Alison Littlewood Path of Needles

ISBN 13: 9781780871462

Path of Needles

3.35 avg rating
( 206 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781780871462: Path of Needles

When an expert on fairy tales is called in to consult on the investigation of bizarre murders, her premonition and insight causes suspicion; she must solve the case--and fast--to prove her innocence.
Alice Hyland is an expert on fairy tales--lecturing on the well-known stories and their lesser-known variants--and the natural choice for Police Constable Cate Corbin to consult when a dead girl is found in the woods dressed up as Snow White. Especially when the girl's grieving mother receives a parcel containing a glass bottle of blood stoppered with the dead girl's toe. Cate's boss, Detective Superintendent Heath, isn't convinced of the connection to folklore until a second girl is found, this time dressed as Red Riding Hood and with claw marks gouged into her flesh, like a wolf had been at her.
As she dives deeper into the case, Alice beings to sense a supernatural pull connecting her to the murders. A series of uncanny events seem to be pointing her in the right direction, but she's not the only one noticing; By the time a third girl is found in the local castle, Heath begins to wonder if their fairy tale expert knows too much, and Alice finds herself no longer an asset, but a suspect. But she can't stop following the clues, and her determination to solve the mystery herself and prove her innocence may lead her somewhere she can't return from.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alison Littlewood raised in Penistone, South Yorkshire, and attended the University of Northumbria at Newcastle. She started as a student of graphic design but "missed the words too much" and switched to a joint English and history degree. She pursued a career in marketing before developing a love of writing fiction. She now lives and writes near Wakefield, West Yorkshire. Path of Needles is her second novel.

Review:

"Trails of corpses, not bread crumbs, lead to terror in this captivating, psychologically complex hybrid of magical realism and police procedural . . . Crisp pacing and assured prose lend authenticity to a self-referential thriller that questions our values and the stories that define us."?Publishers Weekly (starred)

"I loved Path of Needles--dark and satisfying, like the best chocolate"?Elly Griffiths, author of The Ruth Galloway series

"Path of Needles quickly sets itself apart from the run-of-the-mill police drama. I can't recommend book or author highly enough."?Reader Dad

"Littlewood sows the seeds of the murder mystery like Hansel and Gretel and their trail of breadcrumbs, allowing the reader to follow the path through the book to its tense and satisfying conclusion."?Ross Warren, This is Horror

"A great crime-thriller, Path of Needles shows Alison Littlewood as a first class writer who--if she continues the level of quality and skill she's so far shown--will go a long, long way."?Mark West, author of The Mill

"The fantasy elements provide a level of intrigue that elevates Path of Needles far above your standard serial killer fare . . . a truly gripping novel."?Graeme Reynolds, Starburst magazine

"a definitive female voice in the horror genre."?Black Gate

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Bookseller Inventory # 9781780871462N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.76
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
cbs distribution ltd
(Brecon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. . ***. Bookseller Inventory # ABC253876

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.36
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 197 x 131 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. I loved Path of Needles. Dark but satisfying like the best chocolate Elly Griffiths, author of The Woman in Blue. This British Fantasy Award nominated book is perfect for fans of S J Watson and Stephen King. Some fairy tales are born of dreams.and some are born of nightmares. A murderer is on the loose, but the gruesome way in which the bodies are being posed has the police at a loss. Until, on a hunch, Alice Hyland, an expert in fairy tales is called in. And it is Alice who finds the connection between the body of Chrissie Farrell and an obscure Italian version of Snow White. Then, when a second body is found, Alice is dragged further into the investigation - until she herself becomes a suspect. Now Alice must fight, not just to prove her innocence, but to protect herself: because it s looking like she might well be next. Bookseller Inventory # AA69781780871462

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 197 x 131 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. I loved Path of Needles. Dark but satisfying like the best chocolate Elly Griffiths, author of The Woman in Blue. This British Fantasy Award nominated book is perfect for fans of S J Watson and Stephen King. Some fairy tales are born of dreams.and some are born of nightmares. A murderer is on the loose, but the gruesome way in which the bodies are being posed has the police at a loss. Until, on a hunch, Alice Hyland, an expert in fairy tales is called in. And it is Alice who finds the connection between the body of Chrissie Farrell and an obscure Italian version of Snow White. Then, when a second body is found, Alice is dragged further into the investigation - until she herself becomes a suspect. Now Alice must fight, not just to prove her innocence, but to protect herself: because it s looking like she might well be next. Bookseller Inventory # AA69781780871462

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Jo Fletcher Books 2013-05-09 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books 2013-05-09, 2013. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04977833

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2013. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9781780871462

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.23
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000030393

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.43
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Orbiting Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch from the UK (Mon-Fri). Please contact us with any queries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000450136

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Softcover Quantity Available: 9
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books. Book Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. A murderer is bringing the darker side of fairy tales to life. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FK. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 134 x 31. Weight in Grams: 274. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9781780871462

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1780871465 ISBN 13: 9781780871462
New Softcover Quantity Available: 9
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2013. Book Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. A murderer is bringing the darker side of fairy tales to life. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FK. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 134 x 31. Weight in Grams: 274. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9781780871462

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book