 13:  9780805094596
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR), 2012
Hardcover

9781780621418: Shadow and Bone: Book 1

Indigo...
Softcover

9781510105249: Shadow and Bone

Orion ..., 2018
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Leigh Bardugo
ISBN 10: 1780622260 ISBN 13: 9781780622262
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 352 pages. 0.248. Seller Inventory # 9781780622262

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Bardugo, Leigh
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780622260 ISBN 13: 9781780622262
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, 2014. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 352 pages. 7.76x5.20x0.91 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1780622260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Leigh Bardugo
ISBN 10: 1780622260 ISBN 13: 9781780622262
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 352 pages. 0.248. Seller Inventory # 9781780622262

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds