DeSales Harrison The Waters and the Wild

ISBN 13: 9781780749112

The Waters and the Wild

 
9781780749112: The Waters and the Wild
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The death of Jessica Burke was easy to explain: a history of depression, a heroin habit, a girl alone in her bathtub. But when her psychoanalyst, Daniel Abend, receives an ominous, handwritten poem, he quickly realizes that this was not just an overdose. As a second and third missive arrive from the same mysterious source, and his daughter abruptly disappears, Daniel finds himself the subject of an elaborate and calculated torment, one that reaches back decades, crosses oceans, and begins with a chance encounter with a beguiling girl in a Paris stairwell. With richly layered, masterful prose, DeSales Harrison has constructed a brilliantly choreographed and spellbinding tale of desperate fathers, stolen daughters, and the distance we travel for revenge and absolution.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

DeSales Harrison earned his BA at Yale University, MA at Johns Hopkins University, and PhD at Harvard University, where he was a Briggs-Copeland Lecturer of English. Harrison is a professor of Lyric Poetry at Oberlin College, where he lives with his wife and daughter.

Review:

`An intriguing psychological thriller with a strong emotional punch.' * Daily Mail * 'A wonderfully atmospheric debut.' * Mail on Sunday * `A complex and multi-layered psychological thriller, imbued with humanity, with some lush writing, this is a slow burn tale that provides much in the way of rewards if you stick to its studied pace.' * Crimetime * 'Serious, atmospheric, a writer of considerable power.' * Patricia Duncker, author of Hallucinating Foucault * 'Beautifully written and achingly romantic, this dazzling gothic-tinged thriller takes us deep into a labyrinth of secrets, lies, and deceptions. It's a stunning debut!' * Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Ill Will * `Elegant, elegiac, enigmatic.' * Matthew Pearl, author of The Last Bookaneer * 'A cryptic, beguiling puzzle-box of a book...a mesmeric exploration of guilt in the vein of Vertigo or The Secret History, with the frantic nightmare-logic of a thriller.' * David Gilbert, author of & Sons *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780812989540: The Waters & The Wild: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0812989546 ISBN 13:  9780812989540
Publisher: Random House, 2018
Hardcover

9781786071798: The Waters and the Wild

Onewor..., 2018
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

DeSales Harrison
Published by Oneworld Publications, United Kingdom (2018)
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications, United Kingdom, 2018. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The death of Jessica Burke was easy to explain: a history of depression, a heroin habit, a girl alone in her bathtub. But when her psychoanalyst, Daniel Abend, receives an ominous, handwritten poem, he quickly realizes that this was not just an overdose. As a second and third missive arrive from the same mysterious source, and his daughter abruptly disappears, Daniel finds himself the subject of an elaborate and calculated torment, one that reaches back decades, crosses oceans, and begins with a chance encounter with a beguiling girl in a Paris stairwell. With richly layered, masterful prose, DeSales Harrison has constructed a brilliantly choreographed and spellbinding tale of desperate fathers, stolen daughters, and the distance we travel for revenge and absolution. Seller Inventory # AA99781780749112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

DeSales Harrison
Published by Oneworld Publications, United Kingdom (2018)
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications, United Kingdom, 2018. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The death of Jessica Burke was easy to explain: a history of depression, a heroin habit, a girl alone in her bathtub. But when her psychoanalyst, Daniel Abend, receives an ominous, handwritten poem, he quickly realizes that this was not just an overdose. As a second and third missive arrive from the same mysterious source, and his daughter abruptly disappears, Daniel finds himself the subject of an elaborate and calculated torment, one that reaches back decades, crosses oceans, and begins with a chance encounter with a beguiling girl in a Paris stairwell. With richly layered, masterful prose, DeSales Harrison has constructed a brilliantly choreographed and spellbinding tale of desperate fathers, stolen daughters, and the distance we travel for revenge and absolution. Seller Inventory # AA99781780749112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Harrison, DeSales
Published by Oneworld Publications (2018)
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Seller Inventory # mon0000581996

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

DeSales Harrison
Published by Oneworld Publications (2018)
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
PsychoBabel & Skoob Books
(Didcot, OXON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Thus. Seller Inventory # Am1280

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.59
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

DeSales Harrison
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1780749112. Seller Inventory # ST1780749112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

DeSales Harrison
Published by Oneworld Publications (2018)
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications, 2018. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EH9781780749112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.46
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Harrison, DeSales
Published by Oneworld Publications
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 17
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications. Condition: New. 2018. Hardcover. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781780749112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Harrison, DeSales
Published by Oneworld Publications (2018)
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 17
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications, 2018. Condition: New. 2018. Hardcover. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781780749112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

DeSales Harrison
Published by Oneworld Publications
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications. Hardback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781780749112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Harrison, DeSales
Published by Oneworld Publications (2018)
ISBN 10: 1780749112 ISBN 13: 9781780749112
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oneworld Publications, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0003375015

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.26
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book